We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turned a nightmare into a dream!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 4, 2013

After having searched fruitlessly for a hotel room for 5 hours around the Moselle area, my husband and I phoned the Sofitel Luxembourg late on a Saturday evening. From thinking I was going to have to sleep in the car I ended up in pure luxury. The staff couldn't do enough for us, offered us an excellent deal on a suite which was one of their last available rooms and we had excellent food and drink during our stay. The hotel is not in the centre of the city but had secure parking at a charge which we thought reasonable for a major city. The staff are exemplary, the room we had was very comfortable and the hotel was spotless. I am looking forward to having the opportunity to visit Luxembourg under more relaxed circumstances and I will certainly want to stay at the Sofitel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAJH595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Madam, Sir,

We thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for the kindness of your words. We are very happy to know that you found our hotel “spotless”. We are also thrilled that you enjoyed the comfort in your room and that you appreciated the facilities.
Finally, our staff was very touched that you found the service “exemplary”, your
satisfaction is our best reward!

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe !

Yours sincerely,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 998 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Katie-Rain
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
H1314GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I did the 70.3 Ironman and stayed here for the 3 nights - it is about 15 mins from the airport - and about 35 min to the race ( quicker if you dont get lost I am sure). It was really cheap for a great hotel . I am glad I had a car - the public transport is not that great - the raods I found very quiet and easy to get around. Would like to go back and explore a bit more

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe for your last visit and for having taken the time to leave your very positive impression on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel and the beautiful city of Luxembourg.

If you would like to come back and explore a bit more the city, please, do not hesitate to contact Michel Lemoine, our concierge. He will be pleased to suggest you nice activities at affordable prices in Luxembourg.

We hope to see you soon and we wish you a beautiful day.

Best regards,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here with work and had a comfortable stay. Room large and comfortable, bed and bathroom very good. Luxembourgish restaurant worth a visit and Maitre D' very attentive. Forgot toothbrush, one appeared FOC. Recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We were pleased to read that you had a “comfortable stay” in our hotel. Besides, we are glad that you enjoyed our large rooms, the bathroom and our bedding MyBed which aim at offering a cocoon of sweetness for a peaceful rest. We were also thrilled to read your note about our “Maitre d’hôtel” at the Stubli restaurant, your
satisfaction is our best reward !

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe!

Yours sincerely,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Currently staying at the Sofitel for a conference. The hotel is full and it is a struggle for the staff. Front desk staff are friendly and accommodating but be prepared to carry your luggage to your room - maybe 5 star hotels in Luxembourg don't have porters. You need to call in advance for a taxi which are around 15 euro to the city centre.
After rustling around in a cupboard and not really finding anything useful the concierge directed me to the Tourist Info office in the city for tourist information which I thought any good concierge would provide.
I agree with other reviews that the minibar is dismal - and this is 5 star? . Our bed is uncomfortable - a saggy old mattress covered with a feather mattress topper that doesn't improve things. No turn down service on our first night as "it was a Saturday".
The aircon is not very effective. The bathroom is adequate but be prepared for a lukewarm shower.
There is free wifi but very slow - perhaps it depends on what room you are in
Not looking forward to another 4 nights here.
Perhaps the manager should take note of suggestions and actually do something about them. Instead of welcoming people back again why not improve things for future guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awayfromhome121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am most embarrassed to read your posting on TripAdvisor this morning.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at any time at h1314-gm@sofitel.com

I would appreciate speaking with you myself and I sincerely hope that you will see my response before you leave our hotel.

We sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity of making amends for this less than satisfactory first stay.

Sincerely,

Marie-Hélène Onursal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 3 days combining business with pleasure. Really enjoyed our stay at the hotel - great hotel, we booked the premium deluxe room which was lovely: luxury bed, great amount of space, nespresso machine and designer amenities. The staff have been great - especially front desk and housekeeping who really looked after us during our stay. The hotel also has a small gym. Good location (in business district) within walking distance (20 mins) or short bus ride from city centre with regular bus services. It made me realise why I keep coming back to the Sofitel on my travels whenever possible and was overall good value for money.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the higher rooms - premium delux or above worth the money if within budget. Take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe.

We are absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay especially your "Premium Luxury room", the staff and the location.

Thank you so much for sharing your concerns and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe. It is our hope to offer you a perfect stay and a memorable experience as the previous one.

With my best regards.
Marie-Hélène Onursal

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.2 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,660 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#3 of 49 in Luxembourg City
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,947 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,092 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Europe

Address: 4 Rue du Fort Niedergruenewald | Quartier européen Nord, Plateau de Kirchberg, Luxembourg City 2226, Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#7 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range: $118 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe is the only 5-star hotel in the new economic and cultural district of the "Plateau de Kirchberg" in Luxembourg. It is in the midst of the European Institutions and the business district, less than 10 minutes from the city center and offers easy access to Findel Airport and the highway system. There is a wide variety of cultural and business venues close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Luxembourg Hotel Luxembourg City
Accor Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing