We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aberdare, Wales
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ideal for travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for a one night stopover.
Room was good size with comfortable bed and a good bathroom. Our only complaint was the carpet. the green carpet had either been bleached or worn out so that the carpet had white/cream patches all over it.
Breakfast was an excellent buffet help yourself with an excellent selection of food.
Good location next to the station and a ten minute walk to the cathedral.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peteroaktree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback.
We are delighted to read that you had a nice stay and enjoyed your visit at the Mercure Alfa Luxembourg Centre Gare.

Let me take the opportunity to inform you about our future: we are finalizing our renovation project to bring a new design with new carpets, and also more comfort in our rooms.

We hope to welcome you again soon, in our new hotel,

Sincerely,

Anne – Sales Team Mercure Alfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    315
    257
    102
    48
See reviews for
109
281
76
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here for one night in August. I was put in a suite, which I'm pretty sure was an upgrade because I did not book a suite. Either way, for the price I paid (~$100 USD), it was an amazing stay. The suite was huge! The main room had a nice desk and couch for watching TV and the bedroom had a bed and a smaller TV. There was in-room air conditioning and a large and comfortable bed.

The property is very clean and they gave good quality toiletries (shampoos, conditioners, body washes, a shower cap, a robe and slipper set, etc.). The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, preferably one that does not face the train station if you're noise-averse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emjokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
Your invaluable comments are very important to us as it is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service.

Rest assured that all our team works every day with one goal, your satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you again soon,

Sincerely,

Anne – Sales Team Mercure Alfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is "old" city but nicely located directly across from the Central Train Station. It is a 15 minute walk to the palace of the duke and duchess. Though August, we stayed at a cool time and unfortunately could not get heat. Our room was about 62-64 degrees F, with no way to control the temperature.

The services were good in general. The only annoyance was that during breakfast we constantly felt like the wait staff was trying to push us out as quickly as possible. You have two choices of rooms, overlooking nothing but the backs of other buildings, or facing the central train and bus depot with the associated noise and activity. It is better if you can get up beyond the 6th floor.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the street or you'll be sorely disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwhiesterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude to you for the time you spent to write a review of the Mercure Alfa Luxembourg Centre Gare.
It is with sincere regret, we note that your stay did not give you entire satisfaction and we offer you our sincere apologies.

We hope that the incident will not deter you from choosing to stay with us soon, as the future promises many changes,

Sincerely,

Anne – Sales Team Mercure Alfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is right on the Place de la Gare and is therefore ideally situated when arriving by train. If you come by car however, the hotel has no car park (and nearby parking lots are expensive - €35 per day). The lobby and restaurant look just like the facade very nice, it has a lot of charm and old grandeur. The rooms themselves are quite worn out and should be refurbished rather sooner then later. They are ok to sleep and shower but don't expect anything more than that - the TV was for instance an old pre-widescreen model.
Breakfast had a big buffet with everything anyone needs (hot stuff, different cornflakes, croissants, toast...). The restaurant has some good food and is even not that expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

May I begin by thanking you for your review on TripAdvisor.
Your invaluable comments are very important to us as they show us the good direction to improve our quality, for your satisfaction.

On behalf of the hotel team, once again we wish to thank you for your help and hope to welcome you in the future to discover our totally new designed hotel as we are finalizing our renovation project,

Sincerely,

Anne – Sales Team Mercure Alfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
203 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I spent a very comfortable night at this hotel. The bed was great, the decoration of the room was nice, the location near the train station is perfect and most of the staff is nice.
Only one member of the staff disappointed me, a guy who drives the shuttle to the airport and can also be found at the reception sometimes. He was very polite with me and the guests, but was very angry with a driver on the street and kept insulting him on a rude way. That's not something you expect from a hotel staff member, even if the problem didn't involve a guest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMetalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us and the Tripadvisor travelers about your recent trip at the Mercure Alfa Luxembourg Centre Gare.
As we are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests, your feedback is a great value to us.

I’m really sorry that your arrival with the shuttle took place into circumstances, which do not reflect the quality we try to maintain every day. I have instructed my front office manager about the incident and be assured that the staff member concerned has been strongly disciplined.

We hope that the incident will not deter you from choosing to stay with us in the future,

Sincerely,

Anne – Sales Team Mercure Alfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here only for one night with Great Railway Journey on our way to Switzerland.
The location is great , just across the main railway station. Our room is ok but we will not choose to stay in this hotel if we had the choice. Anyway, we survived one night so it wasn't that bad.
We were booked on a half board basis and our dinner was ok nothing special the service is good.
Breakfast buffet spread was very good and the waiters were very attentive.
I hope it will be renovated soon .

Room Tip: We had a room facing the station and it was fine. We didn't hear any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback.
We will be proud to welcome you soon in an entire new hotel. In fact, we are finalizing our renovation project and it will bring a totally new design, more comfort and new equipments to our rooms.

Furthermore, we were very pleased to read that you appreciated our breakfast buffet, our great location and our attentive staff.

We hope to welcome you again in the future,

Sincerely,

Anne – Sales Team Mercure Alfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in late July for 4 nights. The hotel was busy both inside and out! The hotel is opposite the railway station which was good for us as we were arriving by train. There is also a bus stop outside the front door and there were lots of people mingling which sometimes meant that it was a bit of a fight to get in or out of the front door. However, the location is very good with a short stroll to the city centre and very convenient for bus and rail travel. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. We had a small but adequate room at the back of the hotel which didn't have a view but was very quiet. It had everything we needed for our stay, toiletries, lots of hot water, comfortable beds etc. Towels were changed daily as were the pillowcases which was very welcome in the hot weather. Our only complaint was that the plug in the sink didn't work and the shower door was a bit stiff. I found it strange that there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. My son, who uses Mercure hotels quite a lot, was given a very large and more luxurious room at the front of the hotel with a massive sized bed and added luxuries such as fluffy white dressing gowns and a bigger range of toiletries, etc. but no tea/coffee. However, I think he had to stand in the wardrobe to get any wi-fi reception! Although we didn't eat in the hotel, the dining area and bars appeared to be well used. I would described the hotel as "tired". It looks impressive from the outside but inside it has seen better days and would certainly benefit from redecoration and new carpets. But I would stay again given its location and convenience for travel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of this hotel are better for a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepsicat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us and the Tripadvisor travelers about your recent trip at the Mercure Alfa Luxembourg Centre Gare. As we are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests, your feedback is a great value to us.

Furthermore, I’m happy to inform you that we are finalizing our renovation project to bring a new design and more comfort in our rooms. In fact, new equipments will be integrated as tea and coffee making facilities and a better wireless internet.

Nevertheless, I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed our good location and our friendly staff.

We hope to welcome you again in the future,

Sincerely,

Anne – Sales Team Mercure Alfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.1 mi away
Hotel Empire
Hotel Empire
#17 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#16 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Luxembourg
City Hotel Luxembourg
#28 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grey
Hotel Grey
#29 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg

Property: Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg
Address: 16 Place de la Gare, Luxembourg City 1616, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the railway station, in the heart of the business and shopping district and close to the historic town centre, with the European institutions nearby. 141 airconditioned rooms with bathtub and shower, telephone, modem, televison and minibar.The hotel also features a restaurant and meeting rooms. Pay WiFi Internet is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Luxembourg City
Accor Luxembourg City
Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing