We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy City Hotel”
Review of Hotel Torshavn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Torshavn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cosy City Hotel”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed almost one week at this Hotel and enjoyed every day. The rooms are a little bit small if you have a lot of luggage but clean and comfortable. After complaining at the reception we're offered a slightly bigger room on the rearside of the hotel (unfortunately without the beautiful view over the city and the harbour). A good Pizzeria is in the hotel and you can order take away. The staff of the Hotel was extremly friendly and the reception was very professional and competent. The receptionist was so kind to buy for me a souvenir in a shop in Torshavn and send it via mail to Europe. I was so happy when I received the envelope and I can't imagine this to happen in another hotel.

I recommend this hotel if you plan to stay a few days in the (small) city of Torshavn.
The location and quality of this Hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: Front side = view over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    61
    41
    14
    0
See reviews for
5
46
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was comfortable and in a convenient location near to the bus terminal. The attached restaurant served nice food and the staff were helpful and friendly. Free Wifi was useful. However our room situated above the street was extremely noisy as in a nearby building a local rock band was practicing. In spite of the double glazed windows the heavy rock music came through loud and clear.
Visitors to the Faroe Islands should be aware of the fog which often closes the airport and disrupts air traffic. Make sure that your onward schedules are not tight or you may be disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dellgaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Torshavn for 4 nights. The large, sea view room was a nice size with a wonderful view of the harbor. The room was clean and the staff was warm and friendly. We ate a few times in the hotel restaurant and the food was superb! We also enjoyed the live jazz music in the bar and the hot breakfast. One night, the staff was kind enough to heat up some leftovers for us :) It would have been nice to have a common area microwave facility. I had no problem with the free WiFi and there is also a computer the lobby. There is free parking close by and the front desk staff was very helpful in providing information and making phone calls as needed. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a seaside view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbhspeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terceira, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Tórshavn has very few hotels. Hotel Føroyar (same owner as Hotel Tórshavn) is by far the best hotel of the Faroe Islands, but it's far away from the city center. Hotel Streym is basic and its location less ideal than Hotel Tórshavn. Hotel Hafnia in my opinion is out of question, it is old and not presentable anymore. Therefore Hotel Tórshavn is the place which I would recommend.
However, keep in mind that it has only 3 stars. You get everything what you can expect of a medium class hotel, but not more.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, one feels at ease here immediately.
Nice lobby with pc facility. Very old elevator, some find it charming, I found its door tiring. Rooms are very small, the décor is reduced to an absolute minumum. Beds are not very comfy and much too small. They reminded me of Swiss military beds (thinking about how narrow they are...), hehe.
There are ironing facilities in the room, tea/coffee maker. The bathroom is basic as well, if you take a shower there is a risk that the whole bathroom will have done the same with you. Funny, if you have a good sense of humour.
Breakfast is okay - 3* hotel standard. Nice views from the restaurant. The restaurant downstairs is claustrophobic and I did not like it. Even though it is a very basic hotel, I felt at ease here. Don't forget that you are in a tiny island nation with a population just over 50'000. There are relatively few tourists around although these islands are a PARADISE! Soooo many wonderful landscapes to discover, no crowds, very nice people, no crime at all, I loved it a lot here and for sure I will return soon. It is a superb travel destination if you love NATURE AND ABSOLUTE PEACE. But don't be disappointed because of the always changing weather. It's raining a lot here...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel Torshavn is located in an older building, a few steps from the harbour and in the other direction a few steps from the tourist bureau and the government house. If you stay here you won't need a car unless you plan to visit other towns.
Our room was small but the queen size bed was comfortable. There was no fridge, no kleenex.
The breakfast was not great by European standards, but you could always find "something". There is a public parking lot next door, free after 6 pm if you could find a spot, another reason not to bring a car.
The brasserie Hvinn is actually the same establishment where breakfast is served. It has all the charm of an industrial cafeteria.
We did check out the hotel Hafnia, a block away, and they seemed a cut above, particularly where the restaurant is concerned. But it is probably more expensive. If location is not important to you (i.e. you plan to have a car) the hotel Foroyar is a good idea.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel has a good location very close to Torshavn harbour. We had a reasonable sized, comfortable, clean room which was well equipped. We had a view towards the harbour which was very pleasant. There is off street parking a short walk away. We ate in the hotel Bistro/restaurant and had very good soup and pizza and some local island beer. The service was fairly good and the staff were friendly, but pretty busy. There was a good Scandinavian style breakfast in the morning. The hotel is in easy walking distance of the historic area of Torshavn. Would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithandHelenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

In center of town, very easy walk to bus terminal, ferry to Nolsoy, tourist office, shops and restaurants. I was upgraded from medium sea view to large room. Comfortable bed, view of harbor. Wifi was a bit spotty on first night unless I opened the door and walked down the hall. Then it got better for the next two days. Restaurant was good, hotel has laundry service and will arrange airport shuttle.

Bathroom was small and had one of those wet room set ups where the shower just flows onto the floor and into a drain in a corner of the bathroom surrounded by curtain. Overall the place is good.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank STLvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torshavn
0.9 mi away
Hotel Foroyar
Hotel Foroyar
#1 of 5 in Torshavn
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hafnia
Hotel Hafnia
#2 of 5 in Torshavn
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Streym Torshavn
Hotel Streym Torshavn
#3 of 5 in Torshavn
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hotel Vagar
Hotel Vagar
#1 of 1 in Sorvagur
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Guesthouse Marknagil
Guesthouse Marknagil
#5 of 5 in Torshavn
24 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kerjalon Hostel
Kerjalon Hostel
#3 of 6 in Torshavn
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torshavn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torshavn

Property: Hotel Torshavn
Address: Torsgota 4, Torshavn, Streymoy 110, Faroe Islands
Location: Faroe Islands > Streymoy > Torshavn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torshavn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tórshavn is a modern city hotel in Tórshavn. Fantastic location and a stunning view of the harbour in the front and the Town Hall Square in the back. Staying at Hotel Tórshavn you are in downtown Tórshavn, close to shops, cafés and restaurants. Hotel Tórshavn is a modern hotel, a place for you to enjoy the nice and light rooms, designed in warm and feminine colours. Hotel Tórshavn has 43 rooms, 73 beds in total. The rooms vary in size, giving you the opportunity to choose what suits you best. All rooms are non smoking. The hotel has 3 meeting rooms, well suited for both large and small groups of people. Whether you are 10, 30 or 60 people, the hotel can provide all the equipment needed. The rooms are equipped with projector, overhead, whiteboard, flipover, wireless network and broadband. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Torshavn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing