We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Place d'Armes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at 8 hotels on a recent trip through Europe, and this was our favorite. Everything was excellent. The staff was attentive and friendly. The room gorgeously decorated with a perfect mix of traditional with some antiques and an amazing wood-beamed ceiling. The hotel is in fabulous location within walking distance to all the sights, shopping and restaurants. I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank su432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck L, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Su,

Firstly we would like to express our gratitude for the time taken the time to evaluate our hotel.

We are proud to have made it to the top of your list!

Indeed, our 28 rooms are all different and individually decorated. Baroque, Art Deco, wood-beamed ceilings, terraces... we have something for every taste.

The hotel and its entire staff would be captivated to welcome you to Luxembourg once again and that you can perhaps include some undiscovered areas to your next itinerary.

with warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    63
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
163
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was a lovely place to close out our vacation. Though the property is on the main square, it was very quiet. Perhaps this was our room [#35] which we recommend. The room was charming. The staff was excellent. Loved the bed. Clean and wonderful amenities.

Room Tip: we loved #35
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck L, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your wonderful comment.

We are truly very pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you also for your kind words about our service which is a real source of motivation for us.

We hope to welcome you back soon!


kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
197 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice, personnel is friendly and helpful but it lacks completely the aspects of other family run Relais et Chateaux. As we were with family, we had 4 suites and 2 executive rooms ...but no one got an explanation of how things worked in each room...apparently you had to ask reception if you want some warmth in the bathroom...beds are hard and the cushions are not of quality. You can also find that this hotel is understaffed with only 2 persons at reception (of which one who may not touch the computer because he does not have the codes)...arriving by car is also a bit strange because you have to drive in shopping streets where cars are very scarce and not allowed and you get not only angry looks but some aggressive shouting to from people shopping and walking. Same thing arriving on the place d'armes when it is full of people. Breakfast is good but nothing to write home about, there are better breakfasts in Luxembourg City. All in all, nice hotel to look at, interior is well done, but that does not make it a feel good environment. Location, location, ...but that alone does not make you happy? Mixed feelings, mixed appreciation

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuni07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck L, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the hotel Le Place d’Armes.
My team and I are very sorry to hear that you have not been entirely satisfied with our services and product.
We are constantly striving to improve and have discussed the problems you have encountered.
We certainly hope that you will give us a second chance to welcome you back in Luxembourg.

with kind regards


Dear Travelers,

Please be assured, that all our bedding and linen are purchased at “De Witte Lietaer » and of very high quality.

We have individual heating and air conditioning in each room. The reception can assist you to change the temperature from a computer at the Front Desk for your comfort.

We have 2 employees per shift at the reception of our 28 rooms hotel, one receptionist and a bellboy.
The bellboy does not have access to our computer system and guest database.

Arriving at our hotel can be difficult when you don’t know the area. We encourage our guests to consult the access map and explanation that are send before arrival.


We are looking forward to welcoming you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a very nice one night stay in this hotel last month when we were on our way to France. As the hotel is in a pedestrian area we parked our car in the car park underneath the bus station, near the post office. The first sublevel directly above the parking garage seems to be a closed down shopping mall with no longer functioning lifts, it was a bit creepy.
The hotel is about 100 metres away. Very friendly and professional staff at reception. Not the same can be said of the waiting staff at the hotel terrace. It isn't often that I walk away, but since the waiter wouldn't take our order we had to leave and have a drink somewhere else.
The hotel is in a number of old buildings which have been restored and the round staircase and beams can be seen, this is really nice. Our room (21) overlooked a patio and so was very quiet at night. The wc is separate, but the bathroom with marble and a rain shower is inside the room. The decorations, curtains, etc have soft colours and are of high quality. The bed is a bit narrow (140 cm?) but very comfortable.
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as Paul across the square serves good breakfast at 6,60 euros.
Nice hotel, well located in the city centre, recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck L, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Sandra,
Thank you for your generous and constructive feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel “Le Place d’Armes”.
We are very pleased to hear that you have appreciated our hotel services.
Did you know that we provide a private underground parking garage with valet service for our guests?
Whilst our hotel is situated in the pedestrian area, we dispose of an authorization which allows our guests to drive up to the hotel entrance.
We suggest you to try one of our 32m2 Deluxe rooms during your next stay. They dispose of King or Twin Size mattresses. The bathroom disposes of a bathtub with integrated rain shower.
In any case, don’t hesitate to contact us directly for your next booking and let us know your preferences. It will be our pleasure to assist you.
Be assured, that we are taking your comments about your restaurant experience very serious and have informed the Maitre d’hôtel.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Le Place D' Armes

We recently spent two nights in Luxembourg city at Le Place D' Armes with my wife and daughter and enjoyed the hotel very much. It had many positive features and Ill discuss what I felt was its main features below featuring on it's location, service, uniqueness, and amenities. If you have the opportunity to stay in the hotel you will not be disappointed.

First, the location. It would be hard to find a better location in Luxembourg City. With frontage on the square and limited car traffic it's as close to a 100% location as possible in Luxembourg City. Should you like pubic transportation the bus stop is but a short walk, the train station 5 minutes by bus or car and your right in the midst of all the shops and amenities of the old city.

The service of the hotel was terrific. Any request or question we had the staff was only to happy to address. Housekeeping was terrific and any time of day or night room service would address your needs. All in all A+.

The hotel was a former castle. It's former use creates a footprint totally different than most hotels. The property is on many levels and there's lots stairs and changes in elevation, but its worth it. It's hard to describe the uniqueness, but its real and special.

Last, the amenities. Being in the heart of Luxembourg city is amenity #1. In the midst of wonderful shops, restaurants and what is unique to Luxembourg. The two nights we stayed there; Friday and Saturday there was a band and other performers right across from the property. Amazing. I could go on and on, but suffice it to say that it's all there.

The property is a can't miss hotel. Take the opportunity to stay there if you have a chance and you will not be Dissapointed.




Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jakester20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck L, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share this beautiful feedback about "Le Place d'Armes" with other travelers.

We are constantly striving for perfection and are proud to offer our guests Luxembourg's best location, the most exclusive design, 5* service and amenities as well as a wide choice of restaurants, from Bistro Bar to Gourmet Temple.

We are looking forward to sharing your rewarding comments with our team and hope to elcome you and your family back soon.


with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great location right in the center of town, on the square, short walk to everything.
Friendly staff (not something we've found everywhere in Lux).
We learned about lait-russe - local version of cafe latte at breakfast.
The old building has been renovated and modernized - best wifi service in Europe so far (individual WAP per room, no passwords required). Great bathroom. Windows (in dormers) that open to let in fresh air. Comfortable bed.

You can drive up through the pedestrian-only area, unload, and the staff will valet the car in the nearby parking garage. Quite an adventure. Google maps has the right location, and the nearest approach is from the bus station (although that's moving next year, apparently).

There is some construction on the square outside in 2013 through mid 2014. During our stay, it was a little noisy (with the windows open) in the morning, but all wrapped up and gone home by early afternoon.

There was live music in the square each evening. Seemed routine, not a special event. Quiet by 9:30pm during out stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NeilHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck L, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Neil,


Thank you for your great comments.

Our main mission is to exceed our guests expectations, to anticipate their needs and to create memories.
Your words are a true reward for our work, and we are pleased to hear that you have fully enjoyed your time at "Le Place d' Armes".

For your next booking, don't hesitate to reserve directly with the front desk and mention a special request for a room towards the courtyard. These are our most quiet rooms.

with kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

The other reviewers are correct - the service is incredible here. No request is too small and they are sincerely willing to do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable. The location is great - right on the main square, but the inside is just tranquil. You are close enough to the action, but you don't have to hear it. The hotel wasn't exactly what we were expecting, it was better than expected. I had assumed it would be a large, grand dowager. Instead, it is small, intimate, quiet, exclusive. It is a series of houses that have been lovingly restored and linked together. Since we were staying only one night, I just booked a basic room, but it was what I would have chosen myself if I had been given a choice - soothing colors, high wood ceilings, sky lights, plenty of plug ins. We had lunch and late night dessert at the restaurant and the waiter who waited on us was so charming and delightful.

The only downside is that there is no fitness center - unless you consider one old stair master to be a fitness center. Since the weather was nice, I just went for a run, instead, but if the weather was bad, getting a work out in would be a problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattletravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck L, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Greetings to Seattle!

Thank you for confirming our positive reviews on Tripadvisor.

We are proud to have exceeded your high expectations and very pleased to hear your superb compliments about our staff. This is a real source of motivation and the best reward for us.
Each comment of our guests is very important to us and helps us to continually improve our offers and services.

We have well noted your comments about our fitness corner and we will discuss ways to improve this service for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.7 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.2 mi away
Parc Beaux-Arts Hotel Luxembourg
Parc Beaux-Arts Hotel Luxembourg
#19 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Cravat
Grand Hotel Cravat
#11 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Le Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 18 Place d'Armes | Grand Duché de Luxembourg, Luxembourg City 1136, Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#11 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes is situated in the heart of Luxembourg City, 300 metres from Notre-Dame Catherdral and the Palast. This boutique hotel features elegant Art Deco, Baroque and contemporary décor, a 24-hour reception and free Wi-Fi.All of the rooms at Le Place d'Armes are equipped with a flat-screen cable TV. Each room also includes a marble-floored bathroom and most rooms boast original features.La Cristallerie restaurant serves modern high class cuisine in a formal setting. The Brasserie Plëss is a traditional, casual restaurant with a waste menu.Guests can enjoy a range of finger foods and drinks including cocktails, champagne at Café de Paris, bistro Bar. 24-hour room service is available.Luxembourg Railway Station is 1.5 km from the hotel.The airport a 10 minute taxi drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place D'Armes Hotel Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing