We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Youth Hostel Luxembourg City
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Although not situated at the heart of Luxembourg City, this hostel is within walking distance of the centre. It's very large, spotlessly clean and very good value for money. The on-site café offers filling meals and beer at a reasonable price and there is a selection of vending machines for your caffeine and chocolate needs. All in all, a great place to stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank airwalk35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 470 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hostel was very clean, had a great common area/dining hall, and very close to points of interest. The service was also very welcoming. Minuses were no air conditioning in the rooms, and there is a rather steep hill to walk up, however the bus will stop directly at the top.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRandSocialManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff were helpful, courteous and efficient. This is a great youth hostel.

Definitely worth a stay. Just how a youth hostel should be. Simple and full of youth (present company excepted!)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewislovesbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I found this hostel absolutely brilliant for its location, it was in the right place near the centre in a lovely setting. Near some local bars, walking distance of the centre and train station, I can't fault it for that.

The service was good if not a little slow sometimes in the evening (it wasn't like this all the time, only when the bar became busy for food and drink but it wasn't that often), on my last night some bloke decided to take my bed but a member of staff put me in another room (although he was making it clear that he wanted to finish his shift and he had a bit of a bad attitude) which was great of them to do so at such a late hour.

Breakfast was included in the price and you get a choice of preserve, Nutella, bread, cereal, cold meats and cheese, so for the cheap price if the hostel and to have that included is brilliant. The restaurant also did food in the evening which was of a good standard.

The rooms were spotless and of a decent size, people were relatively quiet and I found there were no queues for the shower, apparently some rooms have a private bathroom. The beds were comfortable to sleep in and I got a decent nights sleep (despite the window being open all night due to the summer heat which didn't really bother me).

My main criticism is the Internet access, you can only get on the wifi when you're in the downstairs lobby or restaurant area, so if you want to chillout in your room on the net, you couldn't do that.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay and I found most members of staff friendly and helpful. This hostel is a little gem to have in such a small European country.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesALEX8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Found underneath a valley crossing bridge the YH is a very modern looking building. Arriving at 9pm we missed food by a matter of minutes. Bedding was collected at the reception and deposits were required for padlocks and key cards. The room had a large window with amazing views, however once closed the room was very hot. Showers and toilets were a short walk down the hall. Basic breakfast provided including cereal, meat, cheese and bread.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hostel was super nice and clean. No wifi in the rooms, but free wifi in the clean and well designed public spaces. You need to walk a bunch to get anywhere, and your walk always begins with a huge hill. We were there in the summer of 2011, but I forgot to review it then.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cucumber6101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was really quite nice. We enjoyed a game of table tennis when we arrived and had a chat and a coffee with a great guy who worked behind the bar. Rooms were clean and modern. I forgot about a few things in hostels like having to make your own bed and people in the room getting up at 6am when I have a hangover, but this did not really detract from what is essentially a nice place to stay in an otherwise overpriced city.
The location is quite good, but everywhere is uphill which is not fun with a massive backpack. The breakfast was not good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luxembourg City
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#36 of 50 in Luxembourg City
218 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Luxembourg Sud
0.3 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
NH Luxembourg
NH Luxembourg
#19 of 50 in Luxembourg City
757 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 50 in Luxembourg City
2,023 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Victor Hugo
Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Vi...
#14 of 50 in Luxembourg City
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostel Luxembourg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Luxembourg City

Address: 2 Rue du Fort Olisy, Luxembourg City 2261, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Luxembourg City
Price Range: $30 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Youth Hostel Luxembourg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Youth Hostel Luxembourg City Hotel Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing