We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much maligned hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dorset. England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Much maligned hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mercure Grand some years ago just after it had been refurbished and were very pleased with the hotel. Two weeks ago we were back again for one night as first stop on our Great Rail Journeys holiday. Having read the poor reviews over the months we were wondering what to expect. I have to say the hotel, whilst not newly refurbished this time was absolutely fine. We did not see stained carpets as some reviewers claim. Our evening meal, whilst not off the menu as we were part of a group was good. Breakfast was a full hot and cold buffet and was excellent. The reception staff were also good. I have to say that one of the waiters was somewhat surly, but I can live with that!! Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet even though we were at the front overlooking the station and bus terminus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efs_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Good afternoon,

First of all, thank for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Luxembourg Alfa for your recent trip. We appreciate your comments and it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share it with our team and I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement.

Concerning the restaurant, our manager cares about your remark on the service because our ambition is to provide a superior service experience for every customer.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Sales Team Mercure Alfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    313
    257
    101
    47
See reviews for
108
278
76
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

It's location make this hotel a perfect stopover when travelling to and from Luxemburg by train and the welcome was efficient if not warm. The trappings in the room were well beyond their use by date however and the heavy onyx bathroom belonged in a bygone era. Whilst the bed was enormous, the chance of a decent nights sleep in the room which faced the station was reduced greatly by Luxembourg's taxi drivers who work deep into the night and use their car horns liberally throughout.
The restaurant was as gloomy as the bedroom and whilst the service was pleasant, it's speed was not. The food, when it came was unremarkable but pleasant. It's overwhelming quality however was its temperature. The evening main course was quite blisteringly hot!
Overall, the place served its purpose, but it won't linger in the memory.

Room Tip: Check the alternatives before staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milko09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Luxembourg Alfa Centre Gare for your recent trip and also for taking the time to give impression about your stay. Let me express my sincerest apologies because your experience did not meet your expectations.
The most important for us is to provide a superior service experience for every customer so your feedback is a valuable tool.

Concerning the food and service, our manager cares about your remarks and will work with our new Chef to improve the quality.
Also, we inform you that we are actually finalizing our renovation project to bring a new design to our hotel, and we are going to upgrade, on the windows, the soundproofing.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Sales Team Mercure Alfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The service, room (very nice large bathroom for two people), and food were all great. The location is convenient to the railway station. But, the night revellers combined with the hot room meant we could not sleep - we just had to open the doors to the balcony to cool off but it was then very loud with drunks etc. Probably the worst night sleep I've ever had in a hotel - still, that could have been helped with earplugs, which is my fault I left at home. All in all, a e rating from us, though we went to bed thinking it was a 5. Don't stay here if noise is an issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patchcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Good morning,
First of all, thank you for choosing the Mercure Luxembourg Alfa for one of your recent trip and also for taking the time to give impression about your stay.
I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and I do apologize.
Please be sure that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem of the noise in the room.

We are actually finalizing our renovation project to bring a new breath to our hotel, but also, we’re going to work on the windows for a better soundproofing.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns and are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights over Christmas. comfortable but they need to renew the carpets which were stained and worn. They are great believers in filling your lunch and dinner plates with lettece. Some of the dishes were very bland. and the service was slow. I did ask for a change of room, which they did but the carpet was just as bad.

Room Tip: If you book a room at the front of the hotel there is a lot of noise during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vernon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Alfa Luxembourg Centre Gare for your Christmas trip, and for taking the time to tell us your feedback.
First, I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and I do apologize.

Concerning the restaurant, be sure that our manager cares about your remarks and will work with our new Chef to improve the quality of the dishes.
Then, I inform you that we are finalizing our renovation project, and all carpets will be changed for a new design.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night here. Would come back to Luxembourg again but not sure if we would return to this hotel. The hotel is in a good location, easy to get to from the airport.

As you step into the hotel it feels like you have entered a time warp and landed back in 1985. Seriously needs updating. The carpets throughout the corridors and in our room were heavily stained.

Aircon didnt work in our room, a guy came to fix it but failed to do this. We then realised that the window was open and once we closed it the aircon came on. However a wasp could blow more air around the room. So we opened the window again. Most sleepless night spent in a hotel.


Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Good morning,
Thank you for choosing the Mercure Luxembourg Alfa for your recent trip and also for taking the time to give your impression about your stay. Let me express my sincerest apologies because your experience did not meet your expectations.

Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem of the air-conditioning and prevent future occurrence.

Also, we inform you that we are actually finalizing our renovation project to bring a new breath to our hotel with more comfort, modernity and a new design to our rooms.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns and are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luxembourg City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.1 mi away
Hotel Empire
Hotel Empire
#16 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#15 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Luxembourg Centre Gare
Ibis Styles Luxembourg Centre Ga...
#38 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grey
Hotel Grey
#30 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg

Property: Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg
Address: 16 Place de la Gare, Luxembourg City 1616, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the railway station, in the heart of the business and shopping district and close to the historic town centre, with the European institutions nearby. 141 airconditioned rooms with bathtub and shower, telephone, modem, televison and minibar.The hotel also features a restaurant and meeting rooms. Pay WiFi Internet is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Luxembourg City
Accor Luxembourg City
Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing