We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location and the hotel offers what you can expect of a 3* hotel”
Review of Hotel Torshavn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Torshavn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Tórshavn has very few hotels. Hotel Føroyar (same owner as Hotel Tórshavn) is by far the best hotel of the Faroe Islands, but it's far away from the city center. Hotel Streym is basic and its location less ideal than Hotel Tórshavn. Hotel Hafnia in my opinion is out of question, it is old and not presentable anymore. Therefore Hotel Tórshavn is the place which I would recommend.
However, keep in mind that it has only 3 stars. You get everything what you can expect of a medium class hotel, but not more.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, one feels at ease here immediately.
Nice lobby with pc facility. Very old elevator, some find it charming, I found its door tiring. Rooms are very small, the décor is reduced to an absolute minumum. Beds are not very comfy and much too small. They reminded me of Swiss military beds (thinking about how narrow they are...), hehe.
There are ironing facilities in the room, tea/coffee maker. The bathroom is basic as well, if you take a shower there is a risk that the whole bathroom will have done the same with you. Funny, if you have a good sense of humour.
Breakfast is okay - 3* hotel standard. Nice views from the restaurant. The restaurant downstairs is claustrophobic and I did not like it. Even though it is a very basic hotel, I felt at ease here. Don't forget that you are in a tiny island nation with a population just over 50'000. There are relatively few tourists around although these islands are a PARADISE! Soooo many wonderful landscapes to discover, no crowds, very nice people, no crime at all, I loved it a lot here and for sure I will return soon. It is a superb travel destination if you love NATURE AND ABSOLUTE PEACE. But don't be disappointed because of the always changing weather. It's raining a lot here...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 155 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel Torshavn is located in an older building, a few steps from the harbour and in the other direction a few steps from the tourist bureau and the government house. If you stay here you won't need a car unless you plan to visit other towns.
Our room was small but the queen size bed was comfortable. There was no fridge, no kleenex.
The breakfast was not great by European standards, but you could always find "something". There is a public parking lot next door, free after 6 pm if you could find a spot, another reason not to bring a car.
The brasserie Hvinn is actually the same establishment where breakfast is served. It has all the charm of an industrial cafeteria.
We did check out the hotel Hafnia, a block away, and they seemed a cut above, particularly where the restaurant is concerned. But it is probably more expensive. If location is not important to you (i.e. you plan to have a car) the hotel Foroyar is a good idea.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel has a good location very close to Torshavn harbour. We had a reasonable sized, comfortable, clean room which was well equipped. We had a view towards the harbour which was very pleasant. There is off street parking a short walk away. We ate in the hotel Bistro/restaurant and had very good soup and pizza and some local island beer. The service was fairly good and the staff were friendly, but pretty busy. There was a good Scandinavian style breakfast in the morning. The hotel is in easy walking distance of the historic area of Torshavn. Would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithandHelenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

In center of town, very easy walk to bus terminal, ferry to Nolsoy, tourist office, shops and restaurants. I was upgraded from medium sea view to large room. Comfortable bed, view of harbor. Wifi was a bit spotty on first night unless I opened the door and walked down the hall. Then it got better for the next two days. Restaurant was good, hotel has laundry service and will arrange airport shuttle.

Bathroom was small and had one of those wet room set ups where the shower just flows onto the floor and into a drain in a corner of the bathroom surrounded by curtain. Overall the place is good.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank STLvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have been in faroe islands a couple of times and always stayed at this hotel. location is the best as it is close to all restaurants. Even the restaurant in the hotel is one of the most popular ones for the locals. You have walking distance to everything you need. rooms are a bit dusty even though they clean it every day. I always stay in room 303 or 302 as they have the best view.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dev J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our stay was part of a group of photographers' trip to the Faroes, and this hotel was our home base for about 9 days.

We found our room to be very comfortable. WIFI was good, TV reception was good. The room was clean and well-organized, beds were comfortable. Location is excellent. The bathroom was a challenge - if the shower was not directed perfectly, it soaked the entire floor of the room. Breakfast was very nice - quality and quantity. Dinner was as well, with a somewhat limited menu. We often enjoyed a glass of wine or beer in the lower level lounge, which was very nice. On one weekend evening, late at night, it got loud and rowdy in the lounge area - mostly local people, I think. Management responded to that issue.

In a town of limited hotel experiences, this was certainly more than acceptable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deena w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable, though very basic. Their 2nd floor restaurant seemed popular with locals. The first floor bar had live music at night. It was an easy walk from the bus terminal, where the bus 300 will bring you from the airport. At first, it seemed that the hotel did not receive out reservation from booking.com, but fortunately they had rooms, and they matched the price we booked online, also gave us free cofee while we were waiting in the lobby. I would stay in this hotel if i visit Torshavn again.

Stayed: July 2012
Thank Sojin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torshavn
0.9 mi away
Hotel Foroyar
Hotel Foroyar
#1 of 5 in Torshavn
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Streym Torshavn
Hotel Streym Torshavn
#4 of 5 in Torshavn
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hafnia
Hotel Hafnia
#2 of 5 in Torshavn
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hotel Vagar
Hotel Vagar
#1 of 1 in Sorvagur
125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Guesthouse Marknagil
Guesthouse Marknagil
#5 of 5 in Torshavn
28 reviews
13 mi away
Hotel Skalavik
Hotel Skalavik
#1 of 1 in Sandoy
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torshavn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torshavn

Address: Torsgota 4, Torshavn, Streymoy 110, Faroe Islands
Location: Faroe Islands > Streymoy > Torshavn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Price Range: $139 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torshavn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tórshavn is a modern city hotel in Tórshavn. Fantastic location and a stunning view of the harbour in the front and the Town Hall Square in the back. Staying at Hotel Tórshavn you are in downtown Tórshavn, close to shops, cafés and restaurants. Hotel Tórshavn is a modern hotel, a place for you to enjoy the nice and light rooms, designed in warm and feminine colours. Hotel Tórshavn has 43 rooms, 73 beds in total. The rooms vary in size, giving you the opportunity to choose what suits you best. All rooms are non smoking. The hotel has 3 meeting rooms, well suited for both large and small groups of people. Whether you are 10, 30 or 60 people, the hotel can provide all the equipment needed. The rooms are equipped with projector, overhead, whiteboard, flipover, wireless network and broadband. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Torshavn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing