We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this one”
Review of Grand Hotel Cravat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cravat
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed there for one night. Over priced. Alarm bells should've rang when the bedroom door opened in to the corridor and the outside sign wasn't fully illuminated - it says Hotel Grand Cra. Don't even think of checking in if the air conditioning isn't working as being city centre it is noisy so impossible to leave the windows open and the rooms are stuffy so don't expect a good nights sleep. Staff pleasant but clearly used to the "no aircon" complaint as it was water off a ducks back. Very sorry we paid in advance! Nice breakfast.

Room Tip: Check about the air conditioning before booking as the standard line is they don't need it often...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 664 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel is clean and the location is very convenient, right in the city center and close to the main bus stop. But pay attention to the room: some have renewed, some have not and are not so confortable (especilally the bathroom), some can be very noisy. So remember to specify what you want when you make your reservation. I found the price a little bit too high, compared to the services offered: no free wifi, breakfast is quite expensive, I had to ask for a shower cap (is it a strange request) as it was not in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPiaRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in June 2013. We booked a non smoking room but the room we were given stank of cigarettes. When we inquired we were told our room was smoking and that was all that was available. We were given another smoking room that smelt a bit less but still retained a strong smell of cigarettes. The staff were not at all friendly- it was the national day weekend and we were not offered any information or explanation for why there was incredibly loud music until 2am each night. Very noisy location near the centre, bars, cafes etc. Very dated decor, two uncomfortable single beds put together to make a double. Breakfast is fine but overall this hotel seemed overpriced andthere is no way it is 4 stars. Avoid where possible.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate23Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Cravat on my recent business trip to Luxembourg as I was arriving in late (10pm) and only 1 night. I booked this hotel via Late Rooms and was about £85 and you probably get what you pay for.
it is well located in the centre of Luxemburg (although £45 taxi trip from the airport!?) and closer to a 3-star hotel than a 4-star.
It has slightly dated, 1930's decor and the room was also dated - especially the bathroom. it deem seem clean though and the breakfast was good (fresh hams, cheeses etc.) and the staff friendly.
Fine for a short night, at prices under £90, but not above.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel was located very close to the Petrusse Valley, and a moment away from the Place de Guillaume and the tourist information centre. The views from our balcony were lovely and the room itself was large, clean and bright. The Bathroom was very clean and useable, although the bathtub was quite little, the decor was a little out-dated but this wasn't a big deal. All the staff were also super lovely and the rest of the hotel had a lovely atmosphere, including the bar and the fancy old fashioned lift(/elevator). The breakfast was also delicious and there was a good choice of hot food including pancakes, and I also enjoyed a lot of tasty fresh fruit amongst other options.

Downsides of our stay include the lack of milk in the rooms for making tea, the twin single beds pushed together to make a double, and the lack of free wifi (although I heard if you bought a drink at the bar you can get 30minutes for free).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seen-Wai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is very interesting, it looks like it has been there for ages and it keeps a stylish feeling of a hotel for diplomats. Much seems in a need of being refreshed a bit but the room was clean and although the furniture was very old, the bathroom was recently refurbished.
The down side is the internet connection. They make you pay an awful lot of money for an hour connection. If I am on a business trip, I find that very very annoying.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vitoa36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel is NOT a 4 star property. No Air conditioning. Tattered towels. Two twin beds pushed together to make a double. Ratty carpeting in elevator and other common areas.
On the plus side, the Staff was very nice and helpful and the location is great with a wonderful view across the gorge.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,958 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#3 of 49 in Luxembourg City
811 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,098 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cravat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cravat

Address: 29 Boulevard F-D Roosevelt, Luxembourg City 2450, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range: $109 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cravat 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Cravat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Luxembourg City
Grand Hotel Cravat Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing