We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd review - not as positive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have stayed at this property 10 times & first time I rated this hotel, I rated it a 5 - now a 3 - although visit this week a 2. For some reason, on my second visit they provided me a nice fruit basket - not since. I travel to Luxembourg 2-3 times per year & will be trying another hotel next visit. The location is convenient to city center & some of the staff are very good. However, after 10 visits, I do think appropriate to recognize me as a repeat guest -- each time I am greeted with "have you stayed with us before?". Some times breakfast is included, sometimes not -- even though I book through same corporate travel agent (if breakfast is not included it is outrageously expensive). There is no coffee in the room & think 5 euros for cup in hotel. I typically go to a local cafe - although in winter, a hassle. Rooms are nice sized, however, getting worn & outdated. Charge for a newspaper. No ironing board. TripAdvisor ratings have dropped in the last few years & I agree.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SF94597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 812 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Me and my wife stayed only one night and was enchanted by the the hotel. Very good location, a few steps from the historic center. Attentive staff and a very good restaurant. Certainly would return. Our room was big, with a large bathroom. Everything was very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarioRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed on a suite. It was big, comfortable and even featured a small kitchen. Breakfast was OK, quality was good but could use a little but more variety. Staff was great, they were very attentive at all times.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
Thank Vini_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Positive: very friendly staff, very good service, good food.

negative: the smell of smoke in lobby, lounge, pianobar, even in the lifts was terrible.
We did not know that smoking was allowed in public areas (except restaurant). This means that you can sit only in your room or in the restaurant, but not in the public areas, which looked quite nice.
If the hotel allows smoking, it is terrible but it is their choice, but at least mention this on the website.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Exceptionally clean and comfortable. Our breakfast was included and started the day off right. Nice selection of cold meats, salmon, cheeses and other items. Attentive staff and efficient. Business center could use a few more machines. Dinner menu is average, but Chef's specials are very tasty.

Room Tip: Not for budget travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwalsh9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

A decent hotel but only just five star. Royal club rooms are reasonable, with Hermes toiletries, and of good size but have a 1980s feel. Pillows are well below standard, though bedding otherwise comfortable. Queen bed, not a king bed so small if not alone. Good food but both restaurants have outdated decor and need money and talent to instil elegance. Bar is more comfortable. The hotel has one MAJOR problem. It allows guests to smoke in public areas - so I guess the management or the owner is just plain stupid - as the smell of stale cigarettes still pervades as it used to decades ago before the law and common sense intervened to ensure better quality air. This seems to be the best hotel in Luxembourg but there is clearly little competition. A fine selection of wines by the glass.

Room Tip: Standard rooms may be shabby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHMH1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here with 3 friends on a short city break for a weekend and we were very pleased.

We had superior rooms on the 5th floor and they had everything you could want making a very comfortable stay - including english tv channels.

It was close to all of the sights in Luxembourg and the Concierge was very helpful in directing us around.

The facilities and food were fantastic, with everything you would expect of a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthewjhaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.7 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#3 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,676 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#4 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,007 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.8 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg

Address: 12 Boulevard Royal, Luxembourg City 2449, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#5 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range: $186 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its sophisticated European hospitality and impeccable service, Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg is arguably the only five-star hotel in the heart of Luxembourg and one of the Leading Hotels of the World. Heavy renovation works have just been achieved: 170 renovated rooms, the Piano Bar with a contemporary design enhanced by original lights and music and, the last but not the least, the new restaurant Amélys which proposes a traditional, natural cuisine in magnificent surroundings brightened in the summer by a flowery terrace. Fine dining at La Pomme Cannelle epitomizes culinary excellence, while the Club Santé offers professional spa treatments, a fitness centre and an indoor swimming pool. Golden Key Concierge service, airport shuttle bus, garage parking and a lovely boutique complete the first-class experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Royal Luxembourg City
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing