We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic in the winter, just great in the summer...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic in the winter, just great in the summer...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed in the Sofitel beginning of June. All the good things that I read here are true:
- clean spacious rooms
- great Atrium
- great food, great room service
- fantastic breakfast (but expensive @25€ pp)

Negative:
- A walk to the city centre is about 25 minutes (but really easy). This might sound like a short walk but LX is a really hilly place... So coming back to the hotel can be painfull.
- the fitness room is rather small (but has a nice view)
- no options to have a drink on the terrace (everything is indoors) which is not a problem in winter time, but is definately a negative point in the summer.

conclusion: Fantastic in the winter, just great in the summer...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goveno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for this wonderful comment on Tripadvisor.

Your compliments are very much appreciated.
I would like advise you that we are currently thinking about a terrace project…

Again, thank you very much for your Magnifique feedback.
We hope to welcome you again very soon at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe.

Sincerely,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    274
    70
    19
    5
See reviews for
116
351
46
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I wish to congratulate the whole Sofitel team for their proficiency. The room was pristine and spacious; the facilities are excellent and the breakfast is second-to-none in the Luxembourg.
We even got upgraded and we managed to be granted a late check-out. I will definitely stay there again and recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slowstarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us !
Our team constantly strives to achieve very high standards of quality and they will be thrilled to learn that you enjoyed their services.

The entire team of the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe is looking forward to your next visit!

Your sincerely,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Convenient location - walking distance to town centre. Located virtually opposite to the Luxembourg Philharmonique concert hall. Also Within 20 minutes of the airport
Very friendly and attentive reception
Very welcoming entrance (with scented candles in reception)
Atrium is very spacious and tastefully set-up with a rock garden and again with scented candles
Good clean rooms. Efficient laundry service. Separate clothes pressing service available
Quick and efficient check-in and check-out
Good bar
Excellent breakfast spread with very attentive staff.
One can get along very well in Luxembourg if you are fluent in French

Room Tip: Ask specifically for rooms away from the street. One wing is opposite the main street so if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scalfern57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read that you have been satisfied with our hotel and our services.

Your description of our hotel is simply wonderful and I will not miss to share them with the entire team.

Thank you for the courtesy of sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we are very much looking forward to welcome you back to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe !

Your sincerely,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have stayed about 25 times now......and it's a great place. From the reception desk, where they are all so keen to help, to housekeeping and the Italian Restaurant..I can really recommend it if you are in Luxembourg.

The drawback is that it's not close to the centre of Luxembourg, so it's a trip in to the City....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parkeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Customer,

First of all I would like to thank you personally for your loyalty and your extremely positive comment on Tripadvisor!
Our regular customers are very important to us and we are delighted to read that you are so satisfied.

We stay at your entire disposition for any future stays!

We hope to see you soon with pleasure!

Sincerely yours,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very very well located. Only 15' from the airport and away from the rush I the city. Away but not out of the city. Only 1 bridge to cross... I had really good memories there and came with my family as the staff was incredible. Very helpful, with an amazing sense of hospitality. This is exactly what I was looking for. Thanks again for the good time spent with you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceob1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave this wonderful comment on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe.

What a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us! Your enthusiasm for our team is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation. I will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to them.

We are very much looking forward to your next visit to Luxembourg !

Sincerely yours,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed there with my parents only for one day and just got back. The location of the hotel is not ideal if you feel the atmosphere of the city, however it is not that much far from the city, You can take a bus which runs every 10 minutes near the hotel (2 euros p.p.) or take a taxi around 10-15 euros. The entrance, lobby and some parts of the hotel seemed get refurbished recently and has not been completed yet, But the rooms are very outdated, the rooms quickly need refurbishment and the amenities should be changed, We were upgraded as they said but our rooms which had a parking area view had also smoke odour that we recognized as soon as we got into room. We were told that minibar is free of charge but there were only four soft drinks and was not refilled afterwards, But the lady (i took her card to give a reference here) at the reception desk, Ms. Zampa was so helpful and polite. She explained everything what we asked and we were very impressed when she told us that we could call her anytime if we needed during the time while we'd moved around the city center, To sum up. next time I could choose this hotel thanks to her attitude ignoring the location and obsoleteness of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samuel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you and your family to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe and thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor !

It is very important for our team to personalize every stay as much as possible and to make sure you feel like at home. We are thrilled that we managed to achieve our goal!

Thank you as well for your very nice remarks concerning Jeanne Zampa, our Guest Relation Manager, this will be such a great motivation for her !

Jeanne Zampa and all my team are very much looking forward to your next visit to Luxembourg !

Sincerely yours,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

The service was good at the reception desk, but I was not very impressed by the level of comfort of the rooms. The location is not ideal. Breakfast is a bit expensive for what you get, and the staff there seems to be more interested in chatting than in serving the client.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Franck141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your impressions of your stay at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services at the reception desk.

But it is with great regret we read that your stay was not to your expectations. We were very concerned regarding your comments about the level of comfort and the design of the rooms.

Moreover I am very concerned by your remarks regarding the attitude of my team at the breakfast area. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, they will help us to improve our quality to the level you would expect from our hotel.

We appreciate your sharing and I hope that you accept to come back to us by email and are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. We would like to show you that this was unique situation and that at Sofitel we strive to provide the best service experience for every customer.

Sincerely,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.9 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Europe

Property: Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Address: 4 Rue du Fort Niedergruenewald | Quartier européen Nord, Plateau de Kirchberg, Luxembourg City 2226, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#7 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe is the only 5-star hotel in the new economic and cultural district of the "Plateau de Kirchberg" in Luxembourg. It is in the midst of the European Institutions and the business district, less than 10 minutes from the city center and offers easy access to Findel Airport and the highway system. There is a wide variety of cultural and business venues close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Luxembourg Hotel Luxembourg City
Accor Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing