We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a nice city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Very clean and sophisticated hotel with good services and excellent restaurant. The fitness center is reasonable and conveniently located.
Transportation is easy and close to the city center.
The city is very clean, safe and nice to visit.
I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe.

We are absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay especially the services, the restaurant, the fitness room and the localization.

Thank you so much for sharing your concerns and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe. It is our hope to offer you a perfect stay and a memorable experience as the previous one.

With my best regards,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 986 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Excellent staff, good food at the hotel's restaurant, nice and clean. A bit disappointed for not having pretty much anything around the hotel - but the center is at five minutes driving , and for having asked to pay for the parking, as at the entrance was something written about the parking being free for customers (maybe I didn't read very well?
Anyways, good quality /price ratio.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank gmoctab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for choosing the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe and for taking the time to write a comment about your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed our staff, our restaurants and the localization; your satisfaction is our best reward.

Regarding your comment about our parking area, we have in fact a panel at the entrance with the cost of the parking.
It is not a free parking because is a safe and secure parking, guarder by staff 24 hours and every day.

Again, we would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comment and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe.

Yours sincerely,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

One night is not enough to judge a hotel but i will try not to provide the pros and cons for first time travelers like me.

Pros:

Excellent staff, very helpful. There was missing body lotion in our room but she took care of it before we are back.

I know people would like to live in and around the city center but this hotel is away from the main attractions of the city. But as plenty of people pointed out, there is a good bus service .So reaching this place from the railway station should not be a problem. Please please don't listen to anyone saying its walkable , its not at all walkable from the station . Take the bus.

I can't comment on the breakfast as it was not included in my rate.

There are really not many cons.

a) Please upgrade Coffee making system. Pullman in Paris provides a nespresso single cup brewer. Shame on you Sofitel lux

b) This hotel is gorgeous as you enter but need an interior design uplift specially the carpet of the room

So if you are getting a deal on this Sofitel, take it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anindyachakraborty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for shared your experience on Tripadvisor and for the kindness of your words.

We are very happy to read that you found our staff “excellent and very helpfull”. Our "Ambassadors" were very touched by your very nice compliments; your satisfaction is our best reward !

We are also so thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and the localisation.

Regarding your comments about the nespresso machine, we would like to advise you that we have coffee machines in some kinds of rooms (Premium Luxury rooms and Suites). For your future stay, please, do not hesitate to precise your preferences at the time of booking. We will be very happy to give you a room with a nespresso machine.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe !

Yours sincerely,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I wish we would have had more time here -- just on our way to France from the states -- but our flight was delayed and we weren't able to make our dinner reservation we had made at the hotel's
Le Stubli. We got there just as it was closing but were able to have a nice glass of wine and some after hours food at another of the hotel's restaurant.

The staff were excellent though and upgraded us to a nicer room, trying to make us feel better after the delay and rerouting of the airline (British Airways).

The next morning we walked into the city (about half an hour's walk from the hotel) and had a brunch. The weather was clear though there had been snow. It was a good walk but there was some construction going around the hotel. I think this would be one of the better hotels for business travelers because of location, but it is close enough to city center to do touristy things as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post this nice review on Trip Advisor about your stay at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe.

We are truly delighted that you appreciated the Hotel’s style and atmosphere.

At Sofitel, our first priority is to make our guests feel comfortable, so it is such a pleasure to read how much you liked our staff and your accommodation.

We are thrilled to read that you would recommend to stay at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe and that you "wish you had more time with us."

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, we remain,

Very truly yours,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Here for about 5 days for business. Room was nice and big but could use an upgrade in terms of design. Nice bed and large washroom. Soft drinks in the room fridge were free. Wifi was a little slow. Tip: Gym has bottles of water available, so I got water from there instead of having to go out and buying some everyday.

The breakfast buffet was decent but pricey. Believe me when I say that there is absolutely nothing around this hotel. It was a 20 - 30 minute walk one way to the office, which had a mall across from it, and a 20 - 30 minute walk the other way towards the town centre.

There is a bus stop right outside the hotel that I used to get to the office, but it can also take you into town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UltimateB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Luxurious and comfortable.
Comfortable and big bed, clean room, nice service. I would come back for sure. Is a littble far from down town, but there are tons of buses pasing by infront of the hote. Secure location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dra_Gabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H1314GM, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback !

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed Easter 2013 and never got around to writing a review.

Very good hotel overall with large, clean, modern rooms. Very friendly reception staff.

Book this with lastminute.com 'top secret hotels' and got a very reasonable rate too.

As other reviewers have said, it is about a 20 minute (very easy) walk outside the city centre (appears to be in the financial district), but there is a bus stop right outside and the buses are very frequent and very cheap. Really easy to get to from the airport too - just get off the bus at the philharmonie and you are right there. Alternatively, there is a Veloh bike station right across the road and cycling around the city is very easy and good fun.

I think it is a hotel for business travellers really, so it was very quite during the Easter holidays in terms of other travellers so they had scheduled some renovation work to the main lobby. This started at 8am every day and was quite noisy. Complained to lastminute.com and got a £40 voucher.

Also, ate in the bar late one night and the food was mediocre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 888Hello888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H1314GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear guest,

We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We were pleased to read your satisfaction about our front desk staff; we always aim at creating a nice atmosphere for our clients as they walk into our hotel. Besides, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed our clean and modern rooms and we would like to thank you for your very nice description of our hotel.

Nevertheless, we are deeply sorry for the problem you encountered with the food at the bar late on night. We assure you that this situation is exceptional and we sincerely apologize for this bad experience.

In addition, we would like to advise you that the renovation of our property is fortunately finished. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and to show you the result of the renovation works !

Best regards,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.2 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#3 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,636 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#2 of 49 in Luxembourg City
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,923 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,083 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Europe

Address: 4 Rue du Fort Niedergruenewald | Quartier européen Nord, Plateau de Kirchberg, Luxembourg City 2226, Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#7 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range: $118 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe is the only 5-star hotel in the new economic and cultural district of the "Plateau de Kirchberg" in Luxembourg. It is in the midst of the European Institutions and the business district, less than 10 minutes from the city center and offers easy access to Findel Airport and the highway system. There is a wide variety of cultural and business venues close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Luxembourg Hotel Luxembourg City
Accor Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing