We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for business/ leisure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Value for business/ leisure”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Convenient location - walking distance to town centre. Located virtually opposite to the Luxembourg Philharmonique concert hall. Also Within 20 minutes of the airport
Very friendly and attentive reception
Very welcoming entrance (with scented candles in reception)
Atrium is very spacious and tastefully set-up with a rock garden and again with scented candles
Good clean rooms. Efficient laundry service. Separate clothes pressing service available
Quick and efficient check-in and check-out
Good bar
Excellent breakfast spread with very attentive staff.
One can get along very well in Luxembourg if you are fluent in French

Room Tip: Ask specifically for rooms away from the street. One wing is opposite the main street so if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scalfern57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read that you have been satisfied with our hotel and our services.

Your description of our hotel is simply wonderful and I will not miss to share them with the entire team.

Thank you for the courtesy of sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we are very much looking forward to welcome you back to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe !

Your sincerely,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    279
    73
    20
    5
See reviews for
118
362
47
306
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have stayed about 25 times now......and it's a great place. From the reception desk, where they are all so keen to help, to housekeeping and the Italian Restaurant..I can really recommend it if you are in Luxembourg.

The drawback is that it's not close to the centre of Luxembourg, so it's a trip in to the City....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parkeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Customer,

First of all I would like to thank you personally for your loyalty and your extremely positive comment on Tripadvisor!
Our regular customers are very important to us and we are delighted to read that you are so satisfied.

We stay at your entire disposition for any future stays!

We hope to see you soon with pleasure!

Sincerely yours,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very very well located. Only 15' from the airport and away from the rush I the city. Away but not out of the city. Only 1 bridge to cross... I had really good memories there and came with my family as the staff was incredible. Very helpful, with an amazing sense of hospitality. This is exactly what I was looking for. Thanks again for the good time spent with you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceob1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave this wonderful comment on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe.

What a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us! Your enthusiasm for our team is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation. I will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to them.

We are very much looking forward to your next visit to Luxembourg !

Sincerely yours,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed there with my parents only for one day and just got back. The location of the hotel is not ideal if you feel the atmosphere of the city, however it is not that much far from the city, You can take a bus which runs every 10 minutes near the hotel (2 euros p.p.) or take a taxi around 10-15 euros. The entrance, lobby and some parts of the hotel seemed get refurbished recently and has not been completed yet, But the rooms are very outdated, the rooms quickly need refurbishment and the amenities should be changed, We were upgraded as they said but our rooms which had a parking area view had also smoke odour that we recognized as soon as we got into room. We were told that minibar is free of charge but there were only four soft drinks and was not refilled afterwards, But the lady (i took her card to give a reference here) at the reception desk, Ms. Zampa was so helpful and polite. She explained everything what we asked and we were very impressed when she told us that we could call her anytime if we needed during the time while we'd moved around the city center, To sum up. next time I could choose this hotel thanks to her attitude ignoring the location and obsoleteness of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samuel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you and your family to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe and thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor !

It is very important for our team to personalize every stay as much as possible and to make sure you feel like at home. We are thrilled that we managed to achieve our goal!

Thank you as well for your very nice remarks concerning Jeanne Zampa, our Guest Relation Manager, this will be such a great motivation for her !

Jeanne Zampa and all my team are very much looking forward to your next visit to Luxembourg !

Sincerely yours,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The service was good at the reception desk, but I was not very impressed by the level of comfort of the rooms. The location is not ideal. Breakfast is a bit expensive for what you get, and the staff there seems to be more interested in chatting than in serving the client.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Franck141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your impressions of your stay at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services at the reception desk.

But it is with great regret we read that your stay was not to your expectations. We were very concerned regarding your comments about the level of comfort and the design of the rooms.

Moreover I am very concerned by your remarks regarding the attitude of my team at the breakfast area. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, they will help us to improve our quality to the level you would expect from our hotel.

We appreciate your sharing and I hope that you accept to come back to us by email and are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. We would like to show you that this was unique situation and that at Sofitel we strive to provide the best service experience for every customer.

Sincerely,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

From the moment we walked through the door, we were made to feel special - excellent and attentive service from all the staff. The hotel is beautifully appointed and has a luxurious feel to it. It is not in the central 'tourist area', but it has parking, which was important to us, and a short taxi ride took us into the centre of town. The only minor complaint was that we weren't told on check-in that the Restaurant Stubli - serving local Luxembourg dishes that we wanted to try - was closed that night (a Friday) and we discovered only when we later asked if we needed a reservation. However, we enjoyed our light meal in the bar - again excellent service - and the breakfast buffet in the morning was the best we have seen in a very long time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JanDScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear guest,

What a pleasure to receive your nice comment on your recent stay with us !

Thank you very much for your wonderful description of Sofitel Luxembourg Europe.
My team and I feel very proud to have given you a warm and friendly experience and to have created this "home away from home".

Regarding your “only minor complaint”, please accept my sincere apologies.
The information about our opening times of restaurants would be provided to you by my team at the time of booking. I have already taken appropriate measures to ensure that the inconvenience does not happen again.

We already look forward to welcoming you back to it in a not too distant future.

Again, thank you very much for your wonderful reviews !

With best regards,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

It is a very nice hotel and his stuff was very friendly to us, at all times. We got a very nice room and very comfortable. We had dinner at the restaurant Oro & Argento and must say that everything was delicious and my rissoto was perfectly cooked! I asked for a glass of red wine because my boyfriend does not drink that much, normally when you ask in some places the wine is not that wow, the just give you the wine of the house. Here the sommelier gave me an amazing glass of wine and this matched what I ordered with my food. Next day we had breakfast and this was very nice (a continental breakfast) and it was delicious. Everything was nice and clean. I am a very satiesfied customer and i totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelintje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave this wonderful and detailed comment on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe.

What a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us! Your enthusiasm for our restaurant team and specially our sommelier is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation. I will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to them.

We are very much looking forward to your next visit to Luxembourg !

Sincerely yours,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.2 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,538 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#3 of 51 in Luxembourg City
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,806 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,027 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Europe

Property: Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Address: 4 Rue du Fort Niedergruenewald | Quartier européen Nord, Plateau de Kirchberg, Luxembourg City 2226, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#7 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe is the only 5-star hotel in the new economic and cultural district of the "Plateau de Kirchberg" in Luxembourg. It is in the midst of the European Institutions and the business district, less than 10 minutes from the city center and offers easy access to Findel Airport and the highway system. There is a wide variety of cultural and business venues close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Luxembourg Hotel Luxembourg City
Accor Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing