We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent customer service, great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed at Le Royal for one week in November during a business trip my husband had. It was our first time in Luxembourg. Have to say, this was the best choice I could have get.

Location:The hotel is ideally located, if you want to walk around downtown to enjoy Plaza D'Armas, shopping on the upscale stores, sightseeing Petrussa, Notre Dame, etc. etc.. Or eating at any of the numerous restaurant around this area. The food was exquisite on every restaurant we try for dinner, it's hard to pick a favorite. The average price on that area for a good dinner is around euros 30 - 50 / person.

The Room: Super clean and well kept! -- We stayed at the king suite non-smoking. Have to say for the price we paid, and our culture (american), I was expecting a bigger size room, but the size was fine, enough just for the basic set-up. A small desk with a chair, lounge chair, a queen size bed dressed with delicate sheets and smooth pillows. A 42" flat HD TV and a small refrigerator. The bathroom has marble floors and walls, one sink, a bath tub with a shower (not recommend it for handicap the tub is quite high), a dryer, an electric outlet with a 120 V adapter, well thought! We saved some money here since we forgot our adapter at home.
We only had one problem in the room, the heather system is standard for the hotel, you are not able to control the thermostat, nor even open the windows, they took the handles out of the window. So, the first night our room was extremely hot, around 77 F, I turned down the thermostat, went to bed thinking the thermostat works... long story short, got up at 1 am, called the reception complaining about the problem, they sent a guy to open the windows for us and we let that window open for the rest of our stay. Maintenance came to fix the thermostat to turn off the heat. They addressed our problem right away. They offer room service twice a day.

Hotel Premisses: They are elegant, clean, with style. The breakfast buffet is more than you could expect, they offer a great variety of choices for protein, fruits, cereals, breads and cheeses. Also there is A La carte menu for items like the exquisite french toast, I recommend you to try them!
The Spa is the place to go to relax, work out or just to pamper yourself with a fitness, sauna, steam room, swimming pool, tanning bed, massages, etc... Excellent service, super clean premisses.
There is Piano Bar in the hotel, that seems to be the place to go in the evening to enjoy some live music and drinks.

We definitely will be back to Le Royal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 844 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Everything was perfect. Hospitality of a staff. All facilities in the room. Nice lobby bar. Especially when piano player was absent ;-)
All service was absolutely superb.
Just one problem: from your room you can here everything what is going on in the corridor. Even when you don't want to here any noise ourside.
And the hotel location is wonderfull close to everything.
So, good place, nice service, astonishing (from all points) bar collection.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dmitry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed a single night in a traditional room.

The past 10 years I have been coming to Luxembourg once or twice a year, and until 3 years ago I preferred staying at Royal. This week I was returning to Royal, since I attended a seminar at the hotel.

The proximity to the city center, the great service and the breakfast buffet are still the biggest advantages of this hotel. The staff is polite, helpful and professional. The breakfast buffet might not be the largest, but the quality is outstanding. Pancakes, waffles and fried eggs are inclusive, but has to be ordered from the waiter.

Since my last visit, the hotel now offer WIFI. I was able to log-in for free, but I am not sure if that was intended. In any case it worked fine and fast throughout the Hotel. Highly appreciated.

However the hotel seems worm and in need of an update - to some extend maybe a matter of taste, but the sleep comfort is mediocre and I dislike having to stand in the bathtub to take a shower, especially when I can't position the shower head to be above me.
The heavy smoking in the Pianobar was a little overwhelming.

At a discounted rate Le Royal is good, but the list price of 390 EUR is ridiculous.
I am missing the "Good" option as overall rating, but "Average" seemed more unfair than "Very Good".

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ljungskog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Service on the highest level is in my opinion strongest side of Le Royal Luxembourg. Front desc, room service, breakfast, everything was perfect. Location is good, 5 min walk to the city center and shopping streets. The room equipment is complete, meriting was in function, but we were not fascinating with room design. And, as everything else in Luxembourg, hotel is not cheap.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trawellangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is located very close to the retail and historic center, on a rather large road. The rooms are well equipped, but are very common, without any particular charm. Feels like in an Hilton room in the 80s, anywhere in the world (with nevertheless free wifi, something unusual in 5 stars hotel where it is usually overpriced). The staff at front desk is very helpful, quick, nice and efficient. The hotel has a good and varied buffet breakfast. It also has a small in door swimming pool. To sum up: do not expect to be thrilled by the charm of the room, but you will sleep well, eat well and be able to work comfortably.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank angelbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Spent a lovely weekend there with my girlfriend. The hotel is very close to the (very small) city centre. I think the hotel was built in the 70s and hasn't received a thorough update since. The rooms look old, the restaurant looks old, the lobby looks old. Only thing that looks new is the pool/spa area! Service was really good, food as well. Drinks in the bar are really overpriced, but come with a nice atmosphere thanks to the piano.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amsterdam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

The Piano Bar has a nice atmosphere if you are into 70s hotels and is a big comfortable relaxing place, But the cappuccino is just a 6 euro small white coffee, the tea is obnoxious and the hot chocolate was old...plus service was amateurish. We expected much more of a 5 star hotel, probably best to go there for a whisky and a cigar.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.7 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,716 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 50 in Luxembourg City
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#3 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,030 reviews
2.2 mi away
Alvisse Parc Hotel
Alvisse Parc Hotel
#17 of 50 in Luxembourg City
813 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg

Address: 12 Boulevard Royal, Luxembourg City 2449, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#5 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range: $198 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its sophisticated European hospitality and impeccable service, Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg is arguably the only five-star hotel in the heart of Luxembourg and one of the Leading Hotels of the World. Heavy renovation works have just been achieved: 170 renovated rooms, the Piano Bar with a contemporary design enhanced by original lights and music and, the last but not the least, the new restaurant Amélys which proposes a traditional, natural cuisine in magnificent surroundings brightened in the summer by a flowery terrace. Fine dining at La Pomme Cannelle epitomizes culinary excellence, while the Club Santé offers professional spa treatments, a fitness centre and an indoor swimming pool. Golden Key Concierge service, airport shuttle bus, garage parking and a lovely boutique complete the first-class experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Royal Luxembourg City
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing