We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote Location in the Luxemburh Hills”
Review of Hotel Petry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Petry
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Vianden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Upon arrival you have to master a few obstacles. First you have to find either a street-side parking or the hotel parking, then you have to find the reception desk, which is located in a cavernous back room. We were rewarded with a warm welcome and even a choice of rooms. We decided for a backward one and would recommend that. The front rooms are facing the main road which is not that busy but rural traffic in the early morning could give you an earlier wake up than planned. Our room was neat and appropriate sized but no frills at all. The breakfast was a standard buffet selection for houses of this range in a huge dining hall. In general the restaurant seemed to be prepared for big groups, either coming by bus or bike, but probably during daytime. In the evening and for the breakfast the diners were limited to the hotel guests.

Room Tip: Take a room to the rear side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daydreamer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 220 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

This was a very nice hotel in a lovely town. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The Breakfast was very good and a large selection of items in a nice sunny room on an upper lever with windows all around. The room was HUGE and very clean and comfortable with a large bed and large bathroom. We had large windows with a beautiful view. This was an awesome value. The location was good right along the river which gives a great view of the castle up on the hill. It is a small town so you can walk to anywhere (although it would be quite a hike up the hill to the castle - we drove). Parking is included although there is limited space right behind the hotel however they do have a lot for overflow parking which is just a short distance and a nice walk along the river getting back to the hotel. The hotel also has a restaurant as well as a bar and pizzaria and a large outside patio. We went tot he pizzaria which was very good and the restaurant must be very good as well as it was very busy. There is also a spa and fitness center but we did not take advantage of either. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying Vainden.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovestoTravel919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Great hotel and location and bar that is open all day with good reasonably priced food. We stayed for 3 nights and ate there every night.
Only grumbles are:
we booked through booking.com but hotel didn't have our booking on arrival, could have been a disaster but they had spare rooms and upgraded us to a larger room with good views.
That said room was very noisy as Vianden wakes up at about 6am! this is not the hotels fault though.
Car Parking is a bit limited so get there early, they do have an overflow car park but this is about 200 mtrs from hotel and a bit isolated with no security.
Vianden itself is great or walking and has plenty of bars and resturants

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wackywebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Third time in Vianden and third at Hotel Petry, this time just passing through rather than staying a few days as previously. Good, friendly hotel with very good food, good accommodation and friendly owner / staff. Now has a swimming pool too. I like it here; Luxembourg is a surprising place and great for biking, and the Petry is a superb place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rt_rider57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We spent two nights in Vianden in mid-May and found both the village and Hotel Petry to be a refreshing change from the cities on our trip. Even though the weather was perfect, there were not a lot of visitors at this time of year, and most of the ones we encountered were German, which is not surprising considering that Vianden is right next to the border. The hotel was clean and well-maintained and in an ideal location, in front of a scenic walk along the riverl. The view of the castle was outstanding, especially at night, and everything was so quiet and peaceful. There are two restaurants in the hotel, although they share the same kitchen. Food in each was delicious and affordable. This was a far better place to stay and much more affordable than in Luxembourg City or Trier. It is a place I hope to get back to some day.

Room Tip: Look for a corner room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Would highly recommend Hotel Petry....was at the top of our 12 day visit to Holland, Luxembourg, Belgium. Spotless, charming, excellent staff, excellent restaurant. Great room (would recommend upgrade to deluxe(, bathroom excellent. Loved the town of Vianden for exploring Luxembourg.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyGreenBay_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We have just come back from 4 nights in Vianden and were very impressed. It was our first time in Luxembourg and everywhere was really pretty. The Hotel is very well situated with lots of restaurants around it. The Pizzeria at the hotel was very nice and very reasonable, the pizzas are huge but very tasty. The sister hotel 'Hotel Belle Vue' is just around the corner and the food there was very good, better, in my husband's opinion, than at the Petry. The room was spacious and very clean, we had book a 'Comfort Room' which was worth the extra for the room. Lovely location backing on to the River L'Our.

Room Tip: Only order 1 pizza between two they are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vianden
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#2 of 11 in Vianden
225 reviews
12.2 mi away
Chateau d'Urspelt
Chateau d'Urspelt
#1 of 1 in Urspelt
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Victor Hugo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel International
Hotel International
#4 of 8 in Clervaux
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Auberge du Chateau
B&B Auberge du Chateau
#6 of 11 in Vianden
38 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dimmer Hotel
Dimmer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wallendorf Pont
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Petry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Petry

Address: 15 Rue de la Gare, Vianden 9420, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Diekirch District > Vianden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Vianden
Price Range: $90 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Petry 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy family run hotel in the center of the medieval town of Vianden. Gastronomic restaurant and pizzeria with wood fired oven, large terras, comfort- and luxury 4**** rooms, private parking, lift. Fitness center, sauna, solarium. Our guest may use for free the indoor pool 14x6m. + whirlpool and spa in hotel belle-vue (100 meters from the petry). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Petry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petry Hotel Vianden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing