We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value - nice staff !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Streym Torshavn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Streym Torshavn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Stockholm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value - nice staff !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Streym during July for three nights. The reception responded very quickly on my emails and I got good answers on my questions. I also hired a car thru Streym, they have a fairly good price. The procedure for hiring and getting the car was very simple without formalities - good !

Torshavn is not a large town, the location is good, although not as central as Hotel Hafnia or Hotel Torshavn, but a couple of minutes walk won't hurt.

The buffetbreakfast was good - scandinavian style.

The staff was very friendly and helpful in a personal way.

Because I travelled solo I got a single room on the back of the house - ie no view of the sea, but quiet. However be aware of that the single rooms are rather small, the last night the room was so small that I could not fould up my suitcase on the floor and in the same time open the door to the bathroom. I did however get a discount for that last night.

In summary: A hotel with good value and nice friendly staff - recommended !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    57
    27
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
44
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here for a week in July 2011 and would definitely stay here again. It calls itself a no-frills hotel and I would agree but it has everything you need for a great stay in the Faroe Islands. We booked a good while in advance and managed to get a very good deal with the hotel. The per-night price is not cheap compared to other locations but it is very reasonable for the Faroe Islands.

Rooms - rooms were a good size and very clean. Each room is en-suite and our bathroom was a good size with heated flooring. Furniture is by Ikea and the decor is minimal but the rooms are bright and airy and ours had a great view of Nolsoy (mist allowing!). There was a television in the room that showed three Danish channels and wi-fi was avaialble in the room with computer available in the breakfast room for all guests to use. The only negative was that the walls were quite thin so you could hear your neighbours quite clearly.

Location - a short walk from the harbour/bus terminal, the hotel is in a great location. Everything in Torshavn is walkable from the hotel and bus routes 2 and 3 also stopped outside if you wanted to head a bit further out of town (to the History Museum for example).

Breakfast - it is great to have this included in the room price as eating out in the Faroes can be quite pricey and there is limited choice. The breakfast buffet included coffee/tea, juices, cereal, fruit, breads, cheese, meats, eggs and yogurt so there should be something for everyone. Tea and coffee were also available in the breakfast room all day which was very welcome after a day walking in the rain!

Staff - the staff were very friendly and helpful both during the booking process and during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snoops30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I rented a car from the hotel and that worked out great, and the price per day was good. The hotel is clean, the staff nice and very helpful. I like that they think of the environment, no changing of sheets or towels during the five nights I spent. Location is great, a few minutes walk to the center.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cranberry08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

I spent a week at this hotel and my opinion is very positive.
The location is easily accessible by car and both the port and the city center are within a few minute walk. Rooms are basic but spacious, clean and often with great view of the sea and the island of Nolsoy.
Breakfast is good but there isn't a restaurant . WiFi is free in both rooms and common areas : there is also a desktop computer for those who don't have their .
In my opinion, the strength of the hotel is the staff very helpful and friendly : they always helped me with booking ferries or giving travel suggestions .
On request there is also a car rental service, without formalities and very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arv71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

Good position with view of the sea - if you ask. Wi-Fi is standard which is useful. Basic hotel but the owner – Aarge (sp?) is exceptional and went out of his way to help. He arranged for one of his hire cars to be waiting for us at the airport – and it was a very good price too. His past experience includes fishing, politics, business etc – so he was a mine of information about the Faroes, and has an excellent sense of humour too. Very good value for money and fully recommended. You must eat at the sushi restaurant Etika - just a few minutes walk from the hotel - amazing experience.

Faroes is breathtaking scenery and there are some fabulous walks - but you need a car to apprecaite the islands.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dig444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
368 reviews
352 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 621 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

This is not more than a bed-and-breakfast. The rooms facing the sea are very loud, due to street noise. All rooms are very loud if your neighbour is in. Paper walls. The location is still walking distance to the center, but much farther out than Hotels Hafnia or Torshaven. The correct price in most other places would be around € 30 instead of € 100+. If you look for the best hotel in town, go to the Hotel Torshaven which is totally central, has a restaurant and terrace bar and seems completely newly refurbished in a halfway pleasant scandinavian design style. The other hotels (Hafnia and Föröyar) are run down. Faroer are beautiful islands, but if you have a taste for good hotels do not stay overnight.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
192 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Everything in the Faroes is expensive but this hotel is a perfectly adequate "budget" (£100 a night!) alternative to paying £200 a night at the Forayar (and no large coach parties!). It is right on teh sea, ask for a front room for a sea view and (it seemed) a bigger room. The style is minimalist - think a French Ibis hotel, furnished by Ikea, but the beds are reasonably comfy, the shower is hot and powerful, and the whole place is clean and welcoming. Breakfast is continental style, no hot food or fish, but plentiful and appetising. All the restaurants in Torshavn are within 10 minutes walk (see my reviews)

The staff were excellent - particularly Tomas, who went out of his way to help us book a trip to Mykines (an essential part of your holiday - to see 50,000 puffins close up!) when all the ferries and helicopters were fully booked.

Car hire from the hotel is wonderfully relaxed - we had booked one by email, but given no deposit or credit card, yet we were simply handed the key to a Ford Ka, told it was fully insured, and asked to return it with a full tank in 10 days time!

There is a PC which guests can use free.

Deal with the hotel direct, by email, and you may get a better deal than the website - I got DKK 850 a night for 11 nights (rack 950) and the car for 300 a day (rack 450).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoodLifeForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torshavn
1.3 mi away
Hotel Foroyar
Hotel Foroyar
#1 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torshavn
Hotel Torshavn
#4 of 5 in Torshavn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hafnia
Hotel Hafnia
#3 of 5 in Torshavn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Guesthouse Marknagil
Guesthouse Marknagil
#5 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Vagar
Hotel Vagar
#1 of 1 in Sorvagur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kerjalon Hostel
Kerjalon Hostel
#2 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Streym Torshavn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Streym Torshavn

Property: Hotel Streym Torshavn
Address: Yvirir vio Strond 19, Torshavn, Streymoy 110, Faroe Islands
Location: Faroe Islands > Streymoy > Torshavn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Streym Torshavn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Streym Torshavn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing