We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I think this is where I had ice-cream!”
Review of Cafe Du Pont

Cafe Du Pont
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Vianden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, French, German, Dutch, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A great place in a beautiful town. The owners & staff were extremely friendly, the food was very good and the beer was cheap - pair that with a sidewalk view of the Our River and the Chateau Vianden and it's really not to be missed. If you add it to your listings I will post a more complete review. Thanks!
Penygraig
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I think this is where I had ice-cream!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The "Vianden Tower" ice cream is lush. Fresh cream, ice cream, nuts, chocolate sauce and nut liqueur. They even provide a straw for you to drink the liqueur at the bottom of the glass.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 23Suzanne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    85
    30
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We enjoyed an evening meal & lunch here, the staff were pleasant & helpful & the view over the river very nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Dutch experience!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This restaurant serves delicious Schnitzels, full of Dutch guests, so if you come from the Netherlands (like me) you won't feel homesick in this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ekarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Saw this on trip advisor before our holiday and very pleased I did my research. We love schnitzels and have eaten plenty in Austria and Germany. But this is the best meal I've ever eaten. The plate sized schnitzel was literally covered with onions, mushrooms and bacon - and then a big bowl of really good chips and a lovely salad arrived! Cannot fault this restaurant. Excellent food, good view, very friendly staff. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food, perfect location”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Six of us went to this restaurant, sitting on the open section near the river. The food was good. Great French Onion soup. Our waiter was personable and very helpful re the menu. The atmosphere is very nice, but casual.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BevSierpina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Du Pont also viewed

Vianden, Diekirch District
 
Vianden, Diekirch District
Vianden, Diekirch District
 
Vianden, Diekirch District
 

Been to Cafe Du Pont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing