We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

I decided to stay in this hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. And it was worth it. It's a simple, small hotel, with a little tacky interiors. But rooms have everything you need (even comamoille tea in the room), they are super clean, and quiet. The service is excellent, and breakfast really good. And it has free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarperBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    174
    56
    12
    7
See reviews for
65
103
36
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We were really impressed with this hotel. The welcome was great, and we were given orange juice on arrival and made to feel very welcome. Rooms were spacious, clean and well maintained. Excellently located if arriving by train as only a few minutes walk from the station. About a 10-15 minute walk into the old town We didn't feel the area was at all seedy as described in some reviews. Free wi-fi in reception area, and the reception areas were all beautifully decorated and a real effort had been made to decorate for Christmas. We paid about £90 bed and breakfast and had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CardiffCardiff69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

The location of the hotel is great. Just walking 5 minutes from Train station. a Chinese supermarket on the opposite and a cafe at side of the hotel. Reception staff are welcomed and cheerful. The room is clean and comfort but there are no minibar. You may buy from vending machine at second floor. But it is not convenience to get up & down. Also a timber-like floor in the room quite a bit annoy when you walk in the room.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikuropka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

The hotel may be rated as 4* but would downgrade it at 3*.
Stayed in a single. The temperature outside was around -9 and the temperature inside was low also because the radiators were all closed. The floor is very old and looks unfinished! It looks like an 80's.
The breakfast saved this hotel from a really bad review...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0_BGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Island, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

After doing a lot of research on Trip Advisor about where to stay in Luxembourg, I decided to try this highly rated hotel. I enjoyed every minute of my stay at the Hotel Carlton. From the moment I walked in, I was welcomed so warmly by Gianni who spoke great English. He treated me like a friend staying in his home for the 2 days of my stay. The hotel itself is immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. There is a separate sitting area with comfortable living room chairs and all kinds of magazines to read. Since I had a single room as I was traveling alone, the room was on the small side but I had a queen size bed which was quite comfortable but low to the ground. Between the end of the bed and the wall there was a shelf waist high that acted as a desk with a chair. There wasn't much room to maneuver between the bed and the shelf but I was able to sit there and use my laptop to stay in touch with friends. The internet is free which is a rarity in Europe! I just asked for a cable to plug in my laptop which Gianni kindly provided. The room also had a fairly large closet to put my suitcase and hang up clothes. The bathroom was also on the small side with a very narrow shower but it was served it's purpose. The room itself just like the lobby and the living room downstairs was super clean. I was also pleased that they had a few English speaking stations on the television so I could watch CNN. The breakfast was included with my room rate and it was one of the highlights of my day. Gianni had a table waiting for me each morning and they brought out delicious fresh bread and croissants. On the table was all sorts of jellys, butter and cheese. They also brought out a plate of some of the best salami I ever ate. In addition, they gave you two soft boiled eggs in the stand or you could have an assortment of cereals or yogurt. It was a perfect way to start the day. The hotel is very close to the train station which took me 3 minutes to walk to. One morning I walked to the old, historic part of the city and it was only about a15 minute walk over the bridge. The view alone over the bridge is worth the walk. Not sure I've ever seen a more beautiful city! My only complaint about the hotel is that the walls were a little thin and a neighbor had to ask me to turn down my television even though I had the volume quite low. Other than that, I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. You won't be disappointed in the hospitality, the charm and the value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We loved our stay in Hotel Carlton. We were there two nights while we saw the sights in Luxembourg. The hotel is modern, spotless and provides a lovely breakfast in the morning -- soft boiled eggs, breads, meat, cheese, etc. We had one of the larger rooms, and it had a wonderfully big bathroom for Europe. What was most remarkable was the service and the staff, especially the gentleman who was on duty -- it seemed like 24-hours-a-day. He was so helpful with parking and directions and just to chit chat. Based on the pleasantness and seeming happiness of the staff, I got the impression that this was a very well run hotel, with good management. We arrived by car and parked in the hotel's garage, which was a bit of a production because the hotel staff have to open the door for you when you enter and exit, but they were so good natured and patient about it, that it calmed us, two high-strung Americans, down. We walked from the hotel to old part of town and the Casements -- it's a nice walk. We walked around at night at length without any problem. We did use the city buses one time and they were very efficient and clean. The bus and train station is a very easy walk from the hotel. I hope we go back to Luxembourg; if we do we will stay at the Hotel Carlton.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huntinghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

The hotel is near train station, which we wanted. Luxembourg City was a bit busier than what we wanted, but we were scheduled for 3 nites. We traveled out of the city both days there to see WWII sites. The front sitting room in the hotel was beautiful and we sat in it each nite, used our wifi and played cards. Service was great and room was small but beds comfy. Street was a bit loud. Good breakfast. Would recommend to someone wanting to stay in city, but if we had a redo we would have stayed in Diekeirch.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopgirl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.4 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,036 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,826 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Cravat
Grand Hotel Cravat
#11 of 50 in Luxembourg City
612 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Property: Hotel Carlton
Address: 7 Rue de Strasbourg, Luxembourg City 2561, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Carlton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL. Hotel Carlton is perfectly located in the heart of Luxembourg City and welcoming their guests since 1932. This family run hotel in Art Deco Style will make you feel at home during your business trips and getaways. Breakfast and WIFI included. Parking is available, but must be booked in advance. (20€ per day) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Luxembourg City
Hotel Carlton Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing