We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, efficient and great value but lacks travel vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Youth Hostel Luxembourg City
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hostel is more like a hotel. It is clean and very efficiently run by the staff and offers a great value in a generally expensive city. It has an awesome breakfast buffet. It is in a great location offering an easy walk to most everything you would want to see in the city. It is very institutional and feels like a hotel. It does not have a travelers vibe and the front desk staff really do not interact with travelers except for checking them in. It would be great if they had someone that organized events for travelers and encouraged people to interact. Perhaps they do more of this in the summer season. The restaurant in the hostel has really good food at a great price. As long as there are no Stag or Doe parties which they do allow it is pretty quiet.

Room Tip: Upper floors in the back seam to be quieter. Train runs in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jefre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 446 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I was actually impressed by this hostel. Very clean and nice large rooms with lockers inside that you have to give a deposit of 10€ to get the lock and key for. Large towels are also 10€ deposit and when you return them you get 7€ back. Free breakfast from 6:30-9:00 was ok with cereal, bread and yogurt, a couple of marmalades, orange juice and tea and coffee. I enjoyed my stay and it's pretty much the only nice budget place to stay in town.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Meletis3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hostel was great... once we found it! I highly recommend carefully planning out how you're going to arrive at this hostel before heading into Luxembourg, seeing as there are hardly any public service maps around the city and the streets form a natural labyrinth. It took us several hours to find it, but once we did it was all smooth sailing from there. The staff were friendly, the surrounding area is beautiful, and it is nicely located just down the hill from most of Luxembourg's main sites. Again...you just have to find it first..!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The Youth Hostel was used by all manner of people we were there including businessmen, travellers and large groups of students.

Cheap, conveniently located and with plenty of social space the highlight of the hostel was the adjacent restaurant which served a wide variety of delicious food at a very reasonable rate.

The only fault I have with this hostel is one gay staff member made a number of sexually suggestive comments towards my friend and spent a lot of time staring at us in an unhealthy manner. Asides from that I highly recommend this place!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank As2k10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a 4 bedroom dorm, but it ended up just being the two of us. Everything was very clean in the rooms. Security to get into the sleeping areas was good. Staff were helpful enough, and breakfast was decent. A good, decent clean hostel. We only stayed one night so did not experience any "hostel" fun. The only problem we had was finding the place due to google's terrible directions, and as we were walking with backpacks from the main train station we did not realise the long walk. Suggestion: take a taxi!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This a huge hostel with a lot of rooms. The hostel is clean and the staff nice but having in mind amount of travelers it is hard to have any close conversation or help from the staff.
Nice thing is parking for free. I also recommend the cantina where you can have a good meal with a beer for a reasonable price (taking into account prices in the city). WI-FI is for free on the ground level but not in the rooms. The breakfast is included in the price and it’s quite nice.
Location of hostel is also very good close to all city attraction however quite far from the train station so take a bus don’t walk. To the airport you can also catch a bus – bus stop is close to the hostel.
I have stayed in the men dormitory. It was clean with a sink and a table with chairs. Each bed has a bed light. Lockers are in the room however to close them you need a padlock available at the reception for a deposit of 10 euro.
If you are looking for a budget stay in Luxemburg I think this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Clean place, good location. Near to rock casemates . we booked a 4 bed room with private bathroom for 2 nights. Beds were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was ok. We tried dinner as well it was nice and prices were reasonable.

Staff were really helpful, the front desk people helped us out a lot with train time tables and bike rentals. Chef was a friendly and nice guy .

Overall this is a great hostel.

As mentioned WiFi was not available in the rooms but was accessible in common areas.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ChaM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#2 of 49 in Luxembourg City
790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#3 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,637 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Cravat
Grand Hotel Cravat
#11 of 49 in Luxembourg City
640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostel Luxembourg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Luxembourg City

Address: 2 Rue du Fort Olisy, Luxembourg City 2261, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Luxembourg City
Price Range: $27 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Youth Hostel Luxembourg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Youth Hostel Luxembourg City Hotel Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing