We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sort of good, but a bit quirky”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sort of good, but a bit quirky”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is in Luxembourg's "not so nice" neighbourhood near the trainstation, which can come across as a bit dodgy in the evening. In the end though, it's well connected and only a 10 minute walk from the centre (about 25 to Rives de Clausen).
It's not bad all in all, but has a couple of details that can put you off. In our room on the 4th floor, I couldn't stand up in some places *('m 1,88 m) and there was a night light next to the bed with a cable that couldn't be plugged in anywhere to turn it on. Finally the toilet was installed in such a way that the seat and cover couldn't stay up by themselves and you just had to sit down with the cover resting on your back... That might be a downturn for hygiene-attentive people.
Since it's one of the cheapest places around Luxemburg, I'm going to say it's not that bad.
Friendly staff, reception open 24hrs and you get a coupon for a free welcome drink at the bar next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    63
    88
    25
    9
See reviews for
17
86
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel is located very close to Luxembourg Gare station (Luxembourg main station) and takes only a couple of minutes by walk. It is also possible to walk to the city center from the hotel which takes about 10-15 minutes. The guy(staff) at the reception was very friendly. He provided us with a city map & also suggested some of the important sightseeing places. We booked a double room with private bathroom. The rooms were small & pretty basic with not much furnishing but it was clean throughout the stay. There is free WIFI throughout the hotel and to our surprise the speed was pretty fast. The breakfast was included in the price and it was good. We could not hear any noise from the lobby(corridor) and adjacent rooms at night and therefore could sleep peacefully.

Our stay and overall experience was well worth the money considering the fact that other hotels in Luxembourg are quite expensive. If you are a curry fan :), then there is Taj Mahal Indian restaurant just across the street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We really like the location of this hotel, very close to the railway station, supermarkets and restaurants. We found a very good restaurant nearby too. However we were disappointed by the room, it is too old. Maybe they should renovate the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a no-frills hotel but it offers more than an average 2 stars one. The rooms show some signs of wear and tear but are warm, clean and practically arranged, my bed was very comfortable. As in the majority of such hotels the walls are thin so you hear your neighbors leaving or entering their rooms, but all that ceased around 23:00 and I haven't heard a sound for the entire night. Breakfast was good. Staff is friendly and forthcoming, I booked a small single room, but they gave me a bigger one, just because they had one available. Wifi worked well.
The only thing I missed was an indication in the room on how to reach the reception by phone. There was also no shelf or anything in the shower to put the shower gel/shampoo.
Overall, very good choice for short stays, close to central station and buses going in all directions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Hotel Bristol is situated a five minute walk away from GARE CENTRAL - the City Train Station.
The majority of AFFORDABLE Hotels are in the GARE AREA.
It is also very close to the BUS and COACH stations - Gare Routiere.
The breakfast was substantial BUT NOTHING cooked.
Cereal, Cheese, Ham. Yogurt, Fruit Juice, Tea & coffee.
Toast, Bread rolls & jams and APPLES.
THE ONLY DISSAPOINTING THING ABOUT THE HOTEL WAS THE CONSTANT STALE SMELL OF CIGARETTE SMOKE, as it seems this City is the smoking capital of the world , with NO obvious restrictions. Mature Couple

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PellisLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location is perfect, just a few minutes from Gare Central. The wi-fi didn't work, the remote controler was out of order. If you are not a internet and tv addict - good choice;-) If you want to have natural yoghurt for breakfast - ask the staff.


  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank IzabelaLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Hotels are rather pricy in Luxembourg, but this was a good value if you're not looking for luxury. We had a double with en suite and it was large by European standards.
Pros: large room, good fast & free wi-fi, very close to the train station.
Cons: tired decor in need of some freshening up, rooms are very basic with no frills.

Overall, good for a one not stay but not much more

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ccf4980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Luxembourg Centre Gare
Ibis Styles Luxembourg Centre Ga...
#35 of 49 in Luxembourg City
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Empire
Hotel Empire
#17 of 49 in Luxembourg City
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grey
Hotel Grey
#27 of 49 in Luxembourg City
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Chatelet
Hotel Le Chatelet
#31 of 49 in Luxembourg City
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#16 of 49 in Luxembourg City
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Hotel Luxembourg
City Hotel Luxembourg
#30 of 49 in Luxembourg City
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: 11 Rue de Strasbourg, Luxembourg City 2561, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bristol 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing