We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed Easter 2013 and never got around to writing a review.

Very good hotel overall with large, clean, modern rooms. Very friendly reception staff.

Book this with lastminute.com 'top secret hotels' and got a very reasonable rate too.

As other reviewers have said, it is about a 20 minute (very easy) walk outside the city centre (appears to be in the financial district), but there is a bus stop right outside and the buses are very frequent and very cheap. Really easy to get to from the airport too - just get off the bus at the philharmonie and you are right there. Alternatively, there is a Veloh bike station right across the road and cycling around the city is very easy and good fun.

I think it is a hotel for business travellers really, so it was very quite during the Easter holidays in terms of other travellers so they had scheduled some renovation work to the main lobby. This started at 8am every day and was quite noisy. Complained to lastminute.com and got a £40 voucher.

Also, ate in the bar late one night and the food was mediocre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 888Hello888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H1314GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guest,

We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We were pleased to read your satisfaction about our front desk staff; we always aim at creating a nice atmosphere for our clients as they walk into our hotel. Besides, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed our clean and modern rooms and we would like to thank you for your very nice description of our hotel.

Nevertheless, we are deeply sorry for the problem you encountered with the food at the bar late on night. We assure you that this situation is exceptional and we sincerely apologize for this bad experience.

In addition, we would like to advise you that the renovation of our property is fortunately finished. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and to show you the result of the renovation works !

Best regards,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    282
    77
    20
    5
See reviews for
121
376
48
311
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a few issues with lost bags (caused by BA), however the staff could not do enough for us and even managed to provide an alternative room on our second day. Very easy to get into town by bus. Will be back

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H1314GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guest,

We warmly thank you for writing this lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are really pleased that you enjoyed our hotel for the quality of the service. All the staff members were extremely touched by your kind words and thrilled that you were sensitive to the values we believe in : availability, courtesy and professionalism.

Hoping your next stay to be entirely perfect,

Best regards,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

perfect location for anyone having some business with the European Court of Justice. rather high prices but excellent quality. very kind staff. would be perfect if they had free wi-fi connection. recommendable anty way

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Argiris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you had a pleasant time at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe and that you felt welcome in our Luxembourgish city. Besides, our “very kind staffs” were very touched by the kindness of your writings. Nevertheless, we were very surprised to read that for you the wifi was not free. It was probably a misunderstanding because in fact we offer a free wifi access at all our guests in the hotel. We are really sorry for this misunderstanding.

Again, thank you very much for your wonderful review and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe !

Yours sincerely,
Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

After having searched fruitlessly for a hotel room for 5 hours around the Moselle area, my husband and I phoned the Sofitel Luxembourg late on a Saturday evening. From thinking I was going to have to sleep in the car I ended up in pure luxury. The staff couldn't do enough for us, offered us an excellent deal on a suite which was one of their last available rooms and we had excellent food and drink during our stay. The hotel is not in the centre of the city but had secure parking at a charge which we thought reasonable for a major city. The staff are exemplary, the room we had was very comfortable and the hotel was spotless. I am looking forward to having the opportunity to visit Luxembourg under more relaxed circumstances and I will certainly want to stay at the Sofitel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAJH595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

We thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for the kindness of your words. We are very happy to know that you found our hotel “spotless”. We are also thrilled that you enjoyed the comfort in your room and that you appreciated the facilities.
Finally, our staff was very touched that you found the service “exemplary”, your
satisfaction is our best reward!

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe !

Yours sincerely,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I did the 70.3 Ironman and stayed here for the 3 nights - it is about 15 mins from the airport - and about 35 min to the race ( quicker if you dont get lost I am sure). It was really cheap for a great hotel . I am glad I had a car - the public transport is not that great - the raods I found very quiet and easy to get around. Would like to go back and explore a bit more

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe for your last visit and for having taken the time to leave your very positive impression on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel and the beautiful city of Luxembourg.

If you would like to come back and explore a bit more the city, please, do not hesitate to contact Michel Lemoine, our concierge. He will be pleased to suggest you nice activities at affordable prices in Luxembourg.

We hope to see you soon and we wish you a beautiful day.

Best regards,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.2 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#3 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,588 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#2 of 49 in Luxembourg City
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,062 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,876 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Europe

Property: Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Address: 4 Rue du Fort Niedergruenewald | Quartier européen Nord, Plateau de Kirchberg, Luxembourg City 2226, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#7 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe is the only 5-star hotel in the new economic and cultural district of the "Plateau de Kirchberg" in Luxembourg. It is in the midst of the European Institutions and the business district, less than 10 minutes from the city center and offers easy access to Findel Airport and the highway system. There is a wide variety of cultural and business venues close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Luxembourg Hotel Luxembourg City
Accor Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing