We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel for a gorgeous village”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Heintz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Heintz
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Vianden
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for a gorgeous village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Hotel Heinz and absolutely adored this hotel. We stayed on the 3rd floor facing the garden and loved our room. It had a small balcony overlooking parts of the old city wall and lush greenery. The hotel reflects the period in which it was built and has so much character, yet the rooms have been made lovely, bright and modern. Bathrooms are neat and very clean. Our room was nice and quiet.

We are vegan but chose to have the breakfast at the hotel and had plenty to eat- well worth it. The coffee is excellent!!

Our hosts were very friendly and helpful with advice on routes to walk and things to see in town and around.
Definately take the cable-lift up the the castle! Beautiful views!

The hotel is up a slight incline in town but still reasonably central, closer to the castle than many of the other hotels.

We would definately recommend this lovely hotel which just fits in perfectly with such a gorgeous village.

Room Tip: Our room on the 3rd floor facing the garden was lovely and quiet. The view of the lush greenery and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegieholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    57
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
87
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here two nights (two couples, two rooms) and loved it. It is directly in town, quiet, simply and tastefully decorated, bathrooms in rooms with hairdryers, safe in closet, some rooms have nice views of town and chateau, elevator to top floors as necessary. We had parking next to hotel. Proprietor allowed us to check in late. Private garden patio for sitting also.

GREAT BREAKFAST - do choose to eat here every morning you can. Great choice of meats, cheeses, You can boil your own egg. They have yogurt, fresh breads, juices, jams, etc. It is very well done and they come around to refill coffee often as well.

(note- the first day we thought we'd eat in town.. nothing was open for breakfast save a pastry shop with had very bad pastries (granted we had just traveled in from France).. we would have saved money and had a better breakfast had we simply eaten in Heintz.

Friendly proprietors are helpful with where to visit in town (and surround) -are multilingual.

Room Tip: top floors have nice view of chateau - otherwise choose garden view for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyrenny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

arriving at hotel heintz we were warmly greeted, given local information and advice on parking facilities etc. The room was spacious and clean, bed was comfortable, breakfast was superb and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly.
Great location for visiting the chateau/schloss, scenery in the area quite spectacular (the chair lift up above the town is a must!)
Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank don b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Good mattresses, average WiFi (multiple drops), yummy breakfast, funny decor (green carpet, orange door handles, and the sink was in the bedroom instead of the bathroom. Helpful staff. Note, make sure you call ahead if you are going to checking after 9pm. They will "leave the light on" for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bustraveler2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place was our second stop of our two week trip. We took a short train ride from Luxembourg City and got off at Ettelbruck and took a bus to Vianden which was approximately 20 minutes. Ask the driver to stop at the Vianden bus stop by the tourist office which is right by the river (there are 3 stops in Vianden and the one closest to the hotel is by the tourist office). From the river, you just walk up the hill for a few minutes and the hotel is adjacent to a church on the left side of the street.

We had a room overlooking the parking lot of the hotel and had a balcony. The hotel only has 6 spots so it's not noisy at night. I think the hotel is a converted monastery. We had a two room suite joined by a bathroom since we were traveling with a 3 year old. Sinks are in the bedroom. The rooms were big and very clean. The hotel is decorated with all sorts of antiques which I found very interesting. The walls are a little thin. You can hear people walking up the stairs and talking at night, but I suppose with an old building, it's difficult to sound proof, but I still slept well.

We stayed for three nights during the week and went on the chair lift every day. Because there was a heat wave, we even went to the pool one day and really enjoyed ourselves. You can see the pool from the castle.

The proprietors were great at the hotel. Breakfast costs 8.5 euros and free for our son. It was well worth it. Since we are big coffee drinkers, having as much coffee in the morning was worth it. The selection of food was very good too.

We had a very relaxing time in Vianden and we were glad to have stayed in such a friendly and quiet hotel full of charm. We had no issues whatsoever traveling with a toddler. On our departure day, we couldn't have breakfast but we asked for coffee and were willing to pay. The owner just told us to enjoy our coffee which I thought was incredibly nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the parking lot. It is quiet and you won't hear the cars passing on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelpersonNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Heintz for two nights in late August. Our first-floor room was large and comfortable, with windows looking over the narrow main street that spills down the hill through beautiful Vianden. The room had an ensuite bathroom, a comfortable easy chair, good lighting, and a small TV mounted on the wall. Reserved parking was available behind the hotel for an extra charge (we found free parking along the side of the hotel), and breakfast is served in a cozy breakfast room, also for an extra charge (we bought coffee and croissants at the bakery down the street). Reception staff were friendly.

Despite the good reviews of the hotel restaurant in guidebooks (Fodors, Rough Guide), the restaurant has actually closed. We were told that the owner found it too much trouble to maintain. We were disappointed, but the closure allowed us to try out a couple of Vianden's restaurants. We had a excellent meat-laden meal at Aul Vianen up the hill, and good pizza in the atmospheric cafe, Ancien Cinema (where the locals were hanging out).

The hotel has wifi but I could get a signal only near reception (not in our room) and on the back patio. Our front-facing room was quiet at night--no traffic to speak of--but street action started fairly early, so if we had intended to sleep in it would have been difficult. Didn't bother us, but if you want more quiet, ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

All in all we found Hotel Heintz to be a very pleasant place to stay in one of the loveliest towns in Luxembourg.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back if you want quiet. Also, there are 6 free parking spots along the side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank apriltownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Along with 4 others we stayed at the Hotel Heintz for four nights. The owners are most welcoming and friendly. The rooms perfect with the ensuite spotless. Breakfast was excellent but if you didn't want a big breakfast the owner told us there was a Bakery close by for Coffee and a danish. Only small thing would improve this wonderful hotel is Another English TV channel and possibly internet to the bedrooms. We are looking forward to returning to the Heintz and the beautiful town of Vianden sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ger2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vianden hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Petry
Hotel Petry
#2 of 12 in Vianden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#1 of 12 in Vianden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Auberge du Chateau
B&B Auberge du Chateau
#6 of 12 in Vianden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Victor Hugo
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel de Vianden
Grand Hotel de Vianden
#3 of 12 in Vianden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Belvedere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heintz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heintz

Property: Hotel Heintz
Address: 55 Grand-Rue, Vianden 9410, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Diekirch District > Vianden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Vianden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Heintz 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Heintz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heintz Hotel Vianden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing