We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite 5 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

The hotel room was superb but the lack of any complimentary water and a Hotel Bar that you could not use, as it was constantly filled with general passing public, meant the Hotel should have no more than a 4 star rating.
Apart from the young "concierge" most of the staff were "stand off-ish" and not customer focused.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kingcol55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck L, Directeur général at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear guests,


thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel rooms.
Unfortunately, you have not been entirely satified with our lobby bar and our staff.
We have well noted your comments and will discuss them with our team,

We very much hope tto welcome you again in the future and apologize for any inconveniences,

with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Le Place d'Armes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 324 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

A full blog post with lots of photos of the hotel as well as Luxembourg at my food and travel blog, Thyme, at rileymadel(at)yahoo(dot)com.

Truly, a perfect spot for being right in the middle of Luxembourg City's attractions. The Saturday Flea Market takes place directly in front of the hotel. Many restaurants line the square offering variety from the hotel restaurants. The buffet in the hotel was delicious and I can't think of what it did NOT include. The room was cozy, comfortable, and very quiet. The staff at the front desk were a little young and inexperienced but they tried hard to pull everything together.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahofThyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck L, Directeur général at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Sarah,


Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Luxembourg.

Our team always strives for perfection, so to read your kind words is very much appreciated by all employees.

We would also like to thank you for publishing the beautiful pictures of Luxembourg and our hotel on your website.
We would love to link this article to our facebook and internet page. Do you mind?

We would be most glad to have you visit us again soon.

With best regards,

Kristine Noll
Front Desk & Reservations Manager
fo@hotel-leplacedarmes.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We recently spent a few relaxing days at Le Place d'Armes. This is a great place to stay, an excellent location right in the heart of the old city of Luxembourg and handy to restaurants, shopping, and key places to see around the city. It is also only a short taxi ride from the Railway Station. Like a recent reviewer, we were there over the weekend but, unlike him, our experience was of very efficient staff who did a great job. The room we had, on the top floor, was charming and very well appointed - we wanted for nothing. It was delightful staying here, and I would recommend Le Place d'Armes to anyone visiting Luxembourg.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrMac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck L, Gérant at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Mr Mac,


Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted and proud to hear that we met all your expectations.

Our team always strives for perfection, so to read your kind words is very much appreciated by all employees.


We would be most glad to have you visit us again soon.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I've been toying about whether to give this three of four stars. Five stars for room décor - spotless, beautifully designed and comfortable but three stars for sound insulation as we could hear our neighbours flushing the toilet and coughing. Also it is fantastic five star central local but our room looked out over the square and it was really noisy. The Christmas Market was on but that closes around 1030 on Friday and Saturday nights so wasn't a problem but people walking home between midnight and about 2am made a lot of noise and then the bins were collected and the square cleaned around 5am! Rooms at the back could be a lot quieter though. It was the staff who made me decide on three stars overall. The girl who checked us in was efficient and charming but the girl who checked us out bordered on rude and wasn't efficient at all. She said she would book us a taxi to the airport but when we came back to pick up our bags and the taxi, she was no longer there, it took them a while to find where she had put the bags and no one knew whether she had booked a taxi or not and it seemed to take an age for anyone to find out if she had or not. She hadn't. The other staff we dealt with also varied enormously and I feel that a hotel of this calibre should really be able to guarantee a consistently excellent level of service. Might be worth mentioning we were there over a weekend so perhaps the service is better during the working week.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cartslang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck L, Gérant at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us.

Whilst we are very pleased to note that you enjoyed our location and the quality of our furnishings as well as the efficient check in, we are most concerned to read of your disappointments with our team upon check out.

Making guests feel welcome, delivering consistent and caring service and being available to our guests at all times are amongst the core values of Le Place d’Armes.
Your experience contradicts most of our guests regular comments, who feel the welcoming of our staff is our very strong point.

Most of our employees are part of our company since many years, and all of them take great pride in their work.

We very much hope that we can yet encourage you to stay with us again so we can put your above concerns to rest.

Please accept our sincere apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stopped off here on the way back from the Alps. The staff were very very helpful and found us an amazing room. Room 12. This has a small terrace (for you know what) and was delightfully spacious and beautifully decorated. Superb breakfast. Connected to the hotel is a great cafe with a heated outdoor terrace. The hotel will valet park your car... and yes you can drive right up the pedestrianised areas to the hotel.
I would not stay anywhere else in Luxembourg.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewCrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck L, Gérant at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Mr Crown,

it is a true pleasure to read your lovely comment on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time at Le Place d'Armes and hope to welcome you again soon!

with kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My fiance and I travelled to Luxembourg for a short city break. The hotel is well situated in the heart of the city centre and everything is within walking distance of the hotel.

The hotel is a boutique hotel so nice and quirky. This is a not a hotel really for those with cars, Public transport very good and cheap and it is expensive to park your car. The staff were friendly and service was good. We stayed in a delux room on the top floor which was great. It was a comfortable room with a king size bed with a hugh bath and great rain shower. Only complaint about the room would be the lack of any tea or coffee making facilities which meant you had to order expensive room service or go out and get it- which is easliy done as ther are a number of coffee shops a 2 minute work from the hotel.

The breakfast was not very good and very expensive for what you got! I would suggest going to the numerous venues around the hotel.They have a bar and dinner facilities attached to the hotel at cafe De Paris which was ok but would be better if the hotel had their own bar.

Great hotel for a short stay but with a little work this hotel could be great.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 32 at the top floor which was quiet and out of the way from the busy streets. Ask...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GREENO_THAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck L, Gérant at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear guests,


Thank you for feedback.

It is a pleasure to hear that you were overall satisfied with your stay.

We always try to make our guest arrival as smooth as possible, the location of the hotel,as you mentioned, in the heart of the city center , can be difficult of access.

Our valets’ team is here to assist you.

Note that water kettles are available upon request, so you can enjoy a hot coffee or tea at any time in your room.


We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon and remain

with kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Long waited trip to Luxembourg, arrived at the hotel i the afternoon on rainy day, slow check in, new staff to show us our room but hotel is based on an old building and even she does not know where our room is. Finally, she finds, but we want to change it since it is too dark... Alternative room is better though architecturally setting is not efficient. No bell-boy to carry luggage since he has not arrived yet, I try to remain calm. The room is ok in size but bathroom is in the middle and made out of glass, leaving no room for privacy since covered with see-through curtains only.After these, all went well, the receptionist gentleman was extremely helpful for some details I asked. Breakfast is extra, we try the second day but were not satisfied. Near by very good breakfast alternatives are available. Hotel is very very central. All is in walking distance.

Room Tip: If privacy is important for you, check your room first if it has glass bathroom.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Murat-Rudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck L, Directeur général at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Murat-Rudy

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Luxembourg and have well taken your remarks into consideration.

We are putting much effort in the training of our staff and apologize if the person who checked you in did not have the necessary experience.

Indeed, she has toured you through three different rooms upon arrival in order to find a room that corresponds to your likes. As you already mentioned in your comment, all of our rooms are individually styled and have different layouts, some with a cube bathroom in the middle of the room, others with beamed ceilings and a view to the Grand rue, and others with original wooden floors or balconies.

We would also like to apologize that the bellboy was not present during your arrival. We understand how upsetting this can be after a long travel. The reception staff has therefore offered their help and assisted you with your suitcases.

A special thanks for your kind words to our receptionist François Gilles, who assisted you with restaurant recommendations and information about the city and directions.

We hope to welcome you back soon and invite you to contact us by email before your next booking, in order to mention your personal preferences regarding the room.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#2 of 49 in Luxembourg City
780 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.7 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#3 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Cravat
Grand Hotel Cravat
#11 of 49 in Luxembourg City
634 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,077 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 18 Place d'Armes | Grand Duché de Luxembourg, Luxembourg City 1136, Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#11 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range: $229 - $758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes is situated in the heart of Luxembourg City, 300 metres from Notre-Dame Catherdral and the Palast. This boutique hotel features elegant Art Deco, Baroque and contemporary décor, a 24-hour reception and free Wi-Fi.All of the rooms at Le Place d'Armes are equipped with a flat-screen cable TV. Each room also includes a marble-floored bathroom and most rooms boast original features.La Cristallerie restaurant serves modern high class cuisine in a formal setting. The Brasserie Plëss is a traditional, casual restaurant with a waste menu.Guests can enjoy a range of finger foods and drinks including cocktails, champagne at Café de Paris, bistro Bar. 24-hour room service is available.Luxembourg Railway Station is 1.5 km from the hotel.The airport a 10 minute taxi drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place D'Armes Hotel Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing