We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we want the MILLE FOGLIE back..please :)”
Review of Caffe Cordina

Caffe Cordina
Ranked #2 of 5 Dessert in Valletta
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located in an old palazzo in the bustling streets of Valletta, Caffe Cordina occupies a special place in the hearts of local and foreign visitors alike. Tracing its origins back to a small tea shop in Bormla, it has since grown and flourished into the Maltese icon we know today. The company is made up of a passionate team of dedicated staff members who take pride in their work and their role in the Caffe Cordina legacy. The quality food they provide and their consistently high-standard of service is testimony to this notion, whilst its long line of experience in the catering industry has resulted in the enviable reputation it enjoys today.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Ever since you removed the mille foglie from your counters, we have been longing for it.. it was so good & perfect..

please put it back in the menu..

Always a great service and the food and beverages are always excellent.

yours truly,
a regular customer :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BellaBelinda18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johncordina, Owner at Caffe Cordina, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear BellaBelinda,

We are happy to inform you that as of this Friday, the 27th of September, we will be re-introducing the Millefoglie for our esteemed clientele. These will be available from Friday through Sunday. Thank you for your complimentary post and your continued custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,356 - 1,360 of 2,432 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

In front of the National Library, a place you might wanna have a drink under the protection of an open umbrella to avoid the heat, if you can bear the waiting time either for ordering , or for eating , or even for paying the bill. Reminds you the "so touristic " caffe's and restaurants around the historic regions of Venice , Milan or Florence ( expensive and not of a great quality in taste). To give you the highlight : while visiting this place's toilet, one of the waiters , wearing his green working uniform , walked out the one and only closed w.c. WITHOUT bothering to spend some time washing his hands!!! So, in my experience, it is always worth to visit the toilet before you make your order. This way you' ll see yourself if the customer is respected by the local businesses .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HellasKifissia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johncordina, Owner at Caffe Cordina, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
I would like to correct a comment you made in your review of Caffe Cordina. We employ a full-time restroom (toilet) attendant and the uniform of the attendant is a green bib apron. I believe that we are one of the very few (if any) businesses in Malta to employ such an attendant full-time.

If you had been more observant, you would have noticed that our waiters wear a proper uniform which consists of a white shirt, black trousers, bow-tie and cummerbund. I hope that you can see that we do, actually, respect our customers. It is very unfortunate for us to have disparaging comments made about Caffe Cordina when one has not checked his/her facts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

On our recent trip to Malta (August 2013), we visited Caffe Cordina on two separate occasions. The first time we went for a quick coffee break. My husband had an espresso and a cannoli, which he really liked, and I just had some mineral water. I didn't order any cakes, but he said his was very fresh. When we were about to leave and paid our bill, we noticed that the waiter just forgot about our change (which was about 15 euros), so we waited and waited and he finally came, apologizing, when my husband waived at him. We were not sure whether he did this on purpose or simply forgot, as this place tends to be very busy.

On the second occasion, we decided to sit inside because of the pigeons that disturbed us during our first visit. We gave it a go with cakes and I must say that the chocolate cake and the almond paste shortbread are just amazing. My husband said that this was probably the best chocolate cake he ever had and I must agree. My tea was also perfect and there was plenty for 3 cups. We also purchased some two honey ring cakes and date filled cakes from Cordina and took them home to our parents. We tried them and the honey cake is simply delicious and goes perfectly with a cup of coffee or tea. Since our second visit came on the last day of our stay in Malta, we were sorry we haven't tried the pastizzi here.

Overall, this is a nice place. The waiters are somehow cold, but this is understandable considering the amount of people they have to serve.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank msavic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

café cordina, I have been to before, sit inside or out, what the world go by,service a little slow, but if your holiday, whats the hurry ? none at all,really nice food nice staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alexander99959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went to cafe Cordina twice and both times the food was excellent. We sat in the square which was wonderful for watching the world go by. However if you get the chance a visit inside the restaurant is a must for the vintage grandeur. Lunch menu was perfect for us and our children and the cake selection was extensive but even if you only have time for coffee it's worth a visit). The pigeons in the square can be troublesome but it was great to see those who fed them them were beseiged so I doubt they will do that again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Cordina also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Caffe Cordina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing