We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

superb hotel. Great location.great rooms.Beautiful pool sauna and steam room. Rooms are large airy and tastefully furnished Lobby and hotel itself are classically beautiful. Rooms have every convenience

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    238
    86
    15
    5
See reviews for
55
226
49
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Set your expectations for a 4 star hotel last decorated around the late 80s and you will be fine.

If you want a five star in lux go to the Sofitel (grand ducal not the other one).

Upside: central- I stagger out of bed and I'm in the office. V
They have kit-kats in the minibar good for midnight craving (though at 6.5 Euros a pop only indulge if only the corporate credit card).

Downside: if you have a room which is facing the road, it is a main road and it is NOISY!
Room could benefit from more plugs. Honestly one socket at the other side of the room. Come on.

Room Tip: Non-smoking, good wifi access (no really, some have rubbish signal) and NOT FACING THE STREET
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruari h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very good hotel, well located, very kind staff. Breakfast has many varieties of bread, jams, pastries, fruits, cereals... Parking ok too.
The rooms are somewhat old fashioned (might be the carpets, the curtains, bathroom, the furniture, all of the above) but cleanliness is ok - to the exception of the refurbished loungers in the room where I was. I sadly sat on it with some black trousers and discovered when standing up that my legs were covered of white particles. Not sure what I was (dead skin cells ?), did not want to look at it closer, and managed to remove this excess of dirt.
A pity, but except this the stay was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine_F3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very good and welcoming staff and very comfortable rooms, we have only eaten at the cheaper restaurant which is very good and particularly good value if you choose from the seasonal menu. The hotel is well situated and has a pleasant park next door.

Room Tip: The Executive rooms are particularly pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGPtrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Some say hotels are a reflection of the places they are in. If that is true Luxembourg is not only self-satisfied, but is deluded about what constitutes good quality standards and service. To illustrate . . .

Check-in at this hotel is from 1pm. We arrived at 4pm to be told our room wasn't quite ready and asked to wait five minutes. A great deal more than five minutes later when we enquired whether the room was now ready, we were met by the blank look of a receptionist who had clearly forgotten we existed - to the degree she kept calling my wife by the wrong name.

I won't bore you with the details of things such as the non-smoking area that reeked of cigarette smoke (which odour half-an-hour later changed to one of overpowering air freshener), the wrongly taken order at breakfast or the drunks in the overpriced bar, but will just say that having waited nearly two months for a reply to my observations to the general manager on the parlous state of his establishment I was unsurprised to read a half-heartedly apology which, like his hotel, was liberally strewn with disinterest.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Walktolunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayshott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

On business,, efficient service, but a little soulless. Not quite up to 5 star rating. Location great and business facilities very good. Didn't eat there beyond breakfast which was very good. Comfortable but unspectacular room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
237 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

A very enjoyable stay and to be recommended with a few qualifications. Staff and service were just great. And the location was perfect – walking distance to many places of interest. Very clean. Did not use room service or the restaurant except for breakfast. I had a good WIFI connection but others in my group had to work with the staff to get a good signal and ended up using the business center. If that’s important to you, ask for a room known to have a good signal. For a five star hotel, the room was maybe better rated at four stars. The room size was okay in my European experience but still small for the rating. Also, the setting on the thermostat had no relationship to the room temperature. It is frustrating when the windows are not designed to open and you are a little warm and it's, like, winter outside. I’m just saying. The health center had a nice spa and staff with a decent size pool. However, the exercise center had limited equipment with only one treadmill, which meant I had to jog outside – not my preference but the park out back worked okay as an alternative. On departure, the complimentary shuttle to the airport was an appreciated convenience!

Room Tip: For quiet, ask for a room facing the back toward the park. Also ask for a room with a strong WIFI s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.7 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#3 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg

Property: Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Address: 12 Boulevard Royal, Luxembourg City 2449, Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#5 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its sophisticated European hospitality and impeccable service, Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg is arguably the only five-star hotel in the heart of Luxembourg and one of the Leading Hotels of the World. Heavy renovation works have just been achieved: 170 renovated rooms, the Piano Bar with a contemporary design enhanced by original lights and music and, the last but not the least, the new restaurant Amélys which proposes a traditional, natural cuisine in magnificent surroundings brightened in the summer by a flowery terrace. Fine dining at La Pomme Cannelle epitomizes culinary excellence, while the Club Santé offers professional spa treatments, a fitness centre and an indoor swimming pool. Golden Key Concierge service, airport shuttle bus, garage parking and a lovely boutique complete the first-class experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Royal Luxembourg City
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing