We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scotland trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Scotland trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

After reading some previous reviews we arrived with low expectations. But we were very pleasantly surprised how good the hotel actually was. It was very central with one of the main bus stations directly opposite (and first class public transport was), the staff were exceptionally friendly (the kilts might have helped as we were there for the Scotland game) and the bar/restaurant was very good, serving bar food right up to 11pm.

The rooms were a bit tatty especially the carpets but they were clean and room noise free even though we overlooked the railway station. Some reviews also complained about the area being seedy but trust us we've stayed ina lot lot worse. There was a street that had some dodgy clubs but we never saw any issues despite coming back to the hotel late on most nights.

We didn't take breakfast but there are some fantastic bread shops with first class cafe areas dotted around the area. It also has some reasonable affordable shopping which is not true once you hit the centre just 10 minute walk over the bridge and see wall to wall designer shops.

Overall a decent hotel and in experience (2 couples).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    315
    257
    102
    48
See reviews for
109
281
76
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is literally 1 block from the train station. The staff was nice and friendly and spoke English. Our room was big and clean. I'm a big fan of the separate shower and toilet. Also, robes and slippers! Classy. The hotel bar and restaurant was great. Everything was closed on sunday, so we sat for hours and had some Irish coffees and Leffe Blondes. The walk to downtown was about 10 - 15 minutes. You have to go over this awesome bridge with a view of the city. It was nice. Great trip, great hotel, would stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed for a week and was a bit disappointed with my room - very small with old (but not stylish old) interior. The vent was really loud and the whole A/C system wasn't straightforward to operate. Even though I am a platinum cardholder, I didn't get an upgrade/gift/etc. The room didn't feel cosy at all. I don't think it is worth the money as you can probably find nicer hotels in the area for the same price. I haven't had a chance to try food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WojciechWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Nice price, great location. Clean rooms with helpful staff. Looked after all my needs. Nice size room as well with great view over station plaza. Very close to bus train and taxis. Coded keys for the room were a bit fiddly and only worked on occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just stayed here for two nights with a friend for a football trip. We arrived in Luxembourg by train so the location is perfect. Right next to the station in Place de la Gare.
Our twin room was pleasant enough and faced out towards the station. The room was clean,always a must,if a little dated. Facilities in the room were flat screen tv with the usual international channels, in room safe,plenty of sockets for chargers,and complementary toiletries. There is a minibar,however it is stupidly expensive (€3.80 for a Twix!) but there is a little supermarket over the road if you want beer or snacks for the room.The price we paid for two nights included breakfast and was a bit of a bargain. The breakfast was a buffet downstairs in the bar,with a huge choice of items from fry up stuff to fruit and cereal etc. The hotel is about ten minutes walk from the old town,and about thirty minutes walk from Stade Josy Barthel if you are going for sport. I would choose this hotel again if travelling for the football.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolaaand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for a week in October. Requested a room far away from elevators by e-mail. Arrived late on a Sunday evening and they had a room for me NEXT TO the elevator! We can change your room but we've upgraded your booking to a bigger room with a king-size bed they said. And those are not available anymore... As I like to sleep in a quiet room I changed anyway. This room was very small, window looking into a patio, a view of zero. Two very small seperate beds. But ok, it was quiet.

Bad: small rooms, simple furniture, old fashion TV with a lot of not working 'snow' channels, expensive rooms for the quality you get, expensive breakfast, no tea/coffee on the room, no own parking, inaccurate reception staff, windows can not be opened completely, no fitness/solarium facilities

Good: location, free wifi, breakfast, restaurant, smoking floor, fridge in rooms

Room Tip: If you want a nice view from your room, and don't mind the traffic noise, ask for a room looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandBNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.1 mi away
Hotel Empire
Hotel Empire
#17 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#16 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Luxembourg
City Hotel Luxembourg
#28 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grey
Hotel Grey
#29 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg

Property: Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg
Address: 16 Place de la Gare, Luxembourg City 1616, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the railway station, in the heart of the business and shopping district and close to the historic town centre, with the European institutions nearby. 141 airconditioned rooms with bathtub and shower, telephone, modem, televison and minibar.The hotel also features a restaurant and meeting rooms. Pay WiFi Internet is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Luxembourg City
Accor Luxembourg City
Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing