We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel that feels like home”
Review of Melia Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Luxembourg
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel that feels like home”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great hotel, in the EU Institutions neighbourhood, right across the Court of Justice of EU. It is 5-10 minutes walking from the centre of Luxembourg city. Modern hotel with lovely staff, the rooms are wide and very, very clean. I was just surprised by the worst internet connection ever.
The breakfast buffet is more than excellent, I mean really great food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An4i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Leiter Front Office at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your very nice review and your compliments naming our hotel "like home" on tripadvisor. We are delighted and honoured to read, that our hotel, service and our friendly, welcoming staff makes you feel like this.
Your description about the distance to the different EU institutions are perfect for other guests finding our hotel and its location. Your comments about our excellent breakfast are highly appreciated by our kitchen and service team who are working every day hard on the superb service and fulfilling all our guests culinary wishes and needs.
As it comes to the internet and its connection speed, we may assure you that we worked on that problem together with the local network provider and the bandwidth had been changed by now.

We would be delighted to welcome you again for another visit of Luxembourg, the Kirchberg with its EU Institutions to our property, the Melia Hotel Luxembourg.

Please accept my best regards,
Mario KOMANN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    515
    80
    8
    8
See reviews for
185
553
81
533
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

first, melia is very silence, and the new building hotel , so very clean.
if you want to relax and have to silence time, this hotel is good.
and, to city distance is about 1.5km, you use to bus, 5 or 10 minute, go to city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byungguk c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Front Office Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your review on tripadvisor and your sharing with the community members.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and the calm of Luxembourg and our hotel.
Especially your compliments about the cleanliness of the hotel makes our housekeeping team very proud. Thank you.

We would really appreciate welcoming you back with us for another visit of Luxembourg.
Please accept my best regards,

Mario KOMANN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is brand new, clean, the rooms are spacious, the bedding is clean and of good quality, it is very quiet. All in all - this hotel has everything a good business hotel needs. As an extra I liked the style (modern and light) and the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

I appreciated the tea and coffee-making facilities in the room as well as the free wifi (even if on the slow side).

We walked to the city center which took us about 15 minutes but the walk was next to a busy road so not recommended. My room was towards the EU institutions so not a particularly nice view but apparently other rooms have a nicer view.

I did not try neither the breakfast nor the gym. The lobby bar is nice even if from all staff the least friendly woman we met was working in the lobby bar. Still, even she could not spoil the experience.

All in all, I had a good stay and rather exceptionally, found no fault with the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kukekomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Front Office Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your very nice review about our hotel on tripadvisor and your compliments. We are delighted to read, that you've truly enjoyed your stay with us.
Especially your comments about our friendly and welcoming staff are highly appreciated as we are taking pride in our personnel.
I am sorry that one of our associates did not meet your expectations in terms of friendliness. For that, I would like to apologize. You may be assured that this is not reflecting our standard and our passion for service to exceed your expectations.

Your description about our rooms and our situation on the Kirchberg and the distance to the inner city centre are just perfect for other tripadvisor community members to find our hotel and get an impression about our hotel.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you for another stay with us for your next visit in Luxembourg.
Please accept my,
best regards

Mario KOMANN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Behind a rather dull exterior, this stylish hotel delivers on most accounts. Both foyer, restaurant and rooms are tastefully decorated in contemporary style. Rooms are spacious with clean and fresh en suites. Air condition could be more effective, and the bed was a bit on the hard side. Breakfast buffet is excellent.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anders0267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Front Office Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you kindly for your very nice review on trip advisor about our hotel and its services and decor. We are delighted to read, that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.
We will pass your comment to our maintenance department about the air condition, which is lacking of efficiency. Thank you for that.

We would be delighted to welcome you for another stay with us.
Please accept my,
best regards

Mario KOMANN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel looks and feels new, and is extremely well located for those needing accommodation close to the EU Court of Justice or some of the EU institutions like DG SANCO.

The service was great - very friendly and welcoming staff who were helpful when needed. The room was large, clean and moderrn - quite a nice space. Also a very nice bathroom. And the breakfast buffet was well stocked and tasty.

My only complaint are that the bed was extremely uncomfortable (felt like an extremely cheap bed that was rock hard), and that the towels while being new were extremely thin and cheap...

Definitely worth staying (as cost was good too) if you need to be in this part of town

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeroenvdL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Front Office Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear JeroenvdL,

Thank you kindly for your nice review and compliments about our hotel on tripadvisor.
Especially your good comments about our friendly and welcoming staff are highly appreciated.
We will share them among our team.
We are sorry to read, that the bed was not meeting your expectations in terms of being comfortable. Normally the beds and mattresses are highly appreciated by our guests. We will take your comments into closer consideration with our housekeeping staff.

We would be delighted to welcome you back with us for another stay.
Best regards,

Mario KOMANN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived at 10 am , our room wasn't ready yet but we got other room so we don't need to wait until 3pm.
The staff was amazing without any exception, it will be unfair to mention someone specific.
The location is great, a bus station just out of the hotel and only 2 stops (5 minutes) from the city center.
Also close to Clausen, nice area with bars and clubs, around 20 minutes by walk or 5 minutes drive (8 euros on saturday night by taxi).
The breakfast was very good and the food in the restaurant was great too.
We had sirloin steak and burger and it was delicious and free as you get 30 euros per day to use in the bar and restaurant of the hotel.
The room was large , excellent bed with 7 pillows , great shower, the internet was perfect too.
It was our first time in Luxembourg city and the experience we had in Melia make us want to come there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rimoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Front Office Manager at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear rimoni,

Thank you kindly for your nice words and compliments about our hotel, its services and our staff, especially this makes us very proud.
Your compliments about the rooms will be shared among our housekeeping staff as they are working every day really hard on the spotless representation of the hotel.
Our Food and Beverage department is as well appreciating the fact that you liked your breakfast and evening diner. As it comes to your comment about the voucher to use in our restaurants, please be informed that these are only valid through booking with our melia website. These action will find its end by the end of this year.

We are delighted to read that you truly enjoyed your stay and that you will come back to us.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,
Mario KOMANN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've stayed quite often in this hotel ever since it opened, and it is indeed an excellent solution if you need to go to the Kirchberg plateau for work. Only one remark: the internet connection needs improving. Excellent variety and quality of food at breakfast as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wordreference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario K, Leiter Front Office at Melia Luxembourg, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you kindly for your good review on tripadvisor.com.
Your compliments about our breakfast food and variety are highly appreciated by our executive chef and his team.
As it comes to your comment about our internet service, I may inform you that the local network provider here in Luxembourg was working currently on our line in order to achieve better results for our internet bandwidth.
We would be delighted to welcome you for another stay in our Melia Hotel Luxembourg.
Best regards,

Mario KOMANN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.7 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#5 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Luxembourg

Property: Melia Luxembourg
Address: 1 Park Drai Eechelen | 10 Rue Fort Thuengen, Luxembourg City 1499, Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
#1 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Luxembourg 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Luxembourg City, Melia Luxembourg is a stylish and modern premium hotel located at the centre of the triangle-shaped Place de l'Europe, on the Kirchberg plateau. Directly opposite the Museum of Modern Art and the Philharmonie, the hotel is within walking distance from several EU institutions, like the European Court of Justice, the Court of First Instance, the Court of Auditors of the European Communities, the Secretariat-General of the European Parliament, the European Investment Bank, the Translation Centre for the Bodies of the European Union and a number of offices of the European Commission. Designed by renowned international architect Jim Clemens and completed in 2009, Melia Luxembourg is a gem of contemporary architecture within the Luxembourg City skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Melia Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Luxembourg Hotel Luxembourg City
Melia Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing