We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant. But the "Vevkamera" isn't working.”
Review of Hotel Torshavn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Torshavn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Brilliant. But the "Vevkamera" isn't working.”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Brilliant place. But unfortunately the web camera isn't working, I enjoyed it - always makes me want to come back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    65
    41
    14
    0
See reviews for
5
48
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Spent 4 nights at Hotel Torshavn on our trip to the Faroes. At the time of booking we had a hard time justifying the extra cost for the harbor view rooms but it is absolutely worth it. The view is outstanding and you can watch the container ships and ferries coming in and out of the harbor. The rooms are a bit small but well appointed. Heavy curtains keep the light out during the summer. Breakfast was excellent, with a mix of breads, cereal, eggs, bacon and meats/cheeses. It can be a bit noisy if you have the windows open as there is a bar on the ground floor and a club just across the street. Nothing too loud though.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plyneis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Had a nice three day stay in the bridal suite. The rooms are a bit small and sparsely furnished, really more of a business hotel than a fancy luxury vacation spot. But it was quiet and comfortable and the staff was friendly. Great location, easy walk to everything. Nearby free parking is easy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Staff is friendly and helpful, location is great. I enjoyed the food very much - they make both stakes and fish well and breakfast is diverse too. On weekends there is live music so the hotel bar is a happening place. Rooms are a little bit on the small side. There is free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmooseLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

The hotel is easy to get to from the airport via the hotel shuttle bus, which you can book on their website. It is cheap considering how far it is, and very hassle-free. The same journey is also possible by public transport (bus). The desk staff are helpful and friendly, although I didn't ask much of them.

The room was great, and I got an upgrade; having paid for the smallest single I was given a comfortable double room. The room was stylishly furnished, warm (important in October to November in the Faroes!) and the bathroom was big. There's free wireless internet, coffee and tea-making facilities, an iron and ironing board and hairdryer, too.

I was very impressed with the hotel restaurant and they serve something to appeal to everyone, as well as children's meals. The fish dishes were particularly good. The breakfast, included in the price of the room, was a standard Nordic buffet breakfast. There's a very trendy bar in the hotel, too.

The location of the hotel couldn't be better, right in the city centre and by the harbour. It's quiet though, so no worries there. The tourist information centre is round the corner, as are the interesting shops and cafes that Torshavn has to offer.

Next time I come to Torshavn, I'll be back here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 60degreesnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

I stayed here for two nights in August 2010. Generally it's a good hotel. Nothing spectacular or fancy, but rooms were good enough, good location, and very friendly service. There's an internet terminal in the lobby for people to check email if you don't have a laptop. Note that the hotel charges a fee for "foreign credit cards" (ie, American Visa or MasterCard), I think it was around 3-5%. I'd stay here again.

Note for Americans travelling in the Faroe Islands and Greenland: American VISA credit cards (those without the chips that the European cards have in them) DO NOT WORK at most places in the Faroes or Greenland, EVEN IF YOU'VE ASSIGNED A PIN to your credit card before leaving home. On the otherhand, MASTERCARD credit cards DO work EVERYWHERE in these two countries! (as long as you've assigned a PIN to your MasterCard before leaving home). I have both an American VISA and MASTERCARD, and have PINs assigned to them both. The only place the VISA worked was at this hotel -- because they used a foriegn card terminal (and charged a foreign card terminal fee to me for its use). At petrol stations, markets, anywhere else in the country, the terminals could not process the Visa Card -- but then I'd take out the MasterCard and it'd work PERFECTLY (again, as long as a PIN number is assigned to it before you leave).

At the Hotel Torshavn, the lady took out a photocopy of instructions from Visa on how to get the American cards to work at the termimals in the Faroes and Greenland, and made a copy for me. It's a cumbersome process that DID work two other times elsewhere on the island after the normal Visa rejection -- but at most shops, petrol stations, markets, etc, they don't know how to do this, and many times the terimals are of a different type so you can't.

So in a nutshell: If you assign a PIN number to your American credit cards before you go, Visa STILL will not work in the Faroes and Greenland, but MasterCard WILL work perfectly.

If you don't have a MasterCard and only have a Visa, I'll copy here the instructions to TRY to get the American Visa cards to work. Depending on the terminal types at the various stores in the Faroes and Greenland, it might work, might not, but here's the official instructions from VISA (that Visa could not give me before I left, I had to get it once I was in the Faroes):

(1) PRESS MENU
(2) PRESS "3"
(3) PRESS "2"
(4) PRESS "MENU"
(5) PRESS "1"
(6) Enter the Amount (DKK) of purchase
(7) PRESS the GREEN ("GODKEND") KEY
(8) SWIPE THE CARD
(9) PRESS the GREEN ("GODKEND") KEY
(10) If approved, receipt will come out. Customer signs receipt.

But note that the above only worked at places that had a certain type of terimal. Take this info with you if you only have a Visa card... if you get the cashier to follow this, it may or may not work (the above WILL work with Visa if the store has the right terminal type, otherwise you're out of luck).

If you have a MasterCard (again, as long as you assigned a PIN to it before leaving) it'll work perfect without any of this hassle.

If you appriciated this review, please give me a thumbs up! :)

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
14 Thank misterlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I didn´t expect to stay in a 3 star hotel in Torshavn with such good standards. The restautant-good value, the service, speedy internet, cocktailbar with harbour view, a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoulLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torshavn
0.9 mi away
Hotel Foroyar
Hotel Foroyar
#1 of 5 in Torshavn
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hafnia
Hotel Hafnia
#2 of 5 in Torshavn
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Streym Torshavn
Hotel Streym Torshavn
#3 of 5 in Torshavn
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kerjalon Hostel
Kerjalon Hostel
#1 of 6 in Torshavn
40 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Sandavagur
Bed & Breakfast Sandavagur
#1 of 3 in Vagar Island
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bladypi Hostel
Bladypi Hostel
#4 of 6 in Torshavn
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torshavn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torshavn

Property: Hotel Torshavn
Address: Torsgota 4, Torshavn, Streymoy 110, Faroe Islands
Location: Faroe Islands > Streymoy > Torshavn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torshavn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tórshavn is a modern city hotel in Tórshavn. Fantastic location and a stunning view of the harbour in the front and the Town Hall Square in the back. Staying at Hotel Tórshavn you are in downtown Tórshavn, close to shops, cafés and restaurants. Hotel Tórshavn is a modern hotel, a place for you to enjoy the nice and light rooms, designed in warm and feminine colours. Hotel Tórshavn has 43 rooms, 73 beds in total. The rooms vary in size, giving you the opportunity to choose what suits you best. All rooms are non smoking. The hotel has 3 meeting rooms, well suited for both large and small groups of people. Whether you are 10, 30 or 60 people, the hotel can provide all the equipment needed. The rooms are equipped with projector, overhead, whiteboard, flipover, wireless network and broadband. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Torshavn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing