We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel-Restaurant Italia
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Reviewed May 14, 2012

What can I say positive about it? It is an easy 10 minute from the railway station and say 15 minutes from the city centre and that's about it. The furniture looked like it had been bought at a car boot sale. The breakfast was poor and as for woollen sheets on the bed! And when I did manage to get to sleep I was soon awoken by a plan taking off! It did not represent VFM and was 'good for just the one' (night).

Room Tip: Try a differnt hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delibaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 57 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel needs maintenance for sure. The rooms toward the street are VERY noisy, the breakfast is skinny at least, but the staff is friendly. The room we had was smallish but do-able...again noisy. We did have any meals other than breakfast. Serval small restaurants close by. The hotel is close to shopping and some sightseeing. Is is NOT for us and we backpack so we are use to nothing.

Stayed: May 2012
Thank drhemlockccw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I spent 2 nights in Luxemburg in this hotel. Good value for money. Rather clean. Very guiet. Convenient location. Can recommend.

Room Tip: Use this option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vs-versus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

“If you touch me, I’ll scream!” No, this did not come from the hotel maid but from our bathroom door, a semi-transparent, flimsily folding accordion-type thing that shrieked back and forth on its poorly fitted top rail. Even then it would not close completely until you got the magnet on the top close enough to its base, then it caught with a loud “SNAP!” I got up once at 4 a.m. and woke up everybody in the hotel.

It has a good location, very close to train station, and is quiet. (except for the bathroom doors.)

Breakfast was rolls, butter, jelly, cheese.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fauxtaographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here recently on a business trip. Room rate was €70 for bed and breakfast, excellent value. Room was clean, plenty for breakfast but would ask for a room away from the street, can be noisy in the morning. Great location near the train station and numerous city buses and some nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phelan24647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Simple old fashioned hotel with Italian Restaurant below. Delightful owner Leila was very helpful. Rooms old with old furniture but clean and functional.Good beds and linen. Good towels.Soap provided. Good sized bathroom-everything worked. No fridge or hairdryer but want do you want for 80 Euros per night with good breakfast. No bacon and eggs, but rolls, croissants, cream cheese, honey, jam, nutella, coffee, capuccino, orange juice. All good. Great location-walk from Railway Station in 10 minutes. Shops, pharmacies, pattiseries, cafes, restaurants all abound. 10 minute walk to old town across bridge. Rooms by road noisy early morning (6am).
Would certainly stay here again. Restaurant OK for good Italian cuisine. But explore local restaurants for genuine Luxembourg food. Had a bad cough and visited pharmacy just around corner-great pharmacist gave helpful assistance. No WiFi in room but lobby area on floor had good free WiFi reception.

Room Tip: For quiet, ask for room away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZorroAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

A good choice to explore Luxembourg, close to the train station (5-7 min walk) and not far from the city center (10 min walk). Quite clean rooms. The hotel is not new and the furniture is a bit shabby sometimes but the hotel in well kept and clean. The bathroom has a nice big window and a bidet :) We chose it beacause of a price (80 euro per dbl with breakfast) and liked our choice. The only con is breakfast - Frehcn type continental with two croissants and two small breads with lots of gems, that is all food. But cofee was good and orange juice was fresh, not canned.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nashari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Christophe Colomb
Hotel Christophe Colomb
#31 of 49 in Luxembourg City
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Molitor
Hotel Central Molitor
#27 of 49 in Luxembourg City
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grey
Hotel Grey
#26 of 49 in Luxembourg City
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#16 of 49 in Luxembourg City
388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vauban
Hotel Vauban
#23 of 49 in Luxembourg City
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Italia

Address: 17 Rue d'Anvers, Luxembourg City 1113, Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Price Range: $170 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Italia has a name that leaves little doubt about what is there. Italian culinary tradition and spirit of Mediterranean family make the whole atmosphere of the place. But it is also the first Italian restaurant of Luxembourg, become indispensable today. In 1962, Leo and Anna Antognoli Trigatti, his wife, write the history of this institution, with any family: Dario and Nilde Antognoli, brothers and sister are working to mixtures of hot and cold dishes while their mamma Maria Antognoli- Bussaglia is the source of all revenue. The latter is a wealth of knowledge that has revived this cuisine in its purest sense. The pasta, salads, lasagna, tiramisu and all the restaurant's specialties have the same flavor as it was 100 years in Italy. The restaurant quickly became an institution visited by all the Luxembourg gratin because there is no place more simple and easy to sample Italian specialties. The generosity of the plates and the service to the old do not leave the choice to leave sated and satisfied. This simplicity is found in meat and fish dishes; let the product speak: beef tenderloin, veal cutlet, saltimbocca, grilled fish or scampi ... Warm Aparthotel The 19th-century building that houses the restaurant already rented rooms at the time. A boon in this area of ​​the Luxembourg Railway Station. The hotel has always been known for its warm and friendly welcome. The fame of the house has only grown as the travelers passed the word. Now fully renovated and turned into apartment hotel, it continues to attract visitors with a modernized comfort and the latest amenities. Leo's smile Antognoli has meanwhile not changed and it is now his daughter Leah, who took control of this legendary hotel and restaurant of Luxembourg, always looking for the total satisfaction of each customer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Italia Hotel Luxembourg City
Hotel Italia Luxembourg
Hotel-Restaurant Italia Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing