We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice basic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torshavn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torshavn to your Saves list
Hotel Torshavn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torsgota 4, Torshavn, Streymoy FO-110, Faroe Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
seoul
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice basic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean and comfortable, though very basic. Their 2nd floor restaurant seemed popular with locals. The first floor bar had live music at night. It was an easy walk from the bus terminal, where the bus 300 will bring you from the airport. At first, it seemed that the hotel did not receive out reservation from booking.com, but fortunately they had rooms, and they matched the price we booked online, also gave us free cofee while we were waiting in the lobby. I would stay in this hotel if i visit Torshavn again.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sojin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    48
    33
    10
    0
See reviews for
3
35
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very well located and with a friendly staff, we made from this hotel our base to explore the Faroes. Our room had a nice view over the harbour and was very nice at all, although the shower room was quite small.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EduTrindade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Simple rooms, but nice. Awkward bathroom, small and the water goes everywhere. Didnt get to try breakfast as it doesnt open until 7 and our tour started at 7,the next day we had to leave at 6 to the airport. Nothing great about the place but not bad either. If walking from the bus station its hard to find as the sign is around the corner.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

There are not many hotels to choose between on Faroe Islands but Hotel Torshavn is a good choice. Location is great in the very central of Torshavn. Busstation and Ferryterminal just a few hundred meters away. From the airport it´s a 50 minutes trip by bus (90DKK) or taxi (175DKK).
Stayed three people in a familyroom (max 4 pers). The room was quite small, I do not understand how four people could stay there! The room was clean and had all the basics. The bathroom was not modern though, the shower is not separated so you will get a wet floor.
They serve a good breakfastbuffet. If you leave on a early flight they make sure you get breakfast as early as 05:45.
Serviceminded staff at the hotel, they arrange carrental etc and give advice on what to see.
Hotel Torshavn is a good choice in the fantastic Faroe Islands.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stig-Helmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Reasonably priced for its location, with substantial amounts of parking either directly behind or nearby. Near to the fort and the ferry terminal (which was critical for me) as well as plenty of bars and restaurants.

Free wifi (of varying signal strength depending where in the hotel you are) is a plus, the single rickety lift is a minus. The public areas are in need of some TLC (scoring and scuffing on the walls, for instance). The decor is also hit or miss.

The staff is helpful and kind, and in my experience will go out of their way to help, even with such outlandish requests as a pair of needlenose pliers to help repair a car.

The big killer for me was the state of the bathroom. The room itself was clean, but the bathroom had a strong, almost overwhelming smell of body odor, evidencing that it hadn't been cleaned since the last guest. Running the shower for ten minutes almost completely eliminated the odor, meaning that not even the most basic of measures had been taken to sanitize the shower. The toiletries had broken seals and had clearly been refilled.

Had such potential. Was sorely disappointed that I had to wear the shower slippers I carry around for emergency hostel use in a hotel that cost as much as this one did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raiaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asti, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I.m a real fanatic of th Faroe Islands, and Hotel Tòrshavn is my choice. It is the most central of the four hotels of the town and it is the cheaper. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are good, and from my window i could see the Tòrshavn city hall building.
Breakfast is very good, and the hotel restaurant, Hvonn Brasserie, is one the best of the entire archipelago.
I hope to stay here again very soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveFaroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel is small but cosy right on the harbour front. I havent put in any photos of the actual hotel because it wasnt the sort of hotel that was luxury or anything like that but basic and just what you want from a hotel that you crash out in after a days hiking. Clean, everything that you needed, great service and very freindly staff. Its well worth the stay at this little functional hotel - and the restaurant served great portions to enjoy after a long day hiking in the wonderful Faroe Islands.... a must for the hiker who wants an experience for life. Highly recommended from two Danes and two British hikers in our group!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms were probably similar - warm and cosy with everything you need, lovely soft be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvette1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torshavn
0.9 mi away
Hotel Foroyar
Hotel Foroyar
#1 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hafnia
Hotel Hafnia
#3 of 5 in Torshavn
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Streym Torshavn
Hotel Streym Torshavn
#2 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Guesthouse Marknagil
Guesthouse Marknagil
#5 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel Vagar
Hotel Vagar
#1 of 1 in Sorvagur
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kerjalon Hostel
Kerjalon Hostel
#1 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torshavn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torshavn

Property: Hotel Torshavn
Address: Torsgota 4, Torshavn, Streymoy FO-110, Faroe Islands
Location: Faroe Islands > Streymoy > Torshavn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torshavn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tórshavn has a fantastic location with a stunning view of the harbour in the front and the Town Hall Square in the back. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the city centre There are 43 rooms on the hotel The restaurant "hvonn brasserie" is on the first floor On the ground floor is a café & bar An outdoor café is on the ground floor The hotel has 6 meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Torshavn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing