We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"The professionalism of the staff is what gives this hotel 4 stars"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“"The professionalism of the staff is what gives this hotel 4 stars"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel it was obvious that this wasn´t the best of neighborhoods. However, I think Luxembourg in general is a pretty safe place. Parking is very convenient and the entrance to the hotel is pretty. There are fresh flowers, colorful furniture, and orange juice waiting for the entire family. The manager is very, very kind and welcoming. We had to purchase 2 rooms for our family of 5, which was standard throughout Luxembourg. Therefore value for us was not very good. The rooms are very small, but clean. Floors are wooden and extremely creaky. It was very hot during our stay and the windows don´t open much. We had one interior and one exterior room and I don´t think there was much difference in air flow in either location. We live in the city, so the exterior room noise was nothing unusual for us. Breakfast was very convenient, and service was excellent. There were soft boiled eggs, a plate of cold meat, a plate of cheese, yogurts, cereals, all types of breads, juice, chocolate milk, and espresso. The manager even gave our 3 kids each a little gift which kept them busy all day! Location is convenient to many tourist sites and plenty of restaurants. If it weren´t for the staff, this hotel would be average. Well done!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marimcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    166
    47
    11
    7
See reviews for
62
97
35
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Best things about this hotel:
- Very friendly and helpful staff
- parking is available (extra fee)
- Walking distance (10-15 mins) from centre of Luxembourg and all of the sites in the city
- beautiful entrance and downstairs to the hotel
- excellent WiFi connection

Why I haven't given it 5 starts:
- range of breakfast items is a bit limited
- no air conditioning
- 'bar' is a vending machine (but very cheap!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
257 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The manager was friendly and helpful and when I had a guest for breakfast I was not charged which is something I have never come across before. The hotel is a little dated and without any charm. There was no air conditioning in my room and I hardly slept as it was a sauna in there. Breakfast was limited and they only served pasteurised orange juice (I asked what you do if you are allergic to it and I was told you drink water, that's how it is here!) Location near the station was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a nice older hotel with wood floors that creak in just the right places. Breakfast was extensive and very good, the welcoming orange juice is a nice touch, and Giovanni is super helpful. The only drawback is the neighborhood, just don't walk left out of the hotel. We did, for just one block, at 7:00 p.m., and it felt dangerous. If you turn right, and then left up either street that leads into the old town, you'll be fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CO2112traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Petersburg
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nice hotel. If you stay in this hotel, you'll get hearty-welcome. Giovanni is very friendly person will tell all, with all the help and the mood you will just perfect, after talking with him. The hotel is decorated tastefully. Room is big and clean. Location is very good, near the railway station and close to attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intern1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Carlton is a very nice hotel in the heart of Luxembourg City. It is unpretentious, clean and comfortable and within an easy walk of the pedestrian-only city center, a couple of very nice parks, the older, historic part of town by the Petrusse river and the Petrusse Casements - ruins of the old fort that protected the city back in the day. The host, Gianni, is a very genial and charming man and is fluent in several languages. The Carlton also offers a wide selection of choices at breakfast. The hotel is within a few blocks of the train station and if you are driving parking is directly across the street from the hotel entrance. Although in the city, the Carlton is only about a 30 minute drive from the Luxembourg Route De Vin - a string of villages through the valley and hills along the west side of the Moselle - an excursion we highly recommend, especially to try the rieslings and cremants in the area. The one cautionary note we would make is that rue de Strasbourg has a number of clubs on it and on Friday evening young people do what young people do. We were on the 1st floor (2nd floor for Americans) and it was a bit noisy for a while. However, that notwithstanding we would happily stay at the Carlton again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floors - 3rd or 4th floors for Americans - and/or a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom32066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The staff was great, very welcoming. Giovanni makes you feel at home from the moment you walk in.He gave great food recommendations. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the city center and right across the street from the train station. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisjohnson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
1.2 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Empire
Hotel Empire
#17 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Property: Hotel Carlton
Address: 7 Rue de Strasbourg, Luxembourg City 2561, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Carlton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL. Hotel Carlton is perfectly located in the heart of Luxembourg City and welcoming their guests since 1932. This family run hotel in Art Deco Style will make you feel at home during your business trips and getaways. Breakfast and WIFI included. Parking is available, but must be booked in advance. (20€ per day) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Luxembourg City
Hotel Carlton Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing