We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant”

Hotel Pax Luxembourg
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pax Luxembourg
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The location is very convenient if you come by plane - bus no. 16 will take you directly to the hotel (bus stop Neufchateau). I got a room facing the backyard, which was quiet enough but I think the ones facing the street can be rather noisy. The room was clean, with nice modern decor. Breakfast, served in a small breakfast room, is nothing special. However, the hotel's restaurant (La Locanda) is very nice - good food and moderate prices.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cold_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    72
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
54
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I am struggling to find something to like. About the only thing is the cleanliness and the friendliness of some of the employees - though definitely not all of them. I really have never stayed at a hotel that failed in so much before. If it hadn't been a work-related trip, I would have left in the first hour but it is hard to handle expenses if you do.

Hotel is under construction. Loud banging on the walls before 8 am until at least 6. Men (construction crew) looking in the windows (2nd floor) when we arrived - creepy. Could not get in and out of building sometimes due to workers in the way. Construction crew smoked and this filtered into our "non-smoking" room. Power went out once during breakfast for which they just shrugged. Bed was the single most uncomfortable bed I have ever tried to sleep on - it feels like hundreds of unprotected metal springs that actually cause pain when you move. Breakfast food inedible. They put the same exact food out all week, so it's all rock hard rolls, stale cereal, stale pastries, slimy lunch meat, etc. They never ask if you want more coffee or anything even though I left a tip. Restaurant loud at night after construction crew leaves so it was never quiet. Parking a hassle. Location is a really long walk from center of town (45 minutes if you walk very fast), otherwise bus fare adds up quick which offset the lower room price. I felt a little unsafe at times walking after dark. Last reviewer is correct - you never see employees at the desk and rarely see other guests. If you can find employees, they would not help with things like dinner reservations anyway, some pretended not to speak english, or just shrugged. They didn't even clean the room on Sunday - just left a bag of towels hanging on our door. They gave a discount for the construction but 70 Euros per day for 7 days of a nightmarish stay was far too much to charge. They should pay people to stay here instead of charging for it. Please do yourself a favor and look elsewhere for a real hotel or a B&B where the owners take pride in the hotel side of the business. They really just seem to care about the restaurant. For almost the same price, I got a room at a B&B near Paris that was light years better in all respects.

Room Tip: Choose a different facility altogether. There is no reason to subject yourself to Hotel Pax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwsiwyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

After reading the Trip Advisor reviews upon returning home, I must have stayed at a different hotel but the address was the same...
I called within Europe to book the hotel and communication was a slight problem due to the language barrier. The hotel was hard to find as there was no visable hotel sign. The door was locked up tight but I buzzed the intercom and was given an access code to enter. The reception desk had a bag with our name on it with a welcome letter, room keycard, cord for wifi, and TV remote control with instructions to be sure to return all items to the front desk when we checked out. Our hotel room was sparsely furnished and had a good shower but not a room one wants to linger in. The hotel felt empty, yet a couple in search of a room rang the intercom and were told the hotel was sold out...
We sat outside on the "terrace" which amounted to a few plastic chairs in front of the hotel and the busy road. The area felt seedy and rundown.
The good side is that the breakfast was served by a very friendly waiter who was the only person we saw at the hotel. It just felt odd staying here.

Room Tip: Book someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The Hotel itself was very nice - small and intimate. The room was rather small but ok for two nights. The staff/owners were great though - and even did our washing when we couldn't find a laudromat - most appreciative! The restaurant was lovely and there were a few others close by. We were able to walk to the Grund, Petrusse Valley etc. but would probably choose to stay on the City side of the railway station next time. The area around the Hotel just felt a little seedy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JennyBednarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This would have been a 5* review were it not for two things
1. The kitchen is closed on Sunday.
2. The room I was in was exceptionally small and could only fit had a single bed.
Those negatives aside, the hotel and restaurant staff were great. They did their utmost to be welcoming to me and their other their guests and I would willingly stay there again. I'm sure that if I asked they would have moved me to another room, but I really wash't that troubled by the bed, and there's plenty of other places to eat in Luxembourg on a Sunday.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOPLIN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Hotel Pax was a very nice hotel, clean rooms, very good breakfast included in price of E90/night. Innkeeper very helpful when communicating online to make reservation and in suggesting things to see and do and places to eat while visiting Luxembourg. He recommended a restaurant called Rustica, a short 3 block walk from hotel. This was the BEST Italian food we've had in a long time!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOTRAVELERJoplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lokeren, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel.
Pro:
- Very friendly
- Clean rooms, big, modern bathroom
- Close to the city
- Very nice breakfast: fresh food, variety!
Contra:
- A little bit loudly environment (close to a big road). We stayed on the first floor above the restaurant so you could hear the chairs moving
- The bed is +-

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
1.9 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
1.1 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.7 mi away
Hotel Empire
Hotel Empire
#17 of 51 in Luxembourg City
253 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#5 of 51 in Luxembourg City
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pax Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pax Luxembourg

Property: Hotel Pax Luxembourg
Address: 121 Route de Thionville, Luxembourg City 2611, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pax Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pax Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pax Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing