We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
Hike with a guide and some sheep

We did a moderate "shore excursion" hike on our day in the Faroes. It's up one side of a mountain... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Michael K
,
Davenport, Iowa
Just spectacular

This place is without doubt one of the most spectacular places I've ever visited. Do not expect... read more

Reviewed August 8, 2019
Kristoffmol
Read all 28 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Torshavn
from $241.28
More Info
from $145.52
More Info
from $233.71
More Info
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
22
4
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
22
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private tour lakes hike tourists weather torshavn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 28 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2018

Pre-booked Bill’s Taxis for a private tour of Faroe Islands instead of going on the organised ship tour. Would highly recommend.

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank julescardiff2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyrilLineExcursions, Manager at Excursions in the Faroe Islands, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Thaks for your review :-) Glad to hear that you enjoyed your excursion. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

The landscape is fantastic! It's like a fairytale. Very green and soft. You can really feel the ice age when you look at the landscape. There are plenty of spots for good photo shoots. But you can never trust the weather, people says. The weather can change rapidly. But that is also the excitement of Faroe Island.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank 346elisabethb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

Smyril Line offers a different bus tour each day. We were in Torshavn on a Monday. Monday's tour is to Kirkjubour, the site of St. Magnus Cathedral's ruins, the St. Olav church and a little museum run by Johannes Patursson. His family has been farming this land since the Danish crown took it over during the reformation. He is the 17th generation of his family on this land. Mr Paturson is a natural storyteller and having coffee in his house while he told us the history of the area and answered our questions was a highlight of our cruise to Greenland, Iceland and Scotland (with a stop at the Faroe Islands). Aside from Mr. Patursson, the landscape on the drive to Kirkjubour is beautiful and the driver made several stops for panoramic photos. The cathedral and church were interesting as were the stories behind them but the visit with Mr Patursson made this tour stand out over all the other tours I took on this trip. As a plus, the bus was actually comfortable. I highly recommend it.

We booked the tour directly with Smyril on-line. They were quick and responsive.

Date of experience: August 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmyrilLineExcursions, Director of Sales at Excursions in the Faroe Islands, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear Rich,

We are very happy to hear you had a pleasant excursion. Yes, Mr. Patursson is a natural storyteller with an exciting story to tell, which includes some Faroese history as well.

If you're every back here we would love to show you more of our islands.

Best wishes
Súsanna
Smyril Line Excursions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

There was a little problem with the bus with a sudden stop; Luckily nothing happened. The guide knew a lot and the landscape very excited.

Date of experience: August 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 815mogensl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

Let me start by saying that the Faroe Islands are unbelievably beautiful. We had a fascinating tour of Kirkjubo including coffee and pastries with a local farmer, Mr. Patursson whose family has had possession of the farm for 17 generations! Amazing. Magnus Cathedral and St. Olav's Church are both well worth seeing. My one suggestion was that a tour guide should never forget to offer bathroom breaks and ensure that people know where facilities are located. Otherwise, a wonderful tour in a spectacular place.

Date of experience: August 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Hadley_Baxendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews