We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luxembourg: Nature & Castle Day Trip
49

Book in advance
from
$108.58
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Vianden Castle
from $108.58
More Info
from $575.81
More Info
from $178.78
More Info
Reviews (1,874)
Filter reviews
1,874 results
Traveler rating
1,029
701
116
21
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,029
701
116
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxembourg city audio guide day trip worth a visit train and bus interesting history take your time public transport beautiful town chair lift stunning views rooms castle hill restoration entrance euros
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 1,874 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2019 via mobile

Really nicely renovated with an excellent audio guide. Great views from the castle too. A must see. Steep hill to get to it but worth the walk.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank M3900LVpault
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 11, 2019 via mobile

It was only 7e to enter (an extra 2 if you wanted an audio guide) & well worth it.
Its a beautiful castle to look at from the outside & interesting to walk around inside.
Not overly furnished but some to give you a flavour of the castle when lived in. Also detailed pictures & models of the castle being restored.
Superb views of the surrounding countryside & the town & its walls & defence towers.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank sallyt403
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Two tours in one day! See Vianden Castle (up the hill) & the National History Military Museum. I took the train from Luxembourg Central to Ettelbruck station. Walked about 2 minutes to the bus station area.
NOTE: If you want to tour Vianden Castle ONLY then take bus #570 (about 30 min ride) to Vianden, Breck stop. There is a Visitor Information office steps from the bus stop for map & information. Walk up the hill about 15 minutes to the Vianden Castle. The walk up is not so bad. Self-tour takes about 1 1/2 hour. Lovely castle with beautiful views & great photo ops and interesting history, great for all ages. There is a cafe for food/drink and a shop for museum items. Take bus #570 (return stop is on the side of the Visitor Center) back down the hill to Ettelbruck Train Station.
NOTE: If you want to see both Vianden Castle & National History Military Museum, then from Ettelbruck train station, take bus #570 to Vianden Castle FIRST to the Vianden,Breck stop!! This is VERY important since the road splits into a one way. Follow the information above paragraph to the Castle EXCEPT on the way back, you will take bus #570 back down the hill but get off at Diekrirch, Kluuster stop. Walk about one block to the museum. This museum is one of the best I have seen for WWII. There is a vast amount of information & displays on 3 or 4 levels. It will take a minimum 2 hours to see it all. It is a great museum for everyone of all ages! To get back to Ettelbruck train station from the Military Museum, take bus #570 or #555. It was a nice day trip from Luxembourg!

Date of experience: February 2019
4  Thank DM502LOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

An interesting place with excellent views over the town. The tour route through the building is well sign-posted. It is not the grandest castle/chateau you are likely to see but relatively unassuming, in keeping with its location. As part of a visit to a very nice, peaceful little town it is well worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank PatHel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

The walk up the the castle is not as daunting as it looks from down in the town.... very sympathetically renovated with many interesting aspects.
Delighted we took time to visit what many people would say is a charming castle full of character.
The state has done a superb job in renovating it and giving the public access to a slice of history. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank ianx17489
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews