We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Steaks”
Review of Vinoteca

Vinoteca
Ranked #356 of 762 Restaurants in Luxembourg City
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing Steaks”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Went here on recommendation of work colleague. Frist few minutes I thought it was a mistake. We were seated in an empty dimly lit white washed cellar and given a menu that didn't show the steak we had been told was the main reason for our visit. We could hear that the next room/alcove was very lively and obviously full of people enjoying themselves. When the waiter returned we asked about the steaks and he said he'd check. Thankfully he came back and said yes we could have filet or entrecote. We ordered one of each and neither of us were disappointed! Best steak I've had in a long time, cooked to perfection and served with simple salad (already dressed) and jacket potato. The wine list is impressive and even though our budget didn't stretch to some of the wonderful wines they stocked we thoroughly enjoyed our choice from the lower price end of the wine list. Definitely worth a visit - just hope you get seated in the main bar, as it seemed thats where all the fun was.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MG31England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    27
    9
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Steak Dinner”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Quirky wine bar with a large wine selection.
We ordered the steak and filet dinners. They grilled the steak and filet to perfection served with salad and baked potato. They honestly served the best steaks we have had in Europe. Being from the US, we have been spoiled as there are many places to get good steaks there. We have had a hard time finding a restaurant in Europe that had a quality steak but Vinoteca hit the mark.
We definitely will go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Expat1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
197 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“wines & terrace, both on perfection”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

most is said in other reviews: it's a wonderful place in old middle aged walls, it got a fantastic garden terrass with direct view on Philharmonie, the new Fortress Museum and the Mudam, they serve nice snacks and have good wines.... you just should be warned of one thing: if the wine you ordered for is not available and they suggest you another one, just ask for the price, because they won't insist telling you it's eventually double price of the one you've chosen in first place..... so, service is quite medium and to handle with care....

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClocloLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming vine bar in the old town of Luxembourg”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Spent a very nice evening in this charming vine bar, in a really old building in the center of the old town. Places to sit on different levels give it a private feel, with a rustic charm to it due to arched ceilings and walls out of stone. The vine selection is impressive with almost 1.000 vines from all over the world to choose from. If you don't know what to take you can order "vin surprise", i.e. you indicate a region and a price range and the staff will surprise you with their selection. There is a small but good offer of food. I had the cheese plate which was very tasty and a delicious Moelleux au Chocolat as a desert.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank melaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinoteca also viewed

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to Vinoteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing