We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“HISTORY,CHARM AND CHARACTER”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Valletta, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
William B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“HISTORY,CHARM AND CHARACTER”
Reviewed February 26, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

My family and i stayed at the house of character in Valletta for 4 days in february 2018.A large stone built house off republic street it had considerable charm,character and history.From the road the entrance reception held a snooker table which kept my two grandsons occupied.!!.From there we approached the sitting room with television before entering the well appointed kitchen.Off the kitchen was a toilet.Upstairs were 3 interconnecting bedrooms,a shower room and toilet.As both toilets were accessed via a stone circular staircase not suitable for wheelchair or disabled persons.
The owner nicole was attentive and offered good advise including arranging transport from the airport to the accomodation and return.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronzeage
wales
1 review
“Great location of original Maltese town house”
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Excellent location in Centra Valletta could walk to all attractions. Quirky townhouse with Maltese balcony and lovely seating in outside courtyard which was a welcome cool place to go after busy hot day sightseeing. Comfortable beds, good bathroom plenty of hot water, well stocked kitchen. Nicole was very helpful and quick to attend when we had a small problem. Our first trip to Malta we loved the country, the people, the food and definitely the Maltese wine and will return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete M
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Apartment”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was met by Nicole who went through everything with us. Great Location and very spacious apartment. Great care was taken though using the upstairs loo in the night due to its location, but this didn't detract from the delightful apartment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spiff03
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful old building, central location”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 3 nights in this property and there were good and bad points to it. If you want to be in the heart of Valletta then the location is perfect as it's less than 5 mins walk to the square and eateries, or to the sea, about 10 mins to the bus station. There's loads to see and do nearby, but the ferry across to Sliema (takes 5 mins) and the buses mean it's easy to get to other places if you want to. We used the buses once to get to the Hypogeum and did struggle a bit, but it worked out OK.

The property is in a block of 16th century properties - though we spent ages trying to work out which bits were from when, I'd have loved to know more about it. It's a beautiful but quirky building and wouldn't suit everyone - I considered giving it 3 stars because of the quirks but I think it deserves 4, as long as people are aware of them when booking.

Entrance to the property is on street level and you go straight in to the snooker table room (quite experienced equipment but great fun anyway), through to a living area - a sofa which could seat 4 and no other comfortable seating, plus a TV and coffee table. Nice, but could be cramped for larger parties. Aircon in this room.

Moving along past the lightwell (and aircon outlet) you get to the hallway which has a lovely sweeping staircase up to the first floor.

Through again and you get to the kitchen which has seating for 6 and a fairly basic but adequate kitchen - only tea, coffee, sugar and a bottle of water (none of the bits others have left behind which can be useful). This leads off to a courtyard seating area (in the middle of the building!). Also at the end of the kitchen is the spiral staircase which leads down to the basement (work in progress) and upstairs to the shower room. The only 2 toilets in the property are off the spiral staircase, on the ground and first floors. The upstairs toilet has quite a drop from the first step which caught me out on the first night!

At the top of the stairs on the right is a utility room (there is a drying rack but no washing machine in the property) and through again the shower room, which also leads onto the spiral staircase mentioned previously.

If you turn left at the top of the stairs, past the light well, you reach the bedrooms and this was one of our major problems. The bedrooms are all in good condition with beautiful old tiles and air con but....The first bedroom contains a single bed and a sofabed. Passing through this room you get to the twin-bedded room, which has a balcony onto the street. As the property is old, the windows aren't great and you hear every bit of street noise. And there was a lot of street noise from about 5am as there's a lot of building work going on at the moment. Through this bedroom you reach the double bedroom which again overlooks the street (and again has aircon) which is lovely, light room but again suffers from early morning noise. If you're a sound sleeper then it wouldn't be a problem but I'm not and nor are my kids. The noise and the fact that if I needed to get up in the night to go to the toilet I had to pass through both of the kids' rooms was a problem for us initially, though we had got a bit more used to the set-up by the third night.

As I said at the start, it's a mixed review. I might have veered more towards a 3 rating simply because of the layout had it not been for Nicole who was lovely and extremely helpful in terms of sorting out transfers and advising on things to do. And the property is clean, cool (which is 37 degree temperatures was welcome) and spacious.

I have said I would recommend this to a friend and I would, as long as they were fully aware of the quirky layout (and maybe I'd advise them to take earplugs!).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jacquelin...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really convenient location in old Valletta, minutes from centre and bus station from where all of Malta is easily availa”
Reviewed April 8, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Superb location and flat was very clean,spacious and easy to live in. Nicole met us on time to let us in and show us the property. Some aspects though were not to our liking nor had been properly described. For example the bedrooms,being interconnected,afforded no privacy and there was no outside balcony making us feel claustrophobic at times. Also there was only 1 shower room with no tub and 2 separate toilets. However the plus points outweighed the minor ones and with a clearer description,would certainly recommend this house in Old Bakery Street.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upallnigh...
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Valletta apartment”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Just got back from a wonderful week in Valletta courtesy of Nicole, she even arranged our transfer. We arrived in Valletta on Saturday 15th October and we're met by arranged transfer driver who quickly and safely delivered us to Nicole's apartment and she was there waiting for us . The apartment is very nice spacious every thing you need for a pleasant stay exploring Valletta, I would thoroughly recommend staying here as you were literally a couple of minutes walk to the centre of Valletta with 2 small minimarkets within a couple of hundred yards and many restaurants and bars within a 5 minute walk including all of Valletta's attractions. We would definitely stay here again and even though there were 7 adults in our party there was still plenty of room, thanks Nicole for a lovely holiday

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing