We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate if you don't need much”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Adequate if you don't need much”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

First--it is very reasonably priced, in comparison to other options in Luxembourg City. A couple other places can rival or beat the price but they are much further out of town and require a car or public transportation, while you can walk to the high and low cities from the Bristol. So if price and location are important, this place meets the bill, as it did for me.

Now, the hallways did have a strange smell--they overdid the deodorant spray. Might bother some people. And when I opened the room, it smelled a bit of wet dog. Just enough to be noticeable. Opened the window and it eventually cleared up, or I got used to it. But the linens were clean so no issue. Shared bathroom and shower no issue--they were clean enough and there was never a line.

Room on the fourth floor had no balcony, but did have sink in the room. Also had a wooden beam in the center of the room, perfect for doing pullups or hanging yourself. TV was small, old and I didn't figure out how to do satellite channels if they had them. There was an instruction sheet next to the TV referencing two remotes and a satellite receiver, but only found one remote and therefore only got local channels. Not an issue for me.

The lift was small, but enough for two with light luggage, might need two trips if you have a lot of bags.

Didn't eat the breakfast so can't comment. The parking was directly across the street from the reception. Had to go in and ask the receptionist to open the garage door to enter. On leaving, the receptionist must also open a door to let you in to the lift, then you let yourself out by pressing a button near the exit. Cost was 13 euros/day, and was no problem leaving the car there until 4 p.m., after checkout.

The wif-fi is only available at the reception, which isn't really a lobby. There is a bench there that feels more like the reception of a jail than a hotel so not really suitable for surfing. However, there is a "bistrot" next door that is also owned by the hotel and you can sit there and surf, either ordering a coffee or drink or telling them you are a guest at the hotel and you don't have to order. The bistrot is quite a bit more grotty than the hotel--perhaps a few low but harmless characters, but with bad body odor and plenty of cigarettes. Seems like one of the only places I've seen recently where you can smoke indoors.

Now, the walk to the high and low cities is north from the hotel and might take 10 minutes or so. The walk is along a shopping street and fairly safe in the day time and probably weeknight evenings. However, be aware that some of the side streets (one in particular) have clubs and bars that seem to attract a low crowd, and the traffic of these types to and from the clubs spills out onto the shopping street. Late night strolls back to the hotel should either be avoided, or you must use caution and keep your wits. Not recommended for single female travelers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ukaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    62
    86
    25
    9
See reviews for
17
83
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

If I start on the positives the breakfast was excellent and exceeded my expectations (which at that point weren't very high) and the location was good but the hotel was a bit grotty and my bedroom was tired (I'm being generous) with some of the oldest furniture I've seen in hotel room. Had I not paid 75€ for the room and read on the hotel website the hotel had just been renovated I may have been generous and rated this as average but I was expecting slightly better.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavieCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luxembourg City hotels

Samara, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This spring we spent a few glorious days in Luxembourg. We lived at the hotel Bristol.
Bristol is a very nice hotel, located near the train station (5 minutes walk), which is very convenient for visiting tourists. You can easily walk by foot to the magnificent bridge Adolf and after it - historic city center only for 15-20 minutes.
Our room was very spacious with French balcony, which gave the room a special charm.
The hotel staff speaks on all languages - English, French, German, Russian, and Italian, always ready to help every visitor.
I think for the guests it is important to note the following: 24 hour reception, breakfast "buffet", parking, free Wi-Fi, there are rooms for smokers and nonsmokers.
Budget accommodation is in a nice place like Hotel Bristol, has added even more pleasant experiences that emerged from our visit to the city of Luxembourg.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chernova_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Located near central station. Calm, the room was with shared bathroom, but there was a sink in the room, it is good. I travelled with my mom, so double room was not very convinient for us. Breakfast was surved in the building nearby, but it was very good. The stuff was polite, we could leave our luggage in the small room near small reception.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saulejanusonyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

A budget hotel that was easy to locate. Great location that is close to Luxembourg Gare Centrale (main train station) and walking distance to places of interest such as the Casemates, Notre Dame Cathedral, Place d'Armes and Palais Grand Ducal. Unfortunately, the elevators were not working and we had to climb the stairs to our room on the 4th floor. A little noisy as we could hear traffic and noise from the street. But I suppose this is expected since the hotel is right in the city centre. Generally clean. The room was basic but actually quite roomy with a sink provided. Could be more comfortable if the mattress was firm enough. No issues with the bathroom sharing - probably not many staying at our floor at the time. Breakfast was simple but had adequate choice of bread, jams, ham, apples, cereals, yogurt with tea/coffee/juice. I will definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

Tip - It's cheaper to purchase mineral/drinking water from the store at Gare Centrale, than the Chinese supermarket across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lunarJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

No frills but good value in Lux city where hotels are expensive in general. Especially the location is good, very close to the train station and only a short walk from the main attractions as well. The hotel is tidy but the interior is quite dated and worn-looking. We were happy to stay on 4th floor as we noticed an incovenient smell on 2nd and 3rd floors. The breakfast was OK although we missed fruits and vegetables.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TakeOff_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This place was horrible! Could not use the shower bc of black, smelly mold. Every time someone's door slammed shut (constantly throughout the night), my headboard shook - sleep was impossible. Hallways smelled like a chemistry lab, lobby smelled like a wet ashtray. Reception did not even have a map of the city. So, so bad.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldlynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Luxembourg Centre Gare
Ibis Styles Luxembourg Centre Ga...
#37 of 49 in Luxembourg City
893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Empire
Hotel Empire
#17 of 49 in Luxembourg City
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grey
Hotel Grey
#26 of 49 in Luxembourg City
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Chatelet
Hotel Le Chatelet
#34 of 49 in Luxembourg City
255 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Hotel Luxembourg
City Hotel Luxembourg
#30 of 49 in Luxembourg City
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Gaglioti
Auberge Gaglioti
#43 of 49 in Luxembourg City
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: 11 Rue de Strasbourg, Luxembourg City 2561, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bristol 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing