We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Luxembourg what more do you expect”
Review of Hotel Le Chatelet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Le Chatelet
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Its location in the Gare section of Luxembourg means it is situated within the seedier part of town. The room is large with a double and single bed in there. The tv is located atop a 6 foot wardrobe which makes it hard to see and watch from bed after a hard day/ night of walking around the town.
There appears to be a focus more on a business client than on a tourist with the front desk staff not offering advice on what to see and what to do within Luxembourg or with in the location of the hotel ie where to get dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gripplebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 268 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2010

first of all, the appearance was very nice, romantic and clean. location was no problem, or rather, you dont have to worry about hotel's location in this small city. anywhere is within walking distance!
we paid some 130 euros for one night stay, which turned out very reasonable or more than that, because we were satisfied with a clean room and great breakfast.
the only problem i can think of is that TV was located at a strange place in a room.
but this is neither a problem because there was only one english tv program going on there. i dont know whether this is the case with every hotel in this city.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sayuri0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

My husband and I spent 5 weeks traveling in Europe, nine countries. We took the train to this city and found our hotel late, after nine. It was an easy walk from the train station. Our room was across a small parking lot but was lovely on the first floor, with a huge bathroom and giant tub. It had a small refer too. The manager recommended a great Italian restaurant that was still open. We went there and the portions were so huge we brought the left overs back and put in the fridge.

Our bed was very comfortable, and I'm picky about beds.

Free internet and computer were available in the main TV, and library area. The breakfast was wonderful with a great variety of food, including scrambled eggs, soft boiled eggs, bacon, juices, pastries, cheeses, cereals, lunch meat, etc. The diningroom was not crowded at all when we dined. The staff was helpful and spoke fluent English. We liked it so well we spent another night. After a day of sightseeing our hotel clerk warmed our leftover pasta from the night before for us and set it on a tray on a plate with silverware. We ordered wine to go with it.

At $107 Euros a night with NO TAXES it was well worth it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingonSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

My stay in the hotel was only very brief, unfortunately!
The manager of the hotel is a true professional and runs the place with passion.
The rooms are tidy and have everything you may need for a good night's sleep after a long business meetings. The neighbourhood has plenty of restaurants and bars and the Vallée de la Pétrusse, Luxembourg city's green lung, is just around the corner. Perfect for re-energizing again. The breakfast buffet has great variations and offers many different freshly baked kinds of buns, croissants and pastries. Delicious and cosy breakfast area!
Absolutely worth your money to stay in this hotel! I would recommend it to solo travellers as well as families.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZRHABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Let me start with the hotel building itself. We'd got a superior room in the second building right behind the main one. However, the two are not connected - going to the reception, or the breakfast-room one has to step out and cross the parking lot. Not very pleasant in pouring rain or freezing cold, I must say!
The building had neither fire-detector nor fire-exit, but a cracking wooden staircase leading to our room in the second floor and in fact, the only way up and down...
The gate of our building was a simple glass door opening directly to the street (we had a key for it) didn't seem too secure either!
There was no elevator (only in the main building), so it wasn't that easy to carry our heavy luggage up to the room.

The room was spacious and light, but poorly furnished. The bed was simply a nightmare, a thin matras on an iron frame; we had 3 horrible nights on it!
The tv-set didn't work first and had to call the reception.
But, what really shocked us was the bathroom and toilet (!) without doors...and that was a so-called 'superior' room! How about the other ones??

Then, the parking....The hotel advertises itself with parking facilities, but it is simply a lie! There are only 12 parking spaces for 48 rooms. This means that most guests cannot have one at all!! Then, starts the poblem when one has to find a parking somewhere in the neighbourhood...
Although we stayed several days, the staff didn't even bother to tell us that the city-center and the main access roads to the hotel are completely closed during Luxemburg City Marathon. Result: 2 hours trying to reach the hotel in vain. When we complained the guy simply answered "well, it is announced weeks ago!" That was our 3rd day in the country...
The breakfast-room was too small and crowded, guests had to share tables with each other.
Before anyone would say that we shouldn't have expected more from a cheap, 3-star hotel, then let me say that it was not cheap at all! When we returned home, we checked other hotels (Grand Hotel Cravat, Novotel, even the 5-star Hilton) and found that they offered more or less the same price for that period.
Many people don't even try booking a room in 4-, or 5-star hotels, presuming that they surely cost much more. And this is what such bad hotels exploit shamelessly! But, in the end of the day one pays the same, or even more than in a luxury hotel.
We travel frequently, but it was probably our worst experience ever! Thus, obviously we don't recommend it at all. Forget this address!
Oh, yes, the croissant was delicious.....!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank malfuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Let me start with the hotel building itself. We'd got a superior room in the second building right behind the main one. However, the two are not connected - going to the reception, or the breakfast-room one has to step out and cross the parking lot. Not very pleasant in pouring rain or freezing cold, I must say!
The building had neither fire-detector nor fire-exit, but a cracking wooden staircase leading to our room in the second floor and in fact, the only way up and down...
The gate of our building was a simple glass door opening directly to the street (we had a key for it) didn't seem too secure either!
There was no elevator (only in the main building), so it wasn't that easy to carry our heavy luggage up to the room.

The room was spacious and light, but poorly furnished. The bed was simply a nightmare, a thin matras on an iron frame; we had 3 horrible nights on it!
The tv-set didn't work first and had to call the reception.
But, what really shocked us was the bathroom and toilet (!) without doors...and that was a so-called 'superior' room! How about the other ones??

Then, the parking....The hotel advertises itself with parking facilities, but it is simply a lie! There are only 12 parking spaces for 48 rooms. This means that most guests cannot have one at all!! Then, starts the poblem when one has to find a parking somewhere in the neighbourhood...
Although we stayed several days, the staff didn't even bother to tell us that the city-center and the main access roads to the hotel are completely closed during Luxemburg City Marathon. Result: 2 hours trying to reach the hotel in vain. When we complained the guy simply answered "well, it is announced weeks ago!" That was our 3rd day in the country...
The breakfast-room was too small and crowded, guests had to share tables with each other.
Before anyone would say that we shouldn't have expected more from a cheap, 3-star hotel, then let me say that it was not cheap at all! When we returned home, we checked other hotels (Grand Hotel Cravat, Novotel, even the 5-star Hilton) and found that they offered more or less the same price for that period.
Many people don't even try booking a room in 4-, or 5-star hotels, presuming that they surely cost much more. And this is what such bad hotels exploit shamelessly! But, in the end of the day one pays the same, or even more than in a luxury hotel.
We travel frequently, but it was probably our worst experience ever! Thus, obviously we don't recommend it at all. Forget this address!
Oh, yes, the croissant was delicious.....!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malfuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

This was a very basic hotel but had firendly and accomdating staff. The location is good, a short walk from the centre. It was good value.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaSheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Molitor
Hotel Central Molitor
#28 of 50 in Luxembourg City
293 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,997 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Victor Hugo
Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Vi...
#14 of 50 in Luxembourg City
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
NH Luxembourg
NH Luxembourg
#20 of 50 in Luxembourg City
747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#38 of 50 in Luxembourg City
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Chatelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Chatelet

Address: 2 Boulevard de la Petrusse, Luxembourg City 2320, Luxembourg (Formerly Hôtel Le Châtelet)
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Price Range: $112 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Chatelet 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the vicinity of the Pétrusse valley park, the city centre and the train station, the hotel Le Châtelet is well suited for both business and private stays. Le Châtelet offers 39 rooms and 8 studios. A private parking area allows for hassle parking (15 eur/night). A sumptuous breakfast buffet with many homemade products will ensure the best possible start to your day. Le Châtelet has been a family-run business for more than 50 years and our team is at your disposal, doing its best to make your stay a most agreeable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Chatelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chatelet Hotel
Hotel Le Chatelet Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing