We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, excellent location, fair price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Francais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Francais
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good service, excellent location, fair price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The room was not so big, but we spent 90 euro (very yummi breakfast included) to sleep in a perfect central location in august. The hotel was clean and the personnale very polite. It's not a luxury hotel, but a very good place to go!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatteoP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    75
    43
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
67
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The central location is unbeatable, but be aware there is no hotel or nearby on-street parking and the public car parks are very expensive. The restaurant is a great plus which I'd recommend for an evening meal as well as breakfast, and the staff were both polite and very helpful. The hotel is spotlessly clean, but our double room was very small, as was the bed! Overall the style can be at best described as minimalist. This is unfortunate if noise troubles you, because the combination of tiled floors and scant internal insulation means you will have a disturbed night if your fellow guests are not extremely considerate. I would certainly consider using this hotel again, but would probably prefer to pay a bit more for another hotel in the same vicinity for a little more comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid niose from the square, and check on the width of the bed! Our s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJC32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked 2 rooms at Hotel Francais in April 2013 purely for location and it didn't disappoint.

The hotel is located in the town square, surrounded by various restaurants and bars and yes it can be a bit noisy late at night but this didn't bother us or our son.

The rooms are on the small side but comfortable and very clean along with the bathroom. The breakfast is great with good options and we enjoyed a lovely evening meal in the restaurant one night with no complaint.

Overall a great place to stay and as you will find in Luxembourg nothing is cheap but this place was reasonably priced and definitley recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKI_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
200 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel, but we did drop in for the buffet breakfast at €12 which was good. We were made really welcome by the staff on duty, who duly brought coffee and tea to our table. The buffet consisted of pastries, cereals, toast, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cold meats, cheese and various jams/honey/marmalade.
It really filled us up and set us right for a day exploring this majestic city.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EdinburghShoegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is a joke and should be granted one star only for its location. We had to wait 15 minutes before someone showed up at the reception. The room was dimly lit, dull and plain, with a horrible view on a concrete patio. The reception is empty most of the time and there's a box where you can leave your key... and where anybody can take it and visit your room for free!! The waiter in charge of breakfast is obnoxious. I've been to youth hostels in developing countries that easily superate this hotel. Never again!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slowstarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
429 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Francais over a weekend. The location is great, right in the centre of the town with easy access to shopping, sight seeings and bars, clubs and restaurants. This unfortunately also means that the hotel does not have parking and public parking is very expensive in Luxemburg.

The room was functional but small and not that comfortable. All room and bathroom doors seem to lack padding when closing so the hotel is very noisy due to constant door banging. Our room was by the stairs, which didn't help. Also, on Sunday morning, the staff seemed to clean rooms in the order in which guests checked out, meaning that we were not only constantly distracted by door banging but also by chatting staff and hoover noise.

Breakfast was included in the room rate, but it was rather average. Would have almost preferred to go out for a nice breakfast and pay a little bit extra for it.

Would recommend looking around for other options before booking into this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This small hotel in the central square in Luxembourg city is very nice and well functioning. It is situated inside the pedestrician area. Rooms are normal sized, clean and wellfunctioning. The internet works well. At my last visit there were some noise from the square outside from 6 am, but usually the rooms are quiet. In December there is a Christmas market on the square. Breakfast is Ok, but not one that you remember. It takes 20-30 minutes to walk to the EU buildings at the Kirschberg plateau

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ester G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vauban
Hotel Vauban
#19 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simoncini
Hotel Simoncini
#12 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Cravat
Grand Hotel Cravat
#11 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parc Beaux-Arts Hotel Luxembourg
Parc Beaux-Arts Hotel Luxembourg
#21 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pipistrelle
La Pipistrelle
#14 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#16 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francais

Property: Hotel Francais
Address: 14 Place d'Armes, Luxembourg City 1136, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Francais Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing