We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Business in Kirchberg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for Business in Kirchberg”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The rooms are large and well equiped. The beds are very comfortable. The staff at the front desk, bar and restaurant are friendly and helpful. There isn't much of anything near the hotel except for office buildings, as far as I could tell. Nonetheless, the staff and room won me over and I will stay again when I return to Luxembourg on business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank dltravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this praising review !
We are all glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you again in a near future !

Your sincerely,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    278
    73
    20
    5
See reviews for
118
362
46
305
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I've stayed at the 'other' Sofitel in Luxembourg on a number of occasiosn, which I've always found to be excellent, which I guess increased the level of disappointment this time around. Some of the issues here may seem minor, but when considered in aggregation they make for a disappointing trip. That's not to say there aren't plus points here, but when considering the price paid it's hard to give more than a three * rating ( 2.5 would have been preferable )

Pros first; big room, convenient location ( for conferences in the area ), free wi-fi throughout, very nice staff.
Negatives; the worst minibar I've ever seen in a top end hotel - four soft drinks, that was it. No alcohol, no food - more akin to a 2* hotel.
Air conditioning took forever to bring the room temperature down. Without the fan on full it was pretty ineffectual.
Noise - non existent soundproofing meant noise from everything from the lift, to the next door guests, to the service rooms, to people in the atrium, all filtered up to the room, and made for a decidely below average nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent experience at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe!
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while with us and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience of the lack of service you received.

Your comment is extremely important to us and we would love to get in touch with you at your disposal to further discuss your visit.

We hope to have the pleasure of speaking with you soon.

Kindest Regards,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Sofitel Luxemburg remains my favorite hotel in Europe.The building is amazing, the rooms are spacious, bedding is top class and basic beverages in the fridge are free.
The bar is located in the huge atrium and next to all drinks also serves excellent snacks at reasonable prices. Try the hamburger...second to none.
The breakfast provides all you can expect, hot and cold dishes and every item is fresh and ingredients are of high quality.
Was slithly disappointed not to have my favorite room on the fifth floor, but this floor is under renovation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for this extremely kind review ! We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us to the point you think it was your favorite hotel in Europe! We all look forward to welcoming you back at home.

Thank's again !

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was my first time in the Sofitel Luxembourg and I'm pleased to say I had an excellent stay.

First impressions are good and the staff were extremely friendly and this friendliness extended to the numerous cleaners who would always say "bonjour" Rooms are a good size, beds are excellent and the wifi worked really well.

We ate in two of the restaurants and both meals were excellent. With regards location it is perfect for the conference centre, however it is a little way from the centre so expect to pay out for taxis. However if it is comfort mixed with a little luxury then definitely worth staying

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wombledavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for this extremely kind review ! We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us to the point you think it was your favorite hotel in Luxembourg !

We greatly appreciate your kind review and will not fail to share them with all our staff members.

We all look forward to welcoming you back at home !

Sincerely yours,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was on a business trip to Luxembourg and stayed at this hotel for close to a week. The property appears to have not been upgraded for quite sometime. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and they more than compensated for all the other inconveniences faced during the stay. The rooms are reasonably large however, the gym is very very small and cannot accommodate more than 5 to 6 people at a time. I had breakfast for 4 days and there was absolutely no change in the menu and specially for vegetarians there was very limited choice. Also the service levels was very average and nothing much to speak about. I have stayed with Sofitel chain on quite a few occasions however, this stay did not meet my expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is with great concern that we received your comments concerning your recent visit to the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe and we regret that this experience did not reflect your past experiences in others Sofitel.

Above all, we assure you that our main priority is to fully satisfy all your needs and to offer a quality of service that is impeccable.

We will of course closely analyse all the points outlined, thank you for taking the time!

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly upon your next stay in Luxembourg, I would love to have the pleasure to welcome you again and definitely meet with you.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed in March 2013 for one night on business. Hotel is a bit soulless but perfectly acceptable with very nice rooms and comfortable beds and desk. TV is not great with numerous channels but only news in English. Bathrooms are large although no separate shower which would have been better. Couple of restaurants in the hotel which is good. Fitness centre is very small with limited equipment. Lucky for me at 6am was empty but could have easily been busy. Staff friendly and helpful. Overall a perfectly good stay for one night. Not sure I would have wanted to stay any longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, which is always welcomed in order to make improvements and modifications which would add to guests' comfort and satisfaction.

We will of course closely analyse all the points outlined, thank you for taking the time!

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

great Hotel very nice staff .. and one of the best every beds i have ever slept in.
However work going on the 5th floor which no one mentioned when booking .. it was TERRIBLE .. the noise level was staggering. (yes not after 5 in afternoon) But could not work in Hotel during the afternoon and morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank supakinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMH1314, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Europe, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your last visit at the Sofitel Luxembourg Europe.

Your words concerning our Staff and our bed are very appreciated!

Nevertheless, we were deeply sorry to read that your last experience has not been entirely in keeping with your expectations, and that you had to face a terrible noise during the day ! We apologize for not having informed you at the time of booking

In any case, do not hesitate to let us know should you chose to plan a future visit, and we will do our utmost to reverse the impressions you had during your recent visit.

Best regards,

Jean-Philippe Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.2 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,533 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#3 of 51 in Luxembourg City
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,801 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,026 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Europe

Property: Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Address: 4 Rue du Fort Niedergruenewald | Quartier européen Nord, Plateau de Kirchberg, Luxembourg City 2226, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#7 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe is the only 5-star hotel in the new economic and cultural district of the "Plateau de Kirchberg" in Luxembourg. It is in the midst of the European Institutions and the business district, less than 10 minutes from the city center and offers easy access to Findel Airport and the highway system. There is a wide variety of cultural and business venues close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Luxembourg Hotel Luxembourg City
Accor Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing