We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best deals ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Hotel Luxembourg
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Great location, friendly staff, clean and comfortable room. Excellent value for the money. I stayed at many hotels and price I was to pay for City Hotel prepared me to expect - anything. But I got one of the best accommodation ever. Nice lounge bar in Hotel, excellent breakfast, main rail station just opposite, bus station even closer. It was great. That is why it makes me sick when I read reviews from people telling that something should or could be better. For this price you would get anything but decent room in London for example.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenaSPU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 215 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2010

This hotel offers excellent value for money. It is situated in an old building that has been kept up-to-date by making improvements here and there.

The good: spacious rooms, very close to the railway station, friendly staff, ticket with codes for complimentary WiFi access given without needing to request it, shower with really good pressure and really hot water (much appreciated on those cold days I stayed there), reasonably good breakfast.

The not-so-good: walls somewhat thin (could hear muffled conversations from other rooms or when water was turned on in other bathrooms; kept turning the volume of the TV down, fearing that I would disturb others), windows letting the cold in, street noise (given the location, that is to be expected), really soft mattresses.

Bottom line: would stay there again and would recommend to anyone who is not too sensitive to noise.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edu28015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I stayed in this hotel twice in August and September and was pleasantly surprised given I paid €65 incl breakfast and wifi. The latter is an excellent deal as this can often add €20 per night.

The hotel really has two classes of accomodation, the older ones being the largers ones on the corner which are ok but dated and the more modern normal rooms which have clearly only been there for a years at most.

The normal rooms are very modern if somewhat small, but for the price and given the city they are in they are excellent. The suites are a little more dated, but are spacious and pleasant. The breakfast is also very good given it is included and the room itself is quite pleasant - I have been in a few hotels where the breakfast room was at best an after thought. In all cases the rooms are very clean and well maintained. The only downside is the traffic noise, but if your room has a fan or aircon then you can close the window and it is ok.

Other things about this hotel are that the staff are pleasant and the location is excellent, although you should be aware that the red light district is not far away. That said the area also has some good and not very expensive restaurants. This is Luxembourg so even the roughest area like this (as many locals seem to think it is) is still far safer than many other cities.

If you can get a similar price to me or perhaps even as much as €80 per night then I would recommend this hotel. The only downside is the proximity to the red light district hence why it gets 4 not 5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toomuchtravel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Location is very close to the train station in the dodgy part of town. It takes a good 15 minutes to walk into the city centre. Breakfast is great, plenty of choice.
The rooms are small, the bathroom even smaller, but everything is clean. Only real problem is the noise from either outside (buses, trains & plains) or your neighbours (snoring, talking... you hear it all).
I wouldn't mind staying here again, but if I can find a similar hotel closer to city centre, I would take that.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Pendergast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We we amazed at the standard of the hotel considering the money we paid for our room! The hotel was perfectly located right opposite the train station in the gare quarter of the city and was a pleasant 10-15 walk into the city centre and old town which offered great views and another perspective of the city that we wouldn't have got staying right in the centre. The room was pleasant and clean, the mini bar well stocked and the breakfast was fantastic the next morning. We had a fantastic stay, we couldn't believe our luck really fr staying in such a hotel for such a reasonable sum and would definately go back!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bec8751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We found the City Hotel via Tripadvisor and have to say that for the first time were a little disappointed for what we got. We were considering Hilton and City Hotel and made a choice for the City Hotel due to the central location.

The room was VERY noisy, practicly no sound proofing. You could hear people talking on the street below. Air conditioning that was supposed to be in the room was a simple fan. The fittness center downstrairs was loaded with peace of crap equipment that didn't work properly. The internet connection kept breaking up and you had to choose a different connection point every 5 minutes, this was pretty annoying.. The hotel was clean but a bit worn down. Breakfast in the morning was good!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Small room, not much room for luggage, tiny bathroom. But the staff were very pleasant, breakfast nice. Very hand for the train station, you can actually see it from the station. There is a coffee shop and has free internet. Can walk to the main part of the city in 5-10 minutes

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#15 of 49 in Luxembourg City
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Molitor
Hotel Central Molitor
#27 of 49 in Luxembourg City
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grey
Hotel Grey
#26 of 49 in Luxembourg City
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Empire
Hotel Empire
#16 of 49 in Luxembourg City
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Christophe Colomb
Hotel Christophe Colomb
#31 of 49 in Luxembourg City
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Luxembourg

Address: Coin Avenue de la Liberte | 1 rue de Strasbourg, Luxembourg City 1021, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range: $109 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Luxembourg 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxembourg City Hotel
City Hotel Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing