We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
22
87
55
18
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
87
55
18
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location harbour view nice hotel easy walk the bus room was clean short walk day tour heavy rain upscale hotel water pressure free parking bread short stay wifi worked well a great place to stay street noise
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 184 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel Torshavn is located in an older building, a few steps from the harbour and in the other direction a few steps from the tourist bureau and the government house. If you stay here you won't need a car unless you plan to visit other towns.
Our room was small but the queen size bed was comfortable. There was no fridge, no kleenex.
The breakfast was not great by European standards, but you could always find "something". There is a public parking lot next door, free after 6 pm if you could find a spot, another reason not to bring a car.
The brasserie Hvinn is actually the same establishment where breakfast is served. It has all the charm of an industrial cafeteria.
We did check out the hotel Hafnia, a block away, and they seemed a cut above, particularly where the restaurant is concerned. But it is probably more expensive. If location is not important to you (i.e. you plan to have a car) the hotel Foroyar is a good idea.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel has a good location very close to Torshavn harbour. We had a reasonable sized, comfortable, clean room which was well equipped. We had a view towards the harbour which was very pleasant. There is off street parking a short walk away. We ate in the hotel Bistro/restaurant and had very good soup and pizza and some local island beer. The service was fairly good and the staff were friendly, but pretty busy. There was a good Scandinavian style breakfast in the morning. The hotel is in easy walking distance of the historic area of Torshavn. Would be very happy to stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithandHelenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

In center of town, very easy walk to bus terminal, ferry to Nolsoy, tourist office, shops and restaurants. I was upgraded from medium sea view to large room. Comfortable bed, view of harbor. Wifi was a bit spotty on first night unless I opened the door and walked down the hall. Then it got better for the next two days. Restaurant was good, hotel has laundry service and will arrange airport shuttle.

Bathroom was small and had one of those wet room set ups where the shower just flows onto the floor and into a drain in a corner of the bathroom surrounded by curtain. Overall the place is good.

Date of stay: May 2013
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank STLvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have been in faroe islands a couple of times and always stayed at this hotel. location is the best as it is close to all restaurants. Even the restaurant in the hotel is one of the most popular ones for the locals. You have walking distance to everything you need. rooms are a bit dusty even though they clean it every day. I always stay in room 303 or 302 as they have the best view.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dev J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our stay was part of a group of photographers' trip to the Faroes, and this hotel was our home base for about 9 days.

We found our room to be very comfortable. WIFI was good, TV reception was good. The room was clean and well-organized, beds were comfortable. Location is excellent. The bathroom was a challenge - if the shower was not directed perfectly, it soaked the entire floor of the room. Breakfast was very nice - quality and quantity. Dinner was as well, with a somewhat limited menu. We often enjoyed a glass of wine or beer in the lower level lounge, which was very nice. On one weekend evening, late at night, it got loud and rowdy in the lounge area - mostly local people, I think. Management responded to that issue.

In a town of limited hotel experiences, this was certainly more than acceptable.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deena w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews