We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Giannini

Giannini
Ranked #32 of 227 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $54 - $81
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Giannini a family run business since 1988 is an excellent place to have lunch or dinner when visiting Valletta. The restaurant is situated above St. Michael's bastions with vast views of Manoel Island and the pretty Marsamxetto Harbour. The third floor of a typical Malta townhouse, reached by lift from the ground floor lounge bar, has been converted into a delightful restaurant. Giannini tends to be popular with locals for business lunches and romantic dinners giving it a casual but discreet atmosphere.The cuisine is a delicious blend of Mediterranean food. Fresh fish is available daily (ask the host) and you should also consider the daily specials such as the pastas scribbled on the board. The a la carte menu changes according to season with the current options for starters including carpaccio of octopus, risottos and fresh seashells amongst others. Mains include roasted lamb, local rabbit, pan seared duck breast and daily fresh fish and fresh angus beef. The a-la-carte menu is attached next to Giannini's contact details above. A rather comprehensive wine list is also available to complement the meal.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing Experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our group of seven people had gone to Giannini's because we heard that it was one of the top restaurants in Malta. Our experience was to the contrary. Yes, the view is spectacular. It was very warm and we had to ask that the ac be turned on as they wouldn't open the window (bugs). The mushroom soup was tasty. The risotto was crunchy and tasteless - the rice was not properly cooked. Two people in our group ordered lamb which was very fatty and undercooked (raw and bloody). They mentioned this to the server who said she would tell someone. When we received our bill we were rather surprised to see that there was no adjustment considering that the lamb was inedible. Even worse was the fact that there was no apology for the poor quality food. We were further shocked when a pretentious waitress brought our change and wanted to argue that we hadn't told them about the food. Very poor form, I'd say. If there is a problem with food in a restaurant and the staff apologizes then I'm willing to give them a second chance. I would not recommend this restaurant. There are many other restaurants to choose from in Valletta.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BluenoseNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth d, Manager at Giannini, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
(‘An Oasis amid a sea of amateurs’ as reviewed on trip advisor by one of your colleges).

Thank you for your comments. We regret that you and your party did not enjoy your dining experience at Giannini Restaurant. I can assure you that our aim is to offer our guests the best dining experience with genuine food made only from the best quality ingredients available on the island. We feel that our excellent reviews speak for themselves and strive to continue offering our patrons the highest standards which they surely deserve. Our reward for this, is the large number of returning clients and we pride ourselves on this. Our Chef Aaron de Giorgio's risotto was chosen to represent Malta and Gozo and featured in the 'Guida Gallo 9th edition of the 101 Best Risottos in the World'. We therefore fail to understand how you found his risotto to be 'crunchy and tasteless' and 'not properly cooked'. You will surely appreciate that in order for one to savour good quality food made with high quality ingredients one must also be prepared to pay a marginally higher price. In fact you will surely recall our conversation when you remarked that the cost of a lobster in Canada is €2 whereas the cost of a lobster (of sufficient size to feed 2 persons) at Giannini restaurant costs €70. Again you will surely appreciate that lobster is not readily available in Malta as it possibly is in Canada, more so if its premium quality lobster and therefore one would expect to see this reflected in the price. Similarly, we only serve our clients prime cuts of meat and our cuts of lamb are nothing short of this, cooked to the degree to enhance the flavour of the meat. Again we regret that this was not to your satisfaction and would have readily addressed your complaints had you made us aware of your dissatisfaction throughout the course of your meal. We like to ensure that our patrons are content with the quality of food and service at our restaurant and therefore aim to check on matters throughout the course of the meal. On that particular night, I recall checking on you personally several times during the evening and at least twice whilst you were having your main course. One of our girls waiting on your table that night also recalls asking you specifically whether you had any complaints and you responded that there were none. Bearing this in mind, you should appreciate that it is unfair to expect a refund at the end of the meal especially when there were no prior indications of your dissatisfaction. Notwithstanding the above, we do hope that you will visit us again in the future thereby giving us the opportunity to change your opinion of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    67
    23
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, Kent UK
Level Contributor
278 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant with wonderful views”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I had an excellent meal in this wonderful restaurant. I must admit that we wouldn't have found this place as it is off the main area. The Concierge at our hotel recommended we tried it. There's a lovely bar downstairs and you then take the lift to the top floor and are welcomed by a member of staff. The view is spectacular - see photos. The food was wonderful. A very special place for a special meal. We will return. Thank you

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Speges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Giannini Restaurant in Valletta”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Fantastic view, great food, excellent service, Patrick Scicluna's lovely paintings ... what else could you want!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best view”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Fabulous set with view to die for.Had a nice lunch with a profesional service and smile.Felt very comfortable and welcomed.Waiter did great job.Prices resonable and if we come back to malta will surelly visit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mathew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service made for a special evening”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

From the moment we entered and had our apero, we felt welcomed.
Great location with views to the west and harbour.
Good menu and enjoyed a wonderful bottle of Mc Guigan Estate Shiraz.
But it was the attentive but descrete service that added to the experience.
Will be back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giannini also viewed

 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Giannini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing