We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I have already stayed 3 times this year, for over 2 weeks during each stay.
I have to start with service and the staff. They truly make this property all it is. Without the service, this could very well be a 2 star hotel. Friendly, excellent, well mannered, professional, and helpful staff. Location is their other strong positive. It is well located next to a lovely park, and only 1 block away from City Center, if not in center, close to banking, shops, restaurants, and attractions. Rooms are clean, good size & turn down service is a nice touch. The hotel has a gym, indoor pool, sauna, and steam room, are ok, because just as rest of the hotel, they also need remodeling. As far as restaurants, we have only visited the breakfast buffet, which is quite good. Wide variety of breads, pastries, fruits, cold cuts, eggs, yogurts, coffees, teas, and a few a La Carte options. The hotel offers free airport/train station shuttle "when available", so contact them as soon as possible to arrange, since taxi to or from airport-hotel is around 40 Euros.
Now, on the down side, the air conditioning is a problem, we stayed in March (snowing), May and September, and have experience that the rooms are too hot during the night even without covers. Free high-speed internet is also available, but that is another of their negatives. Not fast, and very hard to stay connected. Last, but not least, the hotel truly needs a renovation. The rooms look tired, and outdated. The entire property needs to be remodeled.
I would still give it a 4 because of the service and location. Simply far to none.


Trip Type: Both Business & Couples

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maru620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    254
    87
    15
    5
See reviews for
60
263
52
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Arriving at this hotel at the end of our car tour we were in urgent need of a glass or two to restore our spirits,unfortunately the bar staff were unable to cope with the onslaught and the hotel management were unable or unwilling to help.We thought that this boded ill for our final dinner of circa 150 people but how wrong we were.The meal was first class with good food and wines served efficiently.the bedroom was very comfortable and Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Hubby & I arrived on a Saturday night, after driving from Suffolk on our way to Italy. From the moment we parked outside we were enveloped in friendly helpfulness; luggage sorted, car parked, dogs welcolmed, room (traditional/modern) large & well appointed. Le Royal has all you expect from a top hotel (chocolates on the bed, slippers & robes, flowers on the tray of your room service hot chocolate) but more importantly it has heart. The staff are excellent at what they do & make you feel like welcome friends. Best hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScriptTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is another hotel that had a glorious past but a trimmed present. We stayed at the Le Royal at the executive wing of the hotel that is supposed to be a bit more upgraded than the rest of the hotel. It has a different elevator and a different concept.
The hotel is old, that is at least 15 years old but in good condition. It lacks the wow factor that a leading hotel has, because of its age. I guess a refurbishment should be underway in order to keep the good name that this property has.
Breakfast is ok, nothing again to remember only that you can order your eggs ala carte instead of taking them from the buffet.
Staff is mixed. Food and beverage staff is excellent and prompt. Reception so and so, and concierge very slow, like he is new in the city. Porters and cleaning ladies are ecxellent.
Bed comfort mediocre. Overall a nice hotel but it lacks the value for money factor. Maybe would recomend.

Room Tip: The higher, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coastalux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The service is outstanding, drivers, waiters, receptionists... The hotel provides complementary transport from the airport. Breakfast excellent. Rooms are really nothing special. It has a very nice pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sergej s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Lovely hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Service was excellent. We only spent one night, however were very comfortable and would definitely recommend. Must give credit to the Irish front reception student who gave us such a wonderful warm welcome and was so professional in her manner!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our room was as expected, ...a bit simple, but nice. We were located on the backside with a view of a drive up and limited view of the park. We enjoyed all the luxuries such as pant press, towel warmer, and free water. The bed was too hard for me(reminded me of the mattress I bought at Sam's after college), but my husband was comfortable. Entry into WC was tight. Wifi worked well. Location was convenient. Staff was pleasant, but not overly customer service oriented. Breakfast service was plentiful offering hot items to order, and the room and outside view to garden was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.7 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,558 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#5 of 50 in Luxembourg City
927 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,036 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg

Property: Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Address: 12 Boulevard Royal, Luxembourg City 2449, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#5 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its sophisticated European hospitality and impeccable service, Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg is arguably the only five-star hotel in the heart of Luxembourg and one of the Leading Hotels of the World. Heavy renovation works have just been achieved: 170 renovated rooms, the Piano Bar with a contemporary design enhanced by original lights and music and, the last but not the least, the new restaurant Amélys which proposes a traditional, natural cuisine in magnificent surroundings brightened in the summer by a flowery terrace. Fine dining at La Pomme Cannelle epitomizes culinary excellence, while the Club Santé offers professional spa treatments, a fitness centre and an indoor swimming pool. Golden Key Concierge service, airport shuttle bus, garage parking and a lovely boutique complete the first-class experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Royal Luxembourg City
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing