We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel let down by something simple.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
GreenLeadersSilver level
britain
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel let down by something simple.”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I was in Luxembourg for the weekend and opted to stay in the Doubletree Hilton. The first issue was the fact it was so far out of Luxembourg City and impossible to walk due to the terrain. Taxis were reasonable and the hotel takes you to the airport for free so overall this wasn't to much of an issue. The facilities are great and the staff are very helpful. The stay was excellent but the most annoying thing about the hotel was the fact there was no free wifi in the rooms - only in reception.

Apart from this everything was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hilton-Luxembourg, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and for having taken the time to give us your written feedback. Please let me also thank you for the very positive comments you gave about your stay and the team of the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, I hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you personally very soon at the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and remain,

Yours sincerely,

Mathias Busch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    818
    281
    86
    35
See reviews for
367
761
56
408
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here during a short weekend sightseeing and relaxing trip to Luxembourg. The hotel is in a great location with good views and a forest trail if you fancy a walk or run. It is right at the top of a hill but it's walkable if you're moderately fit, otherwise bus no. 5 runs there regularly, even on a Sunday. Check in was great, we were greeted by a very friendly woman (I think her name was Magdalena) and offered their signature cookie straight away. We were also allowed to check in early and took advantage of the upgrade offer which we thought was very reasonable. As the trip was a birthday treat, we were given a corner room that had great views and the staff even dropped off some macaroons and a lovely note to say happy birthday. We really appreciated that little touch and the macaroons were amazing! The room was clean, spacious and had great views. The shower was superb and the in-room facilities had everything you could need. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was lovely. It was equally good at breakfast the next morning, with plenty to choose from. The waffles are particularly good. :) We didn't use the pool or sauna so we can't comment on them but the gym had good equipment, including a mix of cardio and free weights. There could have been more treadmills, etc but I was the only one in there when I went so that wasn't a problem. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and couldn't recommend this hotel more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rach1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hilton-Luxembourg, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and for having taken the time to give us your written feedback. Please let me also thank you for the very positive comments you gave about your stay and the team of the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, I hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you personally very soon at the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and remain,

Yours sincerely,

Mathias Busch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I was in Luxebbourg for 2 days on business and booked into the Double Tree for reasons of location to my meetings and the airport.
All I can say is the reception staff were helpful, friendly and assisted me with various additional requirements, the restauart staff were the same.
The room was a good size, well furnished any spotless.
There was also a complementary shuttle service to the airport.
The reason I am writing this feedback, it is unusual to find an atmosphere of friendly, relaxed but very efficient service from a chain hotel.
This will be my preffered hotel next time I visit Luxembourg.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiallTNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hilton-Luxembourg, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and for having taken the time to give us your written feedback. Please let me also thank you for the very positive comments you gave about your stay and the staff of the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg.I´m pleased to hear that we will be your prefered hotel during your next stay in Luxembourg.Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to have the pleasure welcoming you personally very soon at the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and remain,

Yours sincerely,

Mathias Busch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were greeted on arrival by very friendly staff and a warm complimentary cookie. The Hotel is immaculate and very comfortable, good size rooms with all the conveniences you could wish for.
The Breakfast was excellent with a very good choice, as long as you were not looking for a full English, they even had smoked Salmon which impressed my wife.
The point of our visit was to have a look around the old town, we walked in to the town which took us about 45minutes at a reasonable pace but we got a Taxi back for about 15 Euros including tip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hilton-Luxembourg, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and for having taken the time to give us your written feedback. Please let me also thank you for the very positive comments you gave about your stay and the team of the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, I hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you personally very soon at the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and remain,

Yours sincerely,

Mathias Busch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel with a friend during our short visit to Luxembourg. We have arrived by train from Germany and the next day we are out flying with Luxair to London City Airport. The hotel is 15 min ride by bus no. 5 from the city center. The building looks like from 80's, but that is just outside, inside it is new refurbished. Hotel has something like 18 floors. We are on 9th floor with a great view towards the forests around. The bus stop is approx 150 m from the hotel. The breakfast was included in our rates which was great a filling. Lots of varieties offered to eat. But I did not like the dining area, I felt a bit crapmed in there. Many people and the tables were very close to each other. Too much noise. In the morning we have used also the swimming pool and sauna. It was good, but one can see that the areas around the pool have its good times past. But still the place is maintained well. Bathrobes and slippers are provided by the hotel. Luxembourg is a great city to visit, very small and very friendly. One great thing is that hotel offers free shuttle to the airport, which is approx. 15 min ride. If I was coming to Luxembourg again, I would not mind staying at this place, but I would probably try another hotel in the city as well to compare.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alespesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hilton-Luxembourg, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and for having taken the time to give us your written feedback. Please let me also thank you for the very positive comments you gave about your stay and the team of the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, I hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you personally very soon at the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and remain,

Yours sincerely,

Mathias Busch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Felt a bit remote on arrival as there is no city view from the hotel so hard to get your bearings. However the drive in to town in the morning was straightforward. Hotel was large and not very inviting from the outside but once inside that all changed. Simply decorated with wonderful front office staff. Rooms were comfortable - good pillows and beds. Room service efficient and the breakfast buffet extensive. The staff spoke many languages and there were many nationalities staying there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hilton-Luxembourg, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and for having taken the time to give us your written feedback. Please let me also thank you for the excellent comments you gave about your stay and the team of the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, I hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you personally very soon at the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and remain,

Yours sincerely,

Mathias Busch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A great offer by Hilton, just outside Luxembourg city, with a great breakfast ! We again enjoyed our stay, and enjoyed great continental breakfast after a good night, to then go shopping downtown Luxembourg !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stef D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hilton-Luxembourg, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and for having taken the time to give us your written feedback. Please let me also thank you for the excellent comments you gave about your stay and the team of the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, I hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you personally very soon at the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and remain,

Yours sincerely,

Mathias Busch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
1.6 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
2.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
2.5 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#5 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
Address: 12 Rue Jean Engling, Luxembourg City 1466, Luxembourg (Formerly Hilton Luxembourg)
Phone Number:
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
#7 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#8 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in a forest setting, with a warm chocolate chip cookie alongside a warm welcome at DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg. Retire from the bustle of the city in a peaceful hotel within 10 minutes of the Kirchberg Quarter and within 15 minutes of the city centre. For guests' convenience, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Luxembourg runs a scheduled shuttle to Luxembourg-Findel International (LUX) Airport and during weekends to the city centre. Modern European cuisine is served at The Green Restaurant & Bar. Choose specialties on the à la carte menu, or pick your own favorites from the buffet. 16 boardrooms and ballrooms, coupled with complimentary on-site parking for 250, makes DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Luxembourg an excellent venue for meetings, briefings and celebrations. Work and work out to your own schedule at this Luxembourg hotel. Maintain your exercise routine with the cardio equipment and weights in the fitness center or in the indoor swimming pool and relax in the sauna afterwards. Highlights •10 minutes from Luxembourg city center and Kirchberg •Fitness center •Restaurant and bar •Business center and meeting space •Complimentary parking and scheduled airport shuttle service •Indoor swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Luxembourg Hotel Luxembourg City
Hilton International Luxembourg City
Hilton Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing