We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for business travelers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Luxembourg
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Frankfurt/Main
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good location for business travelers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is of course more a hotel for business travelers but at the same time it is very well located for people who want to make a stop over in Lux. The way to the inner city is a € 5 trip by taxi or a 20 min walking distance. The rooms are quiet, clean and spacious. The only thing I didn't like is the breakfast area. It is spacious but uncomfortable. Also the seats at the bar look designed but are very unfortunate to sit at. At the end it is good value for the money.
My summary: For one or two nights I always would always recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Quiet location, I guess all rooms are OK from this point of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Front Office & Guest Experience Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear TomDanger,

Thank you kindly for your review on tripadvisor and your sharing with the community. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, although the breakfast area and our bar seats are not too comfortable for you. You may be assured that we are taking your feedback into closer consideration and we thank you for your critics as it helps us, to get better.

Your description about the nearby local transportation and the way down town are perfect for other travellers finding the location of our hotel.
We are proud to read that you are recommending our hotel and we hope to welcome you soon back with us. Please accept my best regards,

Mario KOMANN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    495
    76
    8
    6
See reviews for
177
534
78
506
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

such a cool location and connected to history. just walking the hotel grounds are a history lesson. very nice patios to sit outside and enjoy the weather. close to everything (5 min cab ride). i would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nartx84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Front Office & Guest Experience Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for sharing your nice comments and compliments about our hotel on tripadvisor in regards to your recent stay at the Meliá Hotel Luxembourg.
Your feedback is very important to us, as it helps us to improve our services and standards.
Your title "surrounded by history" fits perfectly to our location and gives a nice idea for other guests of our hotel.

Dear, we are looking forward welcoming you back to the Meliá Luxembourg.
Please accept my best regards,

Mario KOMANN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The Melia Luxembourg is a wonderful hotel, real Melia Experience, value for money and time! The staff was excellent, friendly and helpful. The room is spacious and very good equipped, you have everything you need. The design of the hotel is amazing, you can see the personal and professional touch everywhere with high attention to details.
I will go back for sure and I recommend it to everybody who's going to Luxembourg!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaYotova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Front Office & Guest Experience Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on your Melia Experience in our property here in Luxembourg. We are honoured to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are recommending our hotel to other travellers. Your comments about our service and the rooms are highly appreciated, but moreover we are delighted to read your compliments on our staff as we are taking pride in our staff and it is them, creating this excellent experience you liked so much.
Your comments will be definitely shared within our team. Thank you.

We would really appreciated welcoming you back with us for another stay. Please accept my best regards,
Mario KOMANN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Despite the very functional surroundings, this hotel offers the business traveler a pleasantly calm and subdued atmosphere as well as a friendly and professional welcome. I was particularly taken by the wonderful smell of new carpeting, although that can't last forever! The room was spacious and bright, and the prospect of an uninterrupted night's sleep ( fulfilled of course) added to the success of my brief sojourn in Luxembourg. Can't comment on the breakfast, I'm afraid, as I didn't partake on this occasion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Front Office & Guest Experience Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Bika S,

Thank you kindly for your good feedback on tripadvisor and your sharing. We are delighted to read, that we could meet all your expectations in terms of a business stay.
Your compliments on our friendly and professional welcome as well on our rooms are highly appreciated. Thank you.

We really hope to welcome you back with us, so that you can try out our superb breakfast buffet to have the full benefit and scope on what our hotel offers.
Best regards,

Mario KOMANN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stopped here while traveling through Luxembourg on the way home from Germany.

Good hotel very clean, rooms great and service of a high standard. The welcome was very professional and the rooms were ultra modern. No complaints other than:

Bad points -
Location - it is not near anything other than offices, do not expect to be able to walk to another bar or restaurant. They are at least 30 minutes away.

Bar - over priced an beer served from a very very small keg (5 litres) behind the bar.

Not very easy to find it is hidden away and we spent 30 minutes driving around before we found it.

Good point
Breakfast was amazing - food was very nice and the choice was exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Front Office & Guest Experience Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear James B,

First of all, we would like to wish you and your family a wonderful new year of 2013 in which we would be delighted to welcome you back with us for another "stop by".
Thank you kindly for your review on tripadvisor and your compliments about our clean hotel and the professional welcome. Your comments about our amazing breakfast are highly appreciated.
As it comes to you comment about the location of the hotel: a bus stop is directly nearby and the city centre is about +/- 15 minutes walking distances. Approximately 100m away from the hotel, by the Philharmony - the concert hall - and aside in the new conference centre, two restaurants are directly situated. Please ask our front desk staff. They are delighted to help you
- as well with difficulties finding the hotel. Just a telephone call and we will indicate you the best way to us.
Regarding your comments about our bar, we may assure you that we will take those into closer consideration with our F&B Manager.

Thank you very much and please accept my best regards,
Mario KOMANN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great hotel to spend a few days. It is in Kirchberg area (where most offices are), not very close to center (30 min walking or 10-15 min by bus), but the upper floors have a view over the Filarmonics building which is spectacular and the EU buildings. Very clean, very nice stuff, very nice rooms with huge comfortable beds. Good and plenty variaty for breakfast.
Rates are much more attractive during weekends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Front Office & Guest Experience Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Elena O,

Thank you very much for your nice review and kind compliments about our hotel, its rooms and breakfast and our staff. Especially those comments about our staff makes us very proud. Thank you for that.
We would be delighted to welcome you back with us for another stay at our Melia Hotel Luxembourg. Please accept my best regards,

Mario KOMANN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very comfortable, clean rooms, comfortable, good location, bit of a walk into the city centre but not too bad, lovely breakfast, wide variety of food. Fitness centre was good also. Liked this hotel alot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracey-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Front Office Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Gracey-Lou,
We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for sharing your nice comments and compliments about our hotel on tripadvisor in regards to your recent stay at the Meliá Hotel Luxembourg.
Your feedback is very important to us, as it helps us to improve our services and standards.
Especially your nice compliments about our food quality are highly appreciated. Thank you so much.

Dear Gracey-Lou, we are looking forward welcoming you back to the Meliá Luxembourg.
Please accept my best regards,

Mario KOMANN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.7 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#3 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.8 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Luxembourg

Property: Melia Luxembourg
Address: 1 Park Drai Eechelen | 10 Rue Fort Thuengen, Luxembourg City 1499, Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#1 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
#1 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Luxembourg 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Luxembourg City, Melia Luxembourg is a stylish and modern premium hotel located at the centre of the triangle-shaped Place de l'Europe, on the Kirchberg plateau. Directly opposite the Museum of Modern Art and the Philharmonie, the hotel is within walking distance from several EU institutions, like the European Court of Justice, the Court of First Instance, the Court of Auditors of the European Communities, the Secretariat-General of the European Parliament, the European Investment Bank, the Translation Centre for the Bodies of the European Union and a number of offices of the European Commission. Designed by renowned international architect Jim Clemens and completed in 2009, Melia Luxembourg is a gem of contemporary architecture within the Luxembourg City skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Melia Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Luxembourg Hotel Luxembourg City
Melia Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing