We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location- rooms for midgets”
Review of Hotel Torshavn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Torshavn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
“Good location- rooms for midgets”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Visiting remote places usually offers 2 options: 1: easy maneuvreable, friendly & helpful people and cosy atmosphere...2: easy maneuvreable, introvert & unfriendly people and colourless ambience. Unfortunately I found Faroe islands belonging in category 2. From the minute i entered the flight till leaving the country I did not feel welcome. People stare at you or ignore you.

Good things about hotel: Even torshavn is a small town the hotel is in a quite good location by the harbour, you might even find a place or two which is open. The internet is good & free. Breakfast was very good. There are dinneroptions at this hotel- I did not use it so dont know if it is any good.

I booked a singleroom, which is not recommended if you are a grown up man. Size fits the cabins on a ship- bed narrow and if you will feel the drafty cold faroese winds through the door when in bed. Bathroom a place for changing your mind. good tv-reception and toiletries. and clean.

Most interesting thing on this trip was the drive from/to the airport- the scenery is stunning if you avoid the looooong tunnels kindly sponsored by Danish taxmoney.

Considering the price for a trip to these islands, I would say its a waste of time and money- but its a dot on my travelmap and it will remain that way. Been there, done that and not again.

Room Tip: go for standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aeronaut65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    65
    41
    14
    0
See reviews for
5
48
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hotel Torshavn is situated in the center of Torshavn, the Faroese capital, a short walk away from the bus- and ferry terminal, where you arrive, whether you take the boat or if you have taken the airport shuttle to town.

The lobby is fairly small, but clean and neat, though the upholstery could do with some work. The staff are pleasant at all times of day and night, and perform their jobs excellently, and always with a smile. From the lobby, you can access the brasserie/cafe, Hvonn (pronounced kvonn), which is where breakfast is served in the mornings.

A very small elevator (rated for 3 people, and 300 kg) takes you up to your floor. Alternately, you may take the (far wider) stairs. The hotel has not switched to electronic keys, and still hand you a little anvil connected to your key. The rooms themselves are fairly stylish and comfortable, with large drapes to cover the windows at night.

The beds are VERY soft. If you, like me, have back issues; expect to have an aching back after staying there. The bathroom, though perfectly serviceable, does not seem to have been upgraded in any considerable fashion since the 1970's. Nothing wrong with it; just a bit basic and spare. Still, perfectly serviceable.

The breakfast buffet is nice, but lacks one staple of Nordic hotel breakfasts, smoked salmon, which is a shame, as the Faroe Islands boasts some beautiful specimens.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank razumny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed almost one week at this Hotel and enjoyed every day. The rooms are a little bit small if you have a lot of luggage but clean and comfortable. After complaining at the reception we're offered a slightly bigger room on the rearside of the hotel (unfortunately without the beautiful view over the city and the harbour). A good Pizzeria is in the hotel and you can order take away. The staff of the Hotel was extremly friendly and the reception was very professional and competent. The receptionist was so kind to buy for me a souvenir in a shop in Torshavn and send it via mail to Europe. I was so happy when I received the envelope and I can't imagine this to happen in another hotel.

I recommend this hotel if you plan to stay a few days in the (small) city of Torshavn.
The location and quality of this Hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: Front side = view over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was comfortable and in a convenient location near to the bus terminal. The attached restaurant served nice food and the staff were helpful and friendly. Free Wifi was useful. However our room situated above the street was extremely noisy as in a nearby building a local rock band was practicing. In spite of the double glazed windows the heavy rock music came through loud and clear.
Visitors to the Faroe Islands should be aware of the fog which often closes the airport and disrupts air traffic. Make sure that your onward schedules are not tight or you may be disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dellgaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Torshavn for 4 nights. The large, sea view room was a nice size with a wonderful view of the harbor. The room was clean and the staff was warm and friendly. We ate a few times in the hotel restaurant and the food was superb! We also enjoyed the live jazz music in the bar and the hot breakfast. One night, the staff was kind enough to heat up some leftovers for us :) It would have been nice to have a common area microwave facility. I had no problem with the free WiFi and there is also a computer the lobby. There is free parking close by and the front desk staff was very helpful in providing information and making phone calls as needed. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a seaside view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbhspeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terceira, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Tórshavn has very few hotels. Hotel Føroyar (same owner as Hotel Tórshavn) is by far the best hotel of the Faroe Islands, but it's far away from the city center. Hotel Streym is basic and its location less ideal than Hotel Tórshavn. Hotel Hafnia in my opinion is out of question, it is old and not presentable anymore. Therefore Hotel Tórshavn is the place which I would recommend.
However, keep in mind that it has only 3 stars. You get everything what you can expect of a medium class hotel, but not more.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, one feels at ease here immediately.
Nice lobby with pc facility. Very old elevator, some find it charming, I found its door tiring. Rooms are very small, the décor is reduced to an absolute minumum. Beds are not very comfy and much too small. They reminded me of Swiss military beds (thinking about how narrow they are...), hehe.
There are ironing facilities in the room, tea/coffee maker. The bathroom is basic as well, if you take a shower there is a risk that the whole bathroom will have done the same with you. Funny, if you have a good sense of humour.
Breakfast is okay - 3* hotel standard. Nice views from the restaurant. The restaurant downstairs is claustrophobic and I did not like it. Even though it is a very basic hotel, I felt at ease here. Don't forget that you are in a tiny island nation with a population just over 50'000. There are relatively few tourists around although these islands are a PARADISE! Soooo many wonderful landscapes to discover, no crowds, very nice people, no crime at all, I loved it a lot here and for sure I will return soon. It is a superb travel destination if you love NATURE AND ABSOLUTE PEACE. But don't be disappointed because of the always changing weather. It's raining a lot here...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel Torshavn is located in an older building, a few steps from the harbour and in the other direction a few steps from the tourist bureau and the government house. If you stay here you won't need a car unless you plan to visit other towns.
Our room was small but the queen size bed was comfortable. There was no fridge, no kleenex.
The breakfast was not great by European standards, but you could always find "something". There is a public parking lot next door, free after 6 pm if you could find a spot, another reason not to bring a car.
The brasserie Hvinn is actually the same establishment where breakfast is served. It has all the charm of an industrial cafeteria.
We did check out the hotel Hafnia, a block away, and they seemed a cut above, particularly where the restaurant is concerned. But it is probably more expensive. If location is not important to you (i.e. you plan to have a car) the hotel Foroyar is a good idea.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torshavn
0.9 mi away
Hotel Foroyar
Hotel Foroyar
#1 of 5 in Torshavn
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hafnia
Hotel Hafnia
#2 of 5 in Torshavn
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Streym Torshavn
Hotel Streym Torshavn
#3 of 5 in Torshavn
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kerjalon Hostel
Kerjalon Hostel
#1 of 6 in Torshavn
40 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Sandavagur
Bed & Breakfast Sandavagur
#1 of 3 in Vagar Island
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bladypi Hostel
Bladypi Hostel
#4 of 6 in Torshavn
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torshavn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torshavn

Property: Hotel Torshavn
Address: Torsgota 4, Torshavn, Streymoy 110, Faroe Islands
Location: Faroe Islands > Streymoy > Torshavn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torshavn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tórshavn is a modern city hotel in Tórshavn. Fantastic location and a stunning view of the harbour in the front and the Town Hall Square in the back. Staying at Hotel Tórshavn you are in downtown Tórshavn, close to shops, cafés and restaurants. Hotel Tórshavn is a modern hotel, a place for you to enjoy the nice and light rooms, designed in warm and feminine colours. Hotel Tórshavn has 43 rooms, 73 beds in total. The rooms vary in size, giving you the opportunity to choose what suits you best. All rooms are non smoking. The hotel has 3 meeting rooms, well suited for both large and small groups of people. Whether you are 10, 30 or 60 people, the hotel can provide all the equipment needed. The rooms are equipped with projector, overhead, whiteboard, flipover, wireless network and broadband. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Torshavn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing