We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient base to sightsee Luxembourg City”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Reviewed January 8, 2011

A budget hotel that was easy to locate. Great location that is close to Luxembourg Gare Centrale (main train station) and walking distance to places of interest such as the Casemates, Notre Dame Cathedral, Place d'Armes and Palais Grand Ducal. Unfortunately, the elevators were not working and we had to climb the stairs to our room on the 4th floor. A little noisy as we could hear traffic and noise from the street. But I suppose this is expected since the hotel is right in the city centre. Generally clean. The room was basic but actually quite roomy with a sink provided. Could be more comfortable if the mattress was firm enough. No issues with the bathroom sharing - probably not many staying at our floor at the time. Breakfast was simple but had adequate choice of bread, jams, ham, apples, cereals, yogurt with tea/coffee/juice. I will definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

Tip - It's cheaper to purchase mineral/drinking water from the store at Gare Centrale, than the Chinese supermarket across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lunarJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 218 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2010

No frills but good value in Lux city where hotels are expensive in general. Especially the location is good, very close to the train station and only a short walk from the main attractions as well. The hotel is tidy but the interior is quite dated and worn-looking. We were happy to stay on 4th floor as we noticed an incovenient smell on 2nd and 3rd floors. The breakfast was OK although we missed fruits and vegetables.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TakeOff_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This place was horrible! Could not use the shower bc of black, smelly mold. Every time someone's door slammed shut (constantly throughout the night), my headboard shook - sleep was impossible. Hallways smelled like a chemistry lab, lobby smelled like a wet ashtray. Reception did not even have a map of the city. So, so bad.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldlynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

1. Was the hotel close to things (e.g. transport, attractions, restaurants)?
The hotel is in the new part of town, whereas all the interesting things to see and restaurants are in the old part of town which is a good 30 or 40min walk away. The Hop On / Hop Off bus goes very close to the hotel however. Main train station very close by.

2. Was the hotel in a safe area?
Seemed to be in a red light district, if not just a very grungy area.

3. Was there much noise at night?
Our room was on the first floor facing the street, so there was a bit of noise from patrons in the cafe below, which went on til early morning.

4. What was the quality and cleanliness of the hotel furniture and fittings like (e.g. bed, lock-up safe, shower)?
Very basic furniture that looked a bit worn, although comfortable, clean and functional.

5. Do the hotel staff provide a good service (e.g. competence, attitude, availability)?
It might have been a problem with translation, but we couldn't get our shutters to work on the first night. I asked staff to swap our room because we had street and neon lights lighting our room at night, but they said they had nothing else available. However, they didn't come up to check out the problem either, until the next morning, when a simple resolution was found.

6. What were the hotel amenities like (e.g. breakfast, restaurant, pool, bar, car parking)?
Breakfast spread was quite good. Secure car parking available for a small fee across the road.

7. Did the room come with extras (e.g. minibar, TV, internet, air-con, tea making facility)?
TV available in room, with satellite channels.

8. Other / general comments:
This place was very basic and looked shabby, although it was comfortable. I'd try somewhere different if possible, as i am sure there is better value out there, and in better city position.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

The location was close to the main train station> which was what we wanted- but it was only probably 10-15 mins walk to the town centre. The bed was comfy, though the sink can get flooded at times and they used a strange room fragant... it was good budget hotel. Our hotel rate included breakfast- which was good for the price we paid. There was only 1 toilet and 1 shower room on our floor, but since our floor didn't seem to have many people, this was not a problem. The main negative thing would be the tiny tiny elevator- but at least there IS an elevator! Staff was very kind and helpful- would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

I stayed at this hotel on 2 seperate occasions. Breakfast is included. There were on going improvements to the facilities. For a couple of nights the hotel is ideal to explore Luxembourg or transit to Belgium/Germany.

POSITIVES

Friendly staff. Continental breakfasts. Ideal location - short walk from the main railway station. Bus routes to the city are on your door step. Some of the rooms are bigger - bizarrely I was in a room on the second occasion - room 101 without en suite, yet the room was massive. Clean.


NEGATIVES

Again, on going works - albeit to improve the hotel. Small lift. Perhaps a make over required on furnishings........

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WELSHYPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Located only 200 m from the central station Hbf (or priority) and reasonable priced. In such areas there are a few "red light activities", but the streets seemed pretty safe to us and the hotel had a 24h security service. No traffic noice. All rooms were newly redecorated, basic furniture but good beds and a clean bathroom. Our main concern, howevers, was the lack of fire emergency exits: Only the main, narrow staircase was available and the back yard was closed by other buildings. When adressing this to the manager, the answere was: "Remeber this is a historic building! We are working with fire ladders from the windows to fullfill local regulations...". So if safety is your concern, choose another hotel!

5 minutes walk to Place de Paris with cozy restaurants and 15 min to the old town centre. Most Bus lines starts from the central station. If you have a day extra, take line 175 to the city of Remisch (40 min) in the Mosel Valley for river cruice and vine tasting!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halvor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0 mi away
Ibis Styles Luxembourg Centre Gare
Ibis Styles Luxembourg Centre Ga...
#33 of 50 in Luxembourg City
959 reviews
4.6 mi away
NH Luxembourg
NH Luxembourg
#19 of 50 in Luxembourg City
756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Chatelet
Hotel Le Chatelet
#34 of 50 in Luxembourg City
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Molitor
Hotel Central Molitor
#31 of 50 in Luxembourg City
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Gaglioti
Auberge Gaglioti
#45 of 50 in Luxembourg City
38 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Victor Hugo
Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Vi...
#14 of 50 in Luxembourg City
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: 11 Rue de Strasbourg, Luxembourg City 2561, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range: $91 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bristol 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing