We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious with fabulous atrium” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Luxembourg Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Luxurious with fabulous atrium”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business and really enjoyed it. Great rooms, very spacious, luxurious feel, comfortable bed, free wifi, and a most fabulous breakfast.

I particularly like how all the hotel rooms open onto a huge light atrium - this definitely beats the dark soulless corridors you usually find in hotels. Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Business_girrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guest,

How wonderful to read on TripAdvisor that you have enjoyed your time in Sofitel Luxembourg Europe ! You have indeed left an amazing description of our hotel.

Your comments about the room, the breakfast and the atrium are marvellous and we thank you very much for your wonderful support.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Luxembourg.

Again, thank you very much for your wonderful comment !

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    272
    70
    18
    5
See reviews for
114
350
46
294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times when attending the Court of Justice of the European Union, which is two minutes walk away across the road. The location is uninspiring for romance or holidaying because it is in the business district but ideal for the CJEU. It was only a relatively short drive into the older (and more beautiful) part of the city.
The staff were pleasant and efficient and, in the usual way in Europe these days, spoke English better than my own.
The rooms are arranged around an enclosed central courtyard in which there are four restaurants ranging from the very swanky to the "local" cuisine to bar food. All of them are expensive in the way that business hotels so often are expensive for such things. The rooms are clean, very comfortable, quiet and convenient for last minute work. There is, as I recall it, free wifi.
Since I didnt pay the bill I cannot comment on the value for money - but for convenience and for comfort I rate it very highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank springboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, which is always welcomed in order to make improvements and modifications which would add to guests' comfort and satisfaction.

We will of course closely analyse all points outlined, thank you for taking the time!

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here with a large group and the hotel staff were very accommodating to our wishes.

THe beds were wonderful, nice and firm and good quality linen.

The bathroom was well stocked, and spotless. I always enjoy having my own coffemaker and nespresso is the brand i'd expect to see in such a luxury hotel.

Parking is around the corner and the staff were king enough to reserve spaces for us, which was very nice.

All in all a postive experience that i'd recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsGoldylocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is quite difficult to find the words to thank you for these wonderful and generous comments and for sharing your experience with all of us on Tripadvisor.

Indeed, our entire team does the utmost to take excellent care of all our guests and we aim to make every stay an unforgettable experience.
We are thrilled that you and your group enjoyed staying with us and we are all truly thankful for your feed-back. It was such a pleasure to welcome you at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe and to share these moments with you!

Hopefully we will have many more occasions to welcome you; we are definitively looking forward to the next time!

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel is not too far from the airport and is just across the road from the General Court of Europe which was really handy for us as we had a trade mark case to attend. The hotel staff were very welcoming and the room we stayed in was lovely and clean. The bar and restaurants were good and we went for a drink before dinner, but unfortunately when we were ready to eat were told that the restaurant was closing early. It's a shame nobody told us that when we checked in late afternoon, as we would have gone to dinner earlier. We ended up having to eat at the bar, which wasn't ideal. The breakfast was good and checkout ran very smoothly and all the staff were great. Just wish they had told us about the restaurant closing early.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessiegb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your last visit at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe.

Your very kind words concerning our hotel are very much appreciated!

Nevertheless, we were deeply sorry to read that your last experience has not been entirely in keeping with your expectations, because the restaurant was closing early. We apologize for not having informed you at the time of check in.

In any case, do not hesitate to let us know should you chose to plan a future visit, and we will do our utmost to reverse the impressions you had during your recent visit.

With my best regards,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have spent 4 nights in this hotel where we had a wonderful time. We've been welcomed really well, we were able to check in two hours earlier, which was very convenient for us. The room was literally huge, had all the facilities that one would need and was extremely clean. The highlight of the room were the beds, which had a two-layered mattress, leading to an extremely comfortable sleep. Fresh flowers in the lavatory were part of the unexpected but great experience at Sofitel, along with the free parking, free high speed internet and the fantastic French cuisine oriented breakfast. Thank you Hotel Sofitel Europe Luxembourg!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sorinache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with your stay at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe and that you enjoyed our services!

Thank you very much for your nice comments; this is a great source of motivation

We truly hope to see you back soon in Luxembourg !

Your sincerely,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
200 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Located in the European Quarter, 5 mins by bus from Grand Place or a 15 min walk. Amazing 5* hotel with exceptional customer service. Free wi-if throughout. Our suite was fabulous, so spacious, an amazing bathroom with Lanvin toiletries, sumptuous bathrobes and slippers. The bed was huge and had lots of pillows. Plasma tv, safe, wardrobes, desk and chair plus 2 easy chairs. The atrium was a great open space complete with water feature. The glass fronted lifts at one end looked out onto the open space below.
Breakfast was expensive (€25). Car parking included in the room rate.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghShoegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words and compliments. We are delighted to learn that your stay was enjoyable.

We hope welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe.

With our best regards,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

From the arrival till departure yoy are taken care of as you expect from a 5*, quality is consistent in the attitude and friendliness of staff, quality of restaurant food, breakfast. Rooms are bright and spacious and well equiped and WIFI is fast!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JorgeEnriqueInMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for leaving these very nice comments on TripAdvisor!

Our goal is indeed to make every guest feel special and important and I am thrilled that your experience far exceeded your expectations.

I will certainly not fail to convey your remarks to my team.

We all are looking forward to welcome you back to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe soon!

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
1.0 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Europe

Property: Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Address: 4 Rue du Fort Niedergruenewald | Quartier européen Nord, Plateau de Kirchberg, Luxembourg City 2226, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#7 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe is the only 5-star hotel in the new economic and cultural district of the "Plateau de Kirchberg" in Luxembourg. It is in the midst of the European Institutions and the business district, less than 10 minutes from the city center and offers easy access to Findel Airport and the highway system. There is a wide variety of cultural and business venues close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Luxembourg Hotel Luxembourg City
Accor Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing