We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our de Lux holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Petry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Petry
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Vianden
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“our de Lux holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We booked to stay in Vianden having seen the area on the hairy bikers. The hotel Petry was an excellent choice. Our 3rd floor room had a great view of the castle. The staff were all friendly and spoke enough English for us non linguists. We enjoyed our breakfasts which had a very wide choice of cereals, breads, meat, cheese and fruit.
Evening meals were also really good. The pizzas were popular and the restaurant terrace was always busy.
Well worth visiting the pool in the partner hotel the Belle Vue just 50 metres up the road. Great view of the castle as you swim to the end.
nicectouch was receiving a bottle of the local nut liqueur when we checked out.

Room Tip: Some front rooms have castle view but have a little traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    90
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
35
112
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a very nice family hotel with a top price-quality ratio! Everything was spotless clean, not only the rooms were spacious, but also the bathrooms. The hotel is nicely renovated where the character of the old house is cleverly preserved, featuring wooden beams and colorful terracotta tiles. There is a private parking adjacent to the hotel which is free for hotel guests - an absolute plus in a tiny place like Vianden, where parking can be an adventure. There's also a long list of spa and massage procedures offered by the hotel, if you are in a search of a relaxing holiday. The hotel guests can use also free of charge the swimming pool of the Belle-Vue Hotel (owned by the same family), which is just across the corner. There's also a nice sun terrace with chaise-lounges. The hotel has also an Italian pizzeria with stone oven and a restaurant serving local dishes - both share an enormous terrace, where you can enjoy your meal on a sunny day. We tried a few dishes there and we enjoyed every single bite.
There is only one downside - it was pretty noisy. We had 2 rooms - one above the restaurant's terrace and the other one overlooking the river. If you have your windows open, in the afternoon you would here the kids playing on the playground, in the morning - trucks delivering goods or picking up the garbage containers. I was amazed how noisy it can be in this small village - you would think it's a quiet, laid-back place, but no - it hustles and bustles with life. So, my advice - just close the windows, if you need a little bit of peace.
I would definitely and absolutely recommend this hotel - and I would definitely and absolutely stay again there!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at the Petry Hotel at the end of a day trip to the battlefield areas of the Lorraine Campaign. The parking is close by and easy to use. The beds in our room were OK, my son and I were upgraded gratis to a 2 room suite and had separate bedrooms.The breakfast was included and was very good. The only Down side was the pillows,they were really oversized and impossible to get a restful sleep with. Simple solution bring your own pillow. The Hotel is very close to the Chateaux Vianden and is in a really picturesque village. We dined at the Hotel restaurant and the food was very good and inexpensive.

Room Tip: Castle or River view, both are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KanoSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We arrived before the advertised time but were still able to access our spacious room.The small bar frige wasn't working but one of the helpful cleaning staff quickly replaced it. We enjoyed an excellent meal in the restaurant at night followed by a filling breakfast. On our departure, we were given a little memento which we appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superbud42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehlingen, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The staff on arrival were courteous and helpful. There is ample free parking for guests which is a plus seeing as the village is tiny and parking is problematic if you have a large vehicle. Our room was clean and spacious and can sleep up to three people. The decor is a little bit of an eye sore and the beds are not very comfortable unfortunately. The mattresses have a plastic coating so the sheets slide off while you are sleeping and the mattresses sag so if you have back problems you may want to put the mattress on the floor. Our bathroom was clean and they provide a soap dispenser in the shower. The shower door had a broken handle and no slip Matt and is very slippery so be aware to be careful. The breakfast is provided at an additional cost and is well worth it. There's plenty of choices to suit all tastes. The hotel has an Italian restaurant and their pizza and pasta are not bad at all.

The town is truly charming and has breathtaking scenery and the castle overlooking the town is absolutely gorgeous illuminated at night. The river has trout swimming in it and little fountains which run during the day.

I will be back to Vianden I had a lovely time there and in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLFkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our first trip to Luxembourg and the village of Vianden, we booked the Hotel Petry on a recommendation and we were very pleased that we did.
The Hotel is in a good position in the Village and has its own car park. The staff were very friendly and helpful,
Our room was extremely clean and spacious, the bed was large very comfortable and we both slept very well.
The food was great and we enjoyed eating outside undercover, we liked it so much and it was that good we ate at the Hotel Petry every evening. The cost of the food was very reasonable as were the beers.
The cost of our three night midweek stay was very good value.
Overall we could not fault this Hotel and will be heading back hopefully sometime this year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

We booked this hotel based on good reviews and we were not disappointed. Staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating of our baby. The room was large and well maintained and a good breakfast spread too. We also enjoyed some excellent pizzas in the pizzeria. All in all definitely a hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexH222_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vianden
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#1 of 12 in Vianden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Auberge du Chateau
B&B Auberge du Chateau
#6 of 12 in Vianden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
12.2 mi away
Chateau d'Urspelt
Chateau d'Urspelt
#1 of 1 in Urspelt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel de Vianden
Grand Hotel de Vianden
#3 of 12 in Vianden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Victor Hugo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heintz
Hotel Heintz
#4 of 12 in Vianden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Petry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Petry

Property: Hotel Petry
Address: 15 Rue de la Gare, Vianden 9420, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Diekirch District > Vianden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Vianden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Petry 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy family run hotel in the center of the medieval town of Vianden. Gastronomic restaurant and pizzeria with wood fired oven, large terras, comfort- and luxury 4**** rooms, private parking, lift. Fitness center, sauna, solarium. Our guest may use for free the indoor pool 14x6m. + whirlpool and spa in hotel belle-vue (100 meters from the petry). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Petry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petry Hotel Vianden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing