We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxembourg Eimaischen”

City Sightseeing Luxembourg
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.01*
and up
City Sightseeing Luxembourg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #4 of 11 Tours in Luxembourg City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Luxembourg City from the top of our open-top double-decker buses. We invite you to experience the beautiful sights of our city. Hop-On Hop-Off at any City Sightseeing stop.
Denver
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Luxembourg Eimaischen”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Every Easter Monday Luxembourg celebrates the Eimaischen and selling of whistling birds.
I just took in my first one here in Luxembourg and it was fun to see all the different types of
ceramic birds. Some are very ornate to just the plain ones. Many are sold with a string so
the kids can put them around their neck. I think the festival is also like a giant flea market too.
Many other things for sale as well as the birds and lots of tables full of old dishware or collectible
things. One can always get some good pastries and a mettwurst mit brotchen..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank milehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    79
    44
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

A beautiful small city, a great place for a short 2 or 3 night break. If you have not been before I recommend the city tour bus that gives you commentary of all the sights & you can hop on & off. The main feature of the city is the magnificent grund which is like a gorge, you can take a little tourist train tour into it, which is good or you can walk.
In the city centre there is the Place d' Armes where there is lots of cafe, bars, restaurants where you can sit & watch the world go by, from here there are lots of fabulous shops or walk to the palace & watch the changing of the guards.
The buses all go from the main station & if you have time you can take bus to Mondorf & Remich which is on the Mosel river where there is boat trips.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank denisehills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
169 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A must visit City”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

A very charming place, can be toured in a day or 2. I suggest arrive by train at the central station, and take a hop on hop off bus parked just outside the train station, just to get a birds eye view of this beautiful world heritage site. Return to the train station and start walking back to the city center... The best sites and shopping are just walking distance away. Walk around the cliffs, valleys, casements, and old walls that literally make up this charming city.

Helpful?
4 Thank doc8reg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadera, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“small city-great access to 3 countries!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

we visited luxembourg city october 2012,small but nice city,very polite and helpful people.

it's usually not considered a typical touristic site,but we discovered that the proximity to both germany,france and belgium,makes it a wonderful place to visit.one day we traveled to germany to saarbrucken,not far from luxembourg(about 1 hour drive)-this place has the most beautiful gardens-than another 30 km and you are in zweibrucken,a perfect outlet for high fashion designers for very good prices.the next day we traveled to france,to Metz and Nancy.both cities worth visiting-in metz you have the new Pompidou museum,and Nancy is a beautiful city with old city and wonderful restaurants and cafes.so i definitely recommend to travel to luxembourg,and enjoy more countries at the same time!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hanitam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“LuxCity”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

There are indeed nice places to see, but although most of the country speaks a Germanic type language and German, the city thinks it is a suburb of Paris ... with worse pricing, little service, and little value for money. The Grund and Clausen are good fun, unless you need a night of pretentiousness, then you need to go to one of the smoky, expensive pubs.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Americanhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Luxembourg also viewed

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to City Sightseeing Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing