We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for sightseeing and excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Francais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Francais
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great for sightseeing and excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in May. We were assigned rooms facing the square but asked to move to the back in case it got noisy at night. Our rooms were pleasant and comfortable. The location is wonderful right on the Place d'Armes. We did use the pay parking nearby and it is very expensive. There is no way to drive up to hotel so we transported luggage from underground garage. Once in the hotel, the location is very near all the city sights. The restaurant was great for dinner and nicely decorated. Breakfasts were very good, breads, meats, cheese, jams, juices, etc. If you're looking for a central hotel, this one is very nice and friendly staff.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tunitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    76
    43
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
68
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Located in a very central location the rooms are basic but suitably clean. We did however not have a fridge in our room. Breakfast was included within our room rate and comprised a fairly typical European breakfast buffet. During the day the room could be a bit noisy with the Place D’Armes below, but it was usually fairly quiet from about 10pm; the double glazed windows (which could also be opened) also helped considerably.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gianouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Location is right on the Place d'Armes, a very busy square with loads of restaurants. Easy walking to everything. Despite how busy the square was during the day, it got very quiet after 11PM and noise was not an issue at all at night. Rooms were spotless, shower was quite good, staff was friendly. Breakfast was perfectly normal Germanic style breakfast. Coffee was typically weak (even though they had an espresso machine they weren't using it) and food was not replinished when gone, but I've come to expect this as normal for this area. "Free wireless internet" never found signal despite being given network name by staff. Didn't pursue it further so maybe it was just a fluke.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmy_Agewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

I stayed for one night at this hotel while on business in Luxembourg. The check-in was friendly and efficient. As the room that they had assigned me was directly opposite the lobby and somewhat noisy, I asked to change rooms and they did so without any issue, and indeed, deducted from the price as the room that I prefered was smaller than the first. The room was indeed quiet small but pleasant, clean, and quiet with a relatively large bathroom. I only regret that there was no kettle in the room. In the morning, I went downstairs and they gave me complimentary coffee to the room. Breakfast is a modest buffet but fresh, tasty, and sufficient. The hotel is located in the centre of town in easy walking to offices and stores.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shimon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

I frequently go to Luxembourg for work, and this was the first hotel I tried. I have since tried four others (only when Hotel Francais is fully booked), and this one stays firmly at the top of my list after several years of twice-yearly visits.

The location is unbeatable, the service is excellent (once the night porter fixed me breakfast because I had to get to the airport so terribly early), and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

Of course, because it is so central, it can at times be a bit noisy (I've had my share of Christmas fairs and drunken football fans outside my window!), but it hasn't bothered me much.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Highgate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaverton
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

Hotel Francais is clean, conveniently located and is a great place to stay for the money. The breakfast is a nice way to start the day. The staff is friendly and accommodating and the rooms are as quiet as a mouse. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennithjparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

This was my third stay at the Hotel Francais in as many trips to Luxembourg. It has the best location, right on the Place d'Armes. Everything is within a few minutes walk, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the hotel is modern and charming with a fine restaurant right downstairs. The rooms facing the square out front can get noisy, especially during the summer, so I prefer to take a room with no view facing the back. I will stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kpmirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vauban
Hotel Vauban
#19 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simoncini
Hotel Simoncini
#12 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Cravat
Grand Hotel Cravat
#11 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parc Beaux-Arts Hotel Luxembourg
Parc Beaux-Arts Hotel Luxembourg
#21 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pipistrelle
La Pipistrelle
#14 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#16 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francais

Property: Hotel Francais
Address: 14 Place d'Armes, Luxembourg City 1136, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Francais Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing